Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 16 Apr 2021 07:31 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Taupo District was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.3, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 19 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 189 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 366 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.3 quake Whakatane District, 53 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 23 Mar 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.9 quake Whakatane District, 87 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 15 April 2021 23:37 GMT
Most recent quake: 2.3 quake 20 km northwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 16 April 2021 06:03 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.6 or higher (49 out of 577 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 16 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
16 Apr 2021 06:03:14 GMT
2.3

160 km
Rotorua (19 km) - New Zealand20 km northwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
16 Apr 2021 00:34:18 GMT
2.0

35 km
(52 km)40 km north of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 15 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Apr 2021 23:37:35 GMT
2.9

38 km
(58 km)Whakatane District, 87 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Apr 2021 14:37:15 GMT
2.8

127 km
(39 km)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 47 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 11:02:10 GMT
3.3

44 km
(109 km)14 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 13 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Apr 2021 06:07:24 GMT
2.6

96 km
Taupo (2 km) - New Zealand17 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Apr 2021 16:10:04 GMT
2.7

14 km
(53 km)Rangitikei District, 44 km northeast of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Apr 4:06 am (GMT +12) (11 Apr 2021 16:06:13 GMT)
3.7

59 km
(65 km)20 km northeast of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Apr 11:14 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 11:14:15 GMT)
3.7

37 km
(65 km)Manawatu District, 70 km northeast of Palmerston North, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 9:59 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 09:59:44 GMT)
3.3

142 km
Taupo (24 km) - New Zealand28 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 4:55 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 04:55:50 GMT)
4.2

91 km
(61 km)South Taranaki District, 50 km north of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand 3 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Apr 2021 9:10 am (GMT +12) (8 Apr 2021 21:10:07 GMT)
2.8

149 km
Taupo (46 km) - New ZealandWaitomo District, 92 km south of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Apr 2021 3:55 pm (GMT +12) (8 Apr 2021 03:55:04 GMT)
2.7

34 km
Taupo (83 km) - New ZealandHastings District, 46 km north of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Apr 2021 5:37 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 17:37:56 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(33 km)South Pacific Ocean, 32 km northwest of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 8 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
7 Apr 2021 10:58 am (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 22:58:05 GMT)
3.0

28 km
(106 km)Wairoa District, 89 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
7 Apr 2021 5:55 am (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 17:55:02 GMT)
2.8

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 4 reportsMoreMap
7 Apr 2021 4:57 am (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 16:57:23 GMT)
2.7

141 km
Maroa (10 km) - New ZealandSouth Waikato District, 43 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 8:50 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 08:50:22 GMT)
3.3

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 33 reportsMoreMap
6 Apr 2021 12:36 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 00:36:30 GMT)
3.4

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New Zealand32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 31 reportsMoreMap
6 Apr 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 00:34:41 GMT)
2.7

1.8 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (20 km) - New Zealand32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Apr 2021 11:42 am (GMT +12) (5 Apr 2021 23:42:48 GMT)
3.9

173 km
(61 km)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 76 km east of New Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
4 Apr 2021 8:08 am (GMT +12) (3 Apr 2021 20:08:06 GMT)
2.7

134 km
Maroa (19 km) - New ZealandSouth Waikato District, 79 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 8:05 pm (GMT +13) (3 Apr 2021 07:05:33 GMT)
2.6

36 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (103 km) - New Zealand45 km northwest of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
3 Apr 2021 4:54 am (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 15:54:29 GMT)
3.8

82 km
(95 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 49 km southwest of Napier City, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
2 Apr 2021 1:51 pm (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 00:51:11 GMT)
3.3

47 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (57 km) - New ZealandOpotiki District, 17 km southeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Apr 2021 10:12 am (GMT +13) (1 Apr 2021 21:12:21 GMT)
3.1

8.6 km
Ruapehu (28 km)4.2 km southeast of Waiouru, Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 6:07 pm (GMT +13) (31 Mar 2021 05:07:34 GMT)
2.8

155 km
Maroa (25 km) - New Zealand32 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +13) (31 Mar 2021 03:15:14 GMT)
2.7

94 km
(56 km)23 km east of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 1:11 am (GMT +12) (30 Mar 2021 13:11:20 GMT)
2.6

26 km
Taupo (147 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 58 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 5:47 pm (GMT +13) (30 Mar 2021 04:47:57 GMT)
2.6

225 km
Taupo (71 km) - New ZealandWaitomo District, 83 km south of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
30 Mar 2021 1:54 am (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 12:54:12 GMT)
2.7

20 km
Taupo (115 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 6.9 km southeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 12:06 am (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 11:06:56 GMT)
2.8

61 km
Ngauruhoe (25 km)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 93 km west of Napier City, New Zealand 2 reportsMoreMap
29 Mar 2021 5:03 pm (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 04:03:32 GMT)
3.3

43 km
(58 km)Opotiki District, 24 km southeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Mar 2021 11:34 am (GMT +13) (28 Mar 2021 22:34:46 GMT)
2.8

18 km
Ruapehu (57 km)Stratford District, 73 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Mar 2021 9:00 am (GMT +13) (26 Mar 2021 20:00:31 GMT)
3.6

12 km
(76 km)Waitomo District, Waikato, 58 km northeast of New Plymouth, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
26 Mar 2021 6:45 pm (GMT +13) (26 Mar 2021 05:45:11 GMT)
3.1

16 km
(77 km)Waitomo District, Waikato, 57 km northeast of New Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 25 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Mar 2021 4:26 am (GMT +13) (25 Mar 2021 15:26:27 GMT)
4.1

114 km
Taupo (21 km) - New Zealand15 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
26 Mar 2021 12:03 am (GMT +13) (25 Mar 2021 11:03:58 GMT)
2.6

143 km
Rotorua (5 km) - New Zealand4 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Mar 2021 6:13 pm (GMT +13) (24 Mar 2021 05:13:27 GMT)
3.1

247 km
Rotorua (34 km) - New ZealandWestern Bay of Plenty District, 28 km southwest of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 7:59 am (GMT +13) (22 Mar 2021 18:59:39 GMT)
3.0

135 km
Rotorua (24 km) - New ZealandSouth Waikato District, 19 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Mar 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13) (22 Mar 2021 18:15:31 GMT)
5.3

133 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (30 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 53 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 12 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
22 Mar 2021 9:16 am (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 20:16:48 GMT)
2.6

159 km
Taupo (24 km) - New Zealand12 km northwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
22 Mar 2021 8:21 am (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 19:21:46 GMT)
2.6

21 km
(95 km)Waitomo District, 83 km south of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
21 Mar 2021 10:16 pm (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 09:16:13 GMT)
2.7

157 km
Rotorua (10 km) - New Zealand13 km northwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Mar 2021 3:26 pm (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 02:26:42 GMT)
3.5

79 km
(43 km)South Pacific Ocean, 36 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Mar 2021 10:28 am (GMT +13) (19 Mar 2021 21:28:06 GMT)
2.8

145 km
(37 km)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 57 km southwest of Taupo, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Mar 2021 8:11 am (GMT +13) (18 Mar 2021 19:11:41 GMT)
2.7

116 km
Ruapehu (28 km)Ruapehu District, 90 km north of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Mar 2021 5:08 pm (GMT +13) (18 Mar 2021 04:08:22 GMT)
3.0

143 km
Maroa (23 km) - New ZealandSouth Waikato District, 73 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Mar 2021 9:35 pm (GMT +13) (17 Mar 2021 08:35:11 GMT)
2.7

19 km
Taupo (113 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 17 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1012 joules (1.68 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1449 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel