Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Nagasaki, Japan, during January 2021

Updated 10 Apr 2021 13:55 GMT -
During Jan 2021, Nagasaki was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.2, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake Yatsushiro-gun, 5.5 km south of Matsubase, Uki Shi, Kumamoto, Japan, 24 Jan 2021 12:57 am (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
30 Jan 2021 4:45 am (GMT +9) (29 Jan 2021 19:45:53 GMT)
2.7

12 km
(36 km)4.2 km northwest of Honmachi, Yatsushiro Shi, Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
29 Jan 2021 2:42 pm (GMT +9) (29 Jan 2021 05:42:58 GMT)
2.5

143 km
(46 km)Higashiusuki-gun, 51 km west of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 27 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Jan 2021 3:29 pm (GMT +9) (27 Jan 2021 06:29:27 GMT)
3.6

13 km
(39 km)Uki Shi, 8.9 km south of Uto, Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 23 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Jan 2021 12:57 am (GMT +9) (23 Jan 2021 15:57:34 GMT)
4.2

13 km
(38 km)Yatsushiro-gun, 5.5 km south of Matsubase, Uki Shi, Kumamoto, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Jan 2021 2:46 pm (GMT +9) (22 Jan 2021 05:46:25 GMT)
3.9

10.2 km
Unzen (19 km)East China Sea, 12 km east of Shimabara, Nagasaki, Japan MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 12:02 pm (GMT +9) (22 Jan 2021 03:02:10 GMT)
2.5

3.8 km
(128 km)East China Sea, 99 km west of Kushikino, Kagoshima, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Jan 2021 11:57 am (GMT +9) (20 Jan 2021 02:57:03 GMT)
3.1

12 km
(46 km)Mine Shi, 8.1 km northwest of Ogōri-shimogō, Yamaguchi Shi, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 7 Jan 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
7 Jan 2021 10:04 pm (GMT +9) (7 Jan 2021 13:04:01 GMT)
2.7

1.9 km
(41 km)East China Sea, 45 km southwest of Fukuechō, Gotō Shi, Nagasaki, Japan MoreMap
7 Jan 2021 9:45 pm (GMT +9) (7 Jan 2021 12:45:32 GMT)
2.5

5.7 km
(42 km)East China Sea, 45 km southwest of Fukuechō, Gotō Shi, Nagasaki, Japan MoreMap
7 Jan 2021 12:51 pm (GMT +9) (7 Jan 2021 03:51:46 GMT)
2.8

166 km
Sakurajima (7 km) - Kyushu, JapanEast China Sea, 3.1 km east of Kagoshima, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 2 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Jan 2021 9:25 am (GMT +9) (2 Jan 2021 00:25:41 GMT)
2.5

9.9 km
Unzen (36 km)1.2 km west of Matsubase, Uki Shi, Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 1 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Jan 2021 4:16 pm (GMT +9) (1 Jan 2021 07:16:36 GMT)
2.9

9.4 km
Unzen (23 km)East China Sea, 13 km southwest of Omuta, Ōmuta Shi, Fukuoka, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1011 joules (54 megawatt hours, equivalent to 46.5 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.