Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 25, 2021 20:13 GMT

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Carrillo, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica: past 7 days

Updated Sep 25, 2021 20:13 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Carrillo was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 2 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake North Pacific Ocean, 67 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Sep 22, 2021 10:22 am (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 3.7 quake North Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Nicoya, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Sep 24, 2021 9:33 am (GMT -6)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 15:33 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 24, 2021 9:33 am (GMT -6) (Sep 24, 2021 15:33 GMT)
3.7

11 km
135 km (84 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Nicoya, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 5:11 am (GMT -6) (Sep 24, 2021 11:11 GMT)
4.1

3 km
43 km (27 mi)Carrillo, 22 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 00:28 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 22, 2021 6:28 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 23, 2021 00:28 GMT)
2.9

26 km
59 km (37 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 16:22 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 10:22 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 16:22 GMT)
4.2

26 km
68 km (42 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 67 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 10:57 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 04:57 GMT)
2.8

33 km
56 km (35 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 15:51 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 21, 2021 9:51 am (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2021 15:51 GMT)
3.0

17 km
87 km (54 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 65 km southwest of Liberia, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Monday, September 20, 2021 00:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 19, 2021 6:42 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 20, 2021 00:42 GMT)
3.4

12 km
106 km (66 mi)33 km southwest of Nicoya, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1011 joules (69.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 59.7 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.