Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Yamagata, Japan, past 30 days

Updated 18 Apr 2021 01:44 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Yamagata was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 10 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 50 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 97 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 7.0 quake 16 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan, 20 Mar 2021 6:09 pm (GMT +9)
Biggest quake today: 3.6 quake North Pacific Ocean, 49 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan, Apr 18, 2021 00:38:35.89
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake 27 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan, Apr 18, 2021 07:00:17.73
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3 or higher (63 out of 158 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 17 Apr 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
Apr 18, 2021 07:00:17.73 (17 Apr 2021 22:00:17 GMT)
2.5

60 km
(87 km)27 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Apr 18, 2021 03:36:12.41 (17 Apr 2021 18:36:12 GMT)
2.7

27 km
(103 km)North Pacific Ocean, 38 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
Apr 18, 2021 00:38:35.89 (17 Apr 2021 15:38:35 GMT)
3.6

70 km
(74 km)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Apr 17, 2021 19:08:29.68 (17 Apr 2021 10:08:29 GMT)
3.1

155 km
(73 km)Japan Sea, 8.3 km northwest of Murakami, Niigata, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Apr 17, 2021 11:31:52.21 (17 Apr 2021 02:31:52 GMT)
3.3

44 km
(118 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Apr 14, 2021 19:02:58.06 (14 Apr 2021 10:02:58 GMT)
4.4

55 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Apr 14, 2021 10:02:49.72 (14 Apr 2021 01:02:49 GMT)
3.0

75 km
(71 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km south of Ōfunato, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 11, 2021 12:58:06.24 (11 Apr 2021 03:58:06 GMT)
3.4

47 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 11, 2021 07:56:02.45 (10 Apr 2021 22:56:02 GMT)
3.2

52 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 31 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Apr 10, 2021 00:18:20.65 (9 Apr 2021 15:18:20 GMT)
3.4

53 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 9:38 am (GMT +9) (9 Apr 2021 00:38:20 GMT)
3.7

133 km
(38 km)Shiwa-gun, 20 km south of Morioka, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Apr 2021 3:07 am (GMT +9) (8 Apr 2021 18:07:47 GMT)
3.0

54 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Apr 2021 12:59 pm (GMT +9) (7 Apr 2021 03:59:01 GMT)
3.3

55 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 27 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Apr 2021 9:20 pm (GMT +9) (6 Apr 2021 12:20:30 GMT)
3.5

40 km
(119 km)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 2:06 pm (GMT +9) (6 Apr 2021 05:06:20 GMT)
3.1

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Apr 2021 12:10 am (GMT +9) (2 Apr 2021 15:10:30 GMT)
4.0

72 km
(76 km)North Pacific Ocean, 34 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Apr 2021 3:19 pm (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 06:19:30 GMT)
4.0

55 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 27 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 2:07 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 17:07:37 GMT)
3.3

86 km
(44 km)3.7 km west of Kitakami, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 2:07 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 17:07:30 GMT)
3.7

50 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 9:14 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 00:14:09 GMT)
3.3

47 km
(112 km)North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 2:14 am (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 17:14:25 GMT)
3.5

7.9 km
Bandai (13 km)Yama-gun, Fukushima, 24 km south of Yonezawa, Yamagata, Japan MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 1:57 am (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 16:57:37 GMT)
3.1

48 km
(115 km)North Pacific Ocean, 92 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 11:07 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 14:07:16 GMT)
3.1

44 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 1 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 10:31 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 13:31:43 GMT)
3.1

49 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 6:16 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 09:16:38 GMT)
3.3

36 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 1:58 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 04:58:17 GMT)
3.0

46 km
(119 km)North Pacific Ocean, 91 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
30 Mar 2021 5:28 am (GMT +9) (29 Mar 2021 20:28:24 GMT)
3.0

42 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 11:27 pm (GMT +9) (29 Mar 2021 14:27:54 GMT)
3.3

47 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km east of Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 10:51 pm (GMT +9) (28 Mar 2021 13:51:25 GMT)
3.1

48 km
(112 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Mar 2021 3:52 pm (GMT +9) (27 Mar 2021 06:52:15 GMT)
3.0

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Mar 2021 9:07 pm (GMT +9) (26 Mar 2021 12:07:48 GMT)
4.2

54 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 31 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Mar 2021 7:25 pm (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 10:25:13 GMT)
4.1

53 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 6:31 pm (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 09:31:00 GMT)
3.2

47 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 2:51 pm (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 05:51:58 GMT)
3.2

54 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 2:54 pm (GMT +9) (23 Mar 2021 05:54:43 GMT)
3.9

314 km
(62 km)5.4 km northeast of Shibata, Niigata, Japan MoreMap
23 Mar 2021 9:37 am (GMT +9) (23 Mar 2021 00:37:38 GMT)
3.1

45 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 22 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 8:35 am (GMT +9) (22 Mar 2021 23:35:42 GMT)
3.1

54 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 27 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
23 Mar 2021 12:06 am (GMT +9) (22 Mar 2021 15:06:00 GMT)
3.8

44 km
(115 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km southeast of Sendai, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
22 Mar 2021 9:08 am (GMT +9) (22 Mar 2021 00:08:32 GMT)
4.1

53 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (9 earthquakes)
22 Mar 2021 5:56 am (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 20:56:32 GMT)
3.5

47 km
(110 km)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
22 Mar 2021 12:57 am (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 15:57:19 GMT)
3.4

53 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 6:53 pm (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 09:53:24 GMT)
3.4

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 4:40 pm (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 07:40:04 GMT)
3.4

53 km
(92 km)North Pacific Ocean, 32 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 3:15 pm (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 06:15:40 GMT)
4.0

54 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 2:35 pm (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 05:35:16 GMT)
3.6

53 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 10:42 am (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 01:42:07 GMT)
3.6

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 9:50 am (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 00:50:48 GMT)
3.4

54 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 9:38 am (GMT +9) (21 Mar 2021 00:38:17 GMT)
3.6

55 km
(86 km)North Pacific Ocean, 26 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (14 earthquakes)
21 Mar 2021 4:47 am (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 19:47:32 GMT)
3.8

54 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 12:36 am (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 15:36:57 GMT)
4.0

53 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 31 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 11:34 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 14:34:54 GMT)
3.3

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 10:08 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 13:08:59 GMT)
3.1

53 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 8:55 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 11:55:45 GMT)
3.6

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 8:45 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 11:45:45 GMT)
3.3

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 7:37 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 10:37:14 GMT)
4.0

55 km
(86 km)North Pacific Ocean, 26 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 7:29 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 10:29:49 GMT)
3.2

53 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 7:22 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 10:22:30 GMT)
3.6

60 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 7:12 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 10:12:15 GMT)
3.6

53 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 6:34 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 09:34:58 GMT)
4.2

53 km
(90 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km east of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
20 Mar 2021 6:29 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 09:29:27 GMT)
3.9

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
20 Mar 2021 6:22 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 09:22:13 GMT)
3.8

54 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 6:09 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 09:09:45 GMT)
7.0

44 km
(63 km)16 km northeast of Ishinomaki, Miyagi, Japan 210 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Mar 2021 4:56 pm (GMT +9) (19 Mar 2021 07:56:11 GMT)
3.0

177 km
(67 km)Japan Sea, 36 km west of Tsuruoka, Yamagata, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1015 joules (555 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4.8 x 105 tons of TNT or 29.8 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.