Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 26, 2022 21:21 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Waikato, New Zealand: past 7 days - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 26, 2022 21:21 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Waikato was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.7, 11 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 67 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 106 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.7 quake Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, Jan 21, 2022 8:13 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 3.1 quake South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, Jan 27, 2022 2:42 am (GMT +12)
Most recent quake: 2.1 quake South Taranaki District, 201 km north of Wellington, New Zealand, Jan 27, 2022 9:15 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.2 or higher (58 out of 185 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 20:15 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Jan 27, 2022 9:15 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 20:15 GMT)
2.1

131 km
South Taranaki District, 201 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 27, 2022 2:42 am (GMT +12) (Jan 26, 2022 14:42 GMT)
3.1

241 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 27, 2022 3:28 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 14:28 GMT)
2.0

5.8 km
Kawerau District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 27, 2022 12:22 am (GMT +12) (Jan 26, 2022 12:22 GMT)
3.0

117 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 27, 2022 12:29 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 11:29 GMT)
2.9

118 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 10:59 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 09:59 GMT)
2.2

101 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 1:15 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 00:15 GMT)
2.8

126 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 1:02 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 00:02 GMT)
2.9

81 km
Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 23:54 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Jan 26, 2022 11:54 am (GMT +12) (Jan 25, 2022 23:54 GMT)
2.5

186 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 11:34 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 22:34 GMT)
2.3

148 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 9:33 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 20:33 GMT)
2.8

128 km
Taupo District, 87 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 9:12 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 20:12 GMT)
2.4

129 km
Taupo District, 104 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 5:46 am (GMT +12) (Jan 25, 2022 17:46 GMT)
2.6

106 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 3:16 am (GMT +12) (Jan 25, 2022 15:16 GMT)
2.5

144 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 3:55 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 14:55 GMT)
2.4

18 km
Stratford District, Taranaki, 223 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 25, 2022 5:58 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 04:58 GMT)
2.4

66 km
Taupo District, 136 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.5 x 1011 joules (236 megawatt hours, equivalent to 203 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.