Latest quakes in or near Hormigueros, Puerto Rico, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 16, 2022 23:04 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Hormigueros had 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.2 | Guanica, 16 km SW of Yauco, Puerto Rico -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.4 | Toa Alta, 17 km SW of San Juan, Puerto Rico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Hormigueros, Puerto Rico (updated )

Past 24 hours:18 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:146 quakes | 111 quakes M2+ | 15 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:544 quakes | 397 quakes M2+ | 75 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,448 quakes | 1,028 quakes M2+ | 176 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:4,441 quakes | 2,967 quakes M2+ | 679 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Hormigueros, Puerto Rico | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 5:46 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 21:46 GMT)
2.2

9 km
Guanica, 16 km southwest of Yauco, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 5:22 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 21:22 GMT)
2.7

20 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 48 km northeast of San Juan, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 3:29 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 19:29 GMT)
3.1

40 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 79 km north of San Juan, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 6:09 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 10:09 GMT)
2.9

20 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 84 km north of San Juan, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 6:08 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 10:08 GMT)
1.7

6.3 km
3 Km SSE of La Parguera, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 6:07 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 10:07 GMT)
2.0

15 km
1 Km S of Guánica, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 4:39 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 08:39 GMT)
3.0

14 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 97 km north of San Juan, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 3:34 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 07:34 GMT)
2.9

70 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 23 km north of Arecibo, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 3:29 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 07:29 GMT)
2.6

12 km
11 Km SW of Guánica, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 10:49 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 02:49 GMT)
2.1

18 km
2 Km WSW of Indios, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:53 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 01:53 GMT)
3.1

55 km
40 Km NNW of San Antonio, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:52 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 01:52 GMT)
2.1

19 km
3 Km SW of Indios, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:24 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 01:24 GMT)
3.4

58 km
PUERTO RICO
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:15 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 01:15 GMT)
2.2

18 km
PUERTO RICO MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:10 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 01:10 GMT)
2.2

10.8 km
4 Km SSE of Maria Antonia, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Monday, August 15, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 15, 2022 7:57 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 15, 2022 23:57 GMT)
2.1

17 km
0 Km NW of Guayanilla, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 7:36 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 15, 2022 23:36 GMT)
3.3

31 km
53 Km WSW of Stella, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 7:36 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 15, 2022 23:36 GMT)
2.8

11 km
76 Km WSW of Stella, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1010 joules (7.49 megawatt hours, equivalent to 6.44 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Hormigueros Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hormigueros?

The last earthquake in Hormigueros occurred 1 hour and 18 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.2 earthquake - Guanica, 16 km southwest of Yauco, Puerto Rico, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 5:46 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Hormigueros today?

In the past 24 hours, Hormigueros, Puerto Rico had 18 quakes up to magnitude 3.4.

What was the strongest quake in Hormigueros today?

The strongest earthquake in Hormigueros today occurred 22 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.4 earthquake - Toa Alta, 17 km southwest of San Juan, Puerto Rico, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 9:24 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings