Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
2 quakes Mag. 2+
1 quake Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near Morelos, Mexico - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 1.4 earthquake 10 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico - 3 days ago
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 4.0 2.8 km southeast of Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico - 6 days ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 22:31 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Morelos, Mexico, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Morelos, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Morelos in the past 24 hours.

In the past 30 days, Morelos has had 10 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 4.0:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Strongest: Mag. 4.0 Earthquake 2.8 km SE of Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (20 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 26, 08:21 am (Mexico City)
Feb 26, 14:21 GMT

1.4

1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 10 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Sunday, February 25, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 25, 09:37 am (GMT +0)
Feb 25, 09:37 GMT

2.0

1.1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 10.8 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Friday, February 23, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 23, 05:11 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 23, 23:11 GMT

4.0

1 km
2.8 km southeast of Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
I FELT IT - 38 reports
More
Tuesday, February 20, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 20, 04:07 am (Mexico City)
Feb 20, 10:07 GMT

1.4

0.8 km
27 km (17 mi) to the N 3.9 km north of Magdalena Contreras, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Saturday, February 17, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 17, 09:29 am (Mexico City)
Feb 17, 15:29 GMT

2.0

1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 10.8 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Friday, February 16, 2024 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 16, 09:35 am (Mexico City)
Feb 16, 15:35 GMT

2.0

1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 10.8 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Feb 16, 03:40 am (Mexico City)
Feb 16, 09:40 GMT

2.3

3 km
37 km (23 mi) to the N 2.1 km south of Naucalpan de Juarez, Mexico More
Feb 15, 08:33 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 16, 02:33 GMT

1.6

1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 10.8 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 14, 04:35 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 14, 22:35 GMT

3.0

40 km
31 km (19 mi) to the SE 48 km south of Matamoros, Puebla, Mexico More
Feb 14, 11:59 am (Mexico City)
Feb 14, 17:59 GMT

1.5

1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 10.8 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico More
Feb 14, 06:43 am (Mexico City)
Feb 14, 12:43 GMT

1.8

1 km
28 km (17 mi) to the N 9.9 km southwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico 2 reportsMore
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1011 joules (41.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 35.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Morelos Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Unam - Mexico, Mexico (UNM/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Unam - Mexico, Mexico: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,500 quakes on average per year in or near Morelos, Mexico:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.15 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 6.7 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.34 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2.9 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 1.62 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 21.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 130 quakes per year (or 10.8 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 145 quakes per year (or 12.1 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 147 quakes per year (or 12.2 quakes per month)
Morelos has a very high level of seismic activity. Morelos has had at least 18 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 5 to 10 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Morelos, Mexico, by magnitude

30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (10 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (20%)
3+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (30%)
2+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (50%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (32 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (3.13%)
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (6.25%)
3+
15 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (46.88%)
2+
14 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (43.75%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (103 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.97%)
4+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.88%)
3+
52 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (50.49%)
2+
46 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (44.66%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (678 in total as 100%)
7+
1 quake
Mag 7 or higher (0.15%)
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.15%)
5+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.74%)
4+
68 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (10.03%)
3+
491 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (72.42%)
2+
101 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (14.9%)
below M2
11 quakes
(1.62%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,489 in total as 100%)
7+
4 quakes
Mag 7 or higher (0.27%)
6+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.2%)
5+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.87%)
4+
198 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (13.3%)
3+
1,103 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (74.08%)
2+
150 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (10.07%)
below M2
18 quakes
(1.21%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days2 quakesno data1-1---
Past 30 days10 quakesno data532---
Past 90 days32 quakesno data141521--
Past 365 days103 quakesno data465241--
Past 3 years678 quakes910149168511
Past 10 years1,489 quakes161501,1031981334
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Morelos Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Morelos, Mexico?

Morelos has a very high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,500 quakes on average per year in or near Morelos, Mexico. Morelos has had at least 18 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 5 to 10 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Morelos?

The last earthquake in Morelos occurred 3 days ago:

A light magnitude 1.4 earthquake hit 10 km (6.2 mi) away from Mexico, Mexico D.F.,  Mexico, in the morning of Monday, Feb 26, 2024 at 8.21 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 1 km (0.6 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Morelos in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Morelos has been shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Morelos in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Morelos in the past 30 days occurred 6 days ago:

A moderate magnitude 4.0 earthquake hit 2.8 km (1.8 mi) away from Cuernavaca, Morelos,  Mexico, in the afternoon of Friday, Feb 23, 2024 at 5.11 pm local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 1 km (0.6 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Morelos, Mexico

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Morelos, Mexico, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 7.2 earthquake that hit Guerrero,  Mexico, 10 years ago on Friday, Apr 18, 2014, at 09:27 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -5).

