Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 10:08 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Coