Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Kocaeli, Turkey, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, December 7, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 7, 2022 23:57 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 10 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Kocaeli had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 10 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 4.5 km SW of Düzce, Turkey -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.7 | 5.5 km W of Düzce, Turkey -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Kocaeli, Turkey (updated )

Past 24 hours14 quakes4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days122 quakes21 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days617 quakes118 quakes M2+10 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+0 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 90 days824 quakes158 quakes M2+15 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+0 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days1,702 quakes406 quakes M2+35 quakes M3+10 quakes M4+0 quakes M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Kocaeli, Turkey | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Dec 8, 2022 1:02 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 22:02 GMT)
2.1

10.5 km
4.5 km southwest of Düzce, Turkey More
Dec 8, 2022 12:27 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 21:27 GMT)
1.5

3.7 km
Turkey: YESILOVA-GOLYAKA (DUZCE) More
Dec 7, 2022 9:31 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 18:31 GMT)
1.8

5 km
17 km southwest of Düzce, Turkey More
Dec 7, 2022 3:45 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 12:45 GMT)
1.5

5 km
Turkey: BOGURTLEN-SIVRIHISAR (ESKISEHIR) More
Dec 7, 2022 1:57 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 10:57 GMT)
2.3

5 km
15 km west of Düzce, Turkey More
Dec 7, 2022 1:05 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 10:05 GMT)
1.7

20 km
Turkey: OSMANIYE-ORHANELI (BURSA) More
Dec 7, 2022 11:24 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 08:24 GMT)
2.7

5 km
5.5 km west of Düzce, Turkey
I FELT IT
More
Dec 7, 2022 10:49 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 07:49 GMT)
1.2
Turkey: FINDIKLI-ORHANGAZI (BURSA) More
Dec 7, 2022 10:00 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 07:00 GMT)
1.1

17 km
Turkey: KUSACMASI-(DUZCE) More
Dec 7, 2022 9:01 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 06:01 GMT)
1.6

8.3 km
Turkey: DIKMEN-HENDEK (SAKARYA) More
Dec 7, 2022 8:00 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 05:00 GMT)
2.1

11 km
16 km west of Düzce, Turkey More
Dec 7, 2022 5:39 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 02:39 GMT)
1.1

12 km
Turkey: PASAKONAGI-(DUZCE) More
Dec 7, 2022 3:45 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 00:45 GMT)
1.3

13 km
Turkey: TURAPLAR-(DUZCE) More
Dec 7, 2022 3:06 am (GMT +3) (Dec 7, 2022 00:06 GMT)
1.3

6.6 km
Turkey: DARIYERIBAKACAK-KAYNASLI (DUZCE) More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 109 joules (327 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.281 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Mudurnu-BOLU (MDUB/KO network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Mudurnu-BOLU: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Kocaeli Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Kocaeli?

The last earthquake in Kocaeli occurred 1 hour and 55 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.1 earthquake - 4.5 km southwest of Düzce, Turkey, on Thursday, Dec 8, 2022 at 1:02 am (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Kocaeli today?

In the past 24 hours, Kocaeli, Turkey had 14 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in Kocaeli today?

The strongest earthquake in Kocaeli today occurred 16 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.7 earthquake - 5.5 km west of Düzce, Turkey, on Wednesday, Dec 7, 2022 at 11:24 am (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings