Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Philippine Sea in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 18, 2022 16:03 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 1 quake between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 24 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Philippine Sea was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 4.6, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 24 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.6 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Japan, 12 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.7 | Philippine Sea, 87 km E of Guiuan, Eastern Samar, Eastern Visayas, Philippines -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.6 | North Pacific Ocean, Japan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Philippine Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours:41 quakes | 24 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 7 days:314 quakes | 179 quakes M2+ | 58 quakes M3+ | 21 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:1,412 quakes | 723 quakes M2+ | 320 quakes M3+ | 121 quakes M4+ | 34 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:3,883 quakes | 2,006 quakes M2+ | 827 quakes M3+ | 375 quakes M4+ | 85 quakes M5+ | 6 quakes M6+
Past 365 days:17,492 quakes | 9,905 quakes M2+ | 3,564 quakes M3+ | 1,443 quakes M4+ | 219 quakes M5+ | 16 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (41 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (28 quakes)
May 18, 2022 11:24 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 15:24 GMT)
2.7

31 km
Philippine Sea, 87 km east of Guiuan, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 11:44 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 14:44 GMT)
3.0

42 km
Philippine Sea, 36 km east of Nobeoka, Miyazaki, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 10:03 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 14:03 GMT)
2.8

22 km
18 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:47 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 13:47 GMT)
2.1

13 km
2.7 km north of Concepcion, Tarlac, Central Luzon, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:46 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 13:46 GMT)
3.7

3 km
Philippine Sea, 46 km southeast of Borongan City, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:30 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 13:30 GMT)
2.9

2 km
87 km northwest of Aparri, Cagayan, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:54 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 11:54 GMT)
2.8

25 km
19 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:47 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 11:47 GMT)
2.8

67 km
South China Sea, 43 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:27 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 11:27 GMT)
1.8

93 km
South China Sea, 19 km south of Calatagan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:13 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 11:13 GMT)
2.6

116 km
Philippine Sea, 77 km southeast of Mati, Province of Davao Oriental, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 6:42 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 10:42 GMT)
2.6

23 km
17 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 6:17 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 10:17 GMT)
3.3

22 km
South China Sea, 103 km southwest of Basco, Batanes, Cagayan Valley, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:17 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 09:17 GMT)
1.7

31 km
17 km north of Bunawan, Province of Agusan del Sur, Caraga, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:14 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 09:14 GMT)
2.2

32 km
18 km north of Bunawan, Province of Agusan del Sur, Caraga, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:25 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 07:25 GMT)
2.5

46 km
Philippine Sea, 61 km east of Tuguegarao City, Cagayan, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:33 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 06:33 GMT)
1.9

11 km
Philippine Sea, 6 km northeast of Cateel, Philippines MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1013 joules (7.34 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6311 tons of TNT or 0.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Philippine Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Philippine Sea?

The last earthquake in Philippine Sea occurred 39 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 87 km east of Guiuan, Philippines, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 11:24 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Philippine Sea today?

In the past 24 hours, Philippine Sea had 41 quakes up to magnitude 5.6.

What was the strongest quake in Philippine Sea today?

The strongest earthquake in Philippine Sea today occurred 12 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.6 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, Japan, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 12:52 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.