Strongest since 1900

117 years ago, Oaxaca,  Mexico, was hit by a magnitude 7.8 quake on Monday, Apr 15, 1907, at 01:08 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -5). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Morelos, Mexico, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Morelos, Mexico in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Dec 7, 2023 20:03 GMT
Dec 7, 2023 02:03 pm (Mexico City)
5.7

48 km
17 km (10.6 mi) to the SE 47 km southwest of Matamoros, Puebla, Mexico 100 reportsMore
Dec 11, 2022 14:31 GMT
Dec 11, 2022 08:31 am (Mexico City)
6.0

14 km
201 km (125 mi) to the SW 10 km south of Técpan de Galeana, Guerrero, Mexico 88 reportsMore
Sep 8, 2021 01:47 GMT
Sep 7, 2021 08:47 pm (Mexico City)
7.1

10 km
195 km (121 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 8 km south of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico 405 reportsMore
Jul 19, 2018 13:31 GMT
Jul 19, 2018 08:31 am (Mexico City)
5.8

64 km
119 km (74 mi) to the SE 17 km northeast of Huajuapan de Leon, Oaxaca, Mexico 99 reportsMore
Feb 16, 2018 23:39 GMT
Feb 16, 2018 05:39 pm (Mexico City)
7.0

10 km
235 km (146 mi) to the SE 13 km southwest of Llano Tigre, Oaxaca, Mexico 276 reportsMore
Sep 19, 2017 18:14 GMT
Sep 19, 2017 01:14 pm (Mexico City)
7.1

56 km
20 km (12 mi) to the E 1.7 km south of Casa Blanca (Cuyotliapa), Puebla, Mexico 345 reportsMore
Nov 23, 2015 20:41 GMT
Nov 23, 2015 02:41 pm (Mexico City)
5.6

37 km
143 km (89 mi) to the S 3.1 km south of Metlapilapa, Guerrero, Mexico 17 reportsMore
May 10, 2014 07:36 GMT
May 10, 2014 01:36 am (Mexico City)
6.0

23 km
205 km (127 mi) to the SW 10.6 km east of san luis de la loma, Guerrero, Mexico 24 reportsMore
May 8, 2014 17:00 GMT
May 8, 2014 12:00 pm (Mexico City)
6.4

24 km
183 km (114 mi) to the SW 19 km north of Técpan de Galeana, Guerrero, Mexico 40 reportsMore
Apr 18, 2014 14:27 GMT
Apr 18, 2014 09:27 am (Mexico City)
7.2

24 km
185 km (115 mi) to the SW 4.5 km west of La Laguna, Guerrero, Mexico 119 reportsMore
Mar 20, 2012 18:02 GMT
Mar 20, 2012 12:02 pm (Mexico City)
7.4

20 km
222 km (138 mi) to the S 6.3 km east of Santiago Llano Grande, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Jun 15, 1999 20:42 GMT
Jun 15, 1999 02:42 pm (Mexico City)
7.0

70 km
134 km (83 mi) to the E 9.6 km southwest of Tehuacan, Puebla, Mexico More
Aug 2, 1968 14:06 GMT
Aug 2, 1968 09:06 am (Mexico City)
7.3

25 km
238 km (148 mi) to the SE 3.2 km northwest of El Huamuche, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Jul 6, 1964 07:22 GMT
Jul 6, 1964 02:22 am (Mexico City)
7.3

93 km
133 km (83 mi) to the SW 5.1 km southwest of San Antonio de las Liebres, Guerrero, Mexico More
Jul 28, 1957 08:40 GMT
Jul 28, 1957 03:40 am (Mexico City)
7.6

38 km
142 km (88 mi) to the S 4.5 km southeast of Acalmani, Guerrero, Mexico More
Feb 22, 1943 09:20 GMT
Feb 22, 1943 03:20 am (Mexico City)
7.4

20 km
247 km (153 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 23 km southeast of Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico More
Dec 23, 1937 13:18 GMT
Dec 23, 1937 07:18 am (Mexico City)
7.4

25 km
191 km (119 mi) to the S 3.3 km northeast of Cochoapa, Guerrero, Mexico More
Oct 9, 1928 03:01 GMT
Oct 8, 1928 10:01 pm (Mexico City)
7.5

25 km
282 km (175 mi) to the SE 4.8 km north of Santa Maria Acatepec, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Aug 4, 1928 18:26 GMT
Aug 4, 1928 01:26 pm (Mexico City)
7.2

20 km
274 km (170 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Mexico More
Dec 16, 1911 19:14 GMT
Dec 16, 1911 01:14 pm (Mexico City)
7.3

30 km
161 km (100 mi) to the SW 4.3 km south of Las Compuertas, Guerrero, Mexico More
Jul 30, 1909 10:51 GMT
Jul 30, 1909 05:51 am (Mexico City)
7.5

20 km
210 km (130 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 66 km southeast of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico More
Apr 15, 1907 06:08 GMT
Apr 15, 1907 01:08 am (Mexico City)
7.8

30 km
262 km (163 mi) to the SE 12 km southwest of Santo Domingo Teojomulco, Oaxaca, Mexico More

Map of largest quakes in or near Morelos, Mexico

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Morelos, Mexico

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings