Latest quakes in or near San Diego, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 20, 2022 06:12 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 31 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, San Diego had 1 quake of magnitude 3.6. There were also 31 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.7 | 7km SSW of Idyllwild, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.6 | 14 km SW of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexicali Municipality, Baja California, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near San Diego, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:11 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:92 quakes | 15 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:316 quakes | 30 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:1,079 quakes | 121 quakes M2+ | 46 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:4,320 quakes | 515 quakes M2+ | 173 quakes M3+ | 13 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near San Diego, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (34 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, August 20, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Aug 19, 2022 10:39 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:39 GMT)
0.7

19 km
7km SSW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 10:21 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:21 GMT)
0.8

2.8 km
12km N of Ocotillo Wells, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 10:02 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:02 GMT)
1.4

14 km
8km SSW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 10:01 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:01 GMT)
0.6

14 km
7km SSW of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 7:55 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 02:55 GMT)
0.7

15 km
23km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 7:52 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 02:52 GMT)
0.6

8.7 km
6km SSW of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 5:10 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 00:10 GMT)
0.6

16 km
7km SSE of Idyllwild, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 5:04 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 00:04 GMT)
0.9

12 km
3km SE of Lake Henshaw, CA MoreMap
Friday, August 19, 2022 GMT (26 quakes)
Aug 19, 2022 4:22 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 23:22 GMT)
1.0

14 km
6km ENE of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 4:22 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 23:22 GMT)
0.8

13 km
7km ENE of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 21:52 GMT)
1.0

0.5 km
2km SE of Home Gardens, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 21:24 GMT)
0.8

15 km
7km SW of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 1:58 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 20:58 GMT)
0.7

5.1 km
11km W of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 1:40 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 20:40 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Oceanside, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 22 reports
MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 1:00 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 20:00 GMT)
0.9

0.1 km
4km NW of La Mesa, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 12:46 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 19:46 GMT)
0.2

5 km
14km S of Joshua Tree, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 12:45 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 19:45 GMT)
0.8

15 km
20km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 11:37 am (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 18:37 GMT)
0.6

14 km
20km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 11:36 am (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 18:36 GMT)
0.7

14 km
20km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 11:36 am (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 18:36 GMT)
0.4

14 km
20km ESE of Anza, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 11:12 am (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 18:12 GMT)
3.6

6 km
Mexico: 14 Km Al SUROESTE De GPE VICTORIA(KM.43), BC
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1010 joules (4.44 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.82 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

San Diego Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Diego?

The last earthquake in San Diego occurred 34 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.7 earthquake - 7km SSW of Idyllwild, CA, on Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 10:39 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in San Diego today?

In the past 24 hours, San Diego, California, USA had 34 quakes up to magnitude 3.6.

What was the strongest quake in San Diego today?

The strongest earthquake in San Diego today occurred 12 hours ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - 14 km southwest of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexico, on Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 11:12 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings