Latest quakes in or near San Andrés Huaxpaltepec, Oaxaca, Mexico, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 13:41 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 24 hours, San Andrés Huaxpaltepec was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.4 and 9 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
A moderate magnitude 4.4 earthquake occurred in Oaxaca, Mexico, 14 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 22 km NE of Oaxaca, Mexico -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.4 | 4.5 km N of Puerto Escondido, San Pedro Mixtepec -Dto. 22 -, Oaxaca, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near San Andrés Huaxpaltepec, Oaxaca, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours:10 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:39 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 37 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:203 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 184 quakes M3+ | 15 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:629 quakes | 16 quakes M2+ | 578 quakes M3+ | 35 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:2,382 quakes | 77 quakes M2+ | 2,125 quakes M3+ | 179 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Ayoquezco de Aldama | Ayutla de los Libres | Azoyu | Copala | Cuajinicuilapa | Cuautepec | Guerrero | Heroica Ciudad de Ejutla de Crespo | Igualapa | Juchitan | ...Show all... | Xochistlahuaca | Zimatlan de Alvarez
...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 2:55 am (GMT -5) (Aug 9, 2022 07:55 GMT)
3.6

78 km
22 km northeast of Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:32 am (GMT -5) (Aug 9, 2022 06:32 GMT)
3.5

11 km
14 km southwest of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:14 am (GMT -5) (Aug 9, 2022 05:14 GMT)
3.1

31 km
19 km south of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Aug 8, 2022 6:57 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 23:57 GMT)
4.4

7 km
4.5 km north of Puerto Escondido, San Pedro Mixtepec -Dto. 22 -, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:03 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 21:03 GMT)
3.5

28 km
34 km southwest of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 3:38 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 20:38 GMT)
3.4

20 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 km southwest of San Pedro Pochutla, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:38 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 19:38 GMT)
3.8

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 33 km south of San Pedro Pochutla, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 1:03 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 18:03 GMT)
3.7

11 km
45 km east of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 12:58 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 17:58 GMT)
3.5

31 km
14 km south of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:37 am (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 15:37 GMT)
3.5

9 km
Oaxaca, 17 km south of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1011 joules (105 megawatt hours, equivalent to 90 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

San Andrés Huaxpaltepec Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Andrés Huaxpaltepec?

The last earthquake in San Andrés Huaxpaltepec occurred 6 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.6 earthquake - 22 km northeast of Oaxaca, Mexico, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 2:55 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in San Andrés Huaxpaltepec today?

In the past 24 hours, San Andrés Huaxpaltepec, Oaxaca, Mexico had 10 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in San Andrés Huaxpaltepec today?

The strongest earthquake in San Andrés Huaxpaltepec today occurred 14 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 4.5 km north of Puerto Escondido, San Pedro Mixtepec -Dto. 22 -, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 6:57 pm (GMT -5).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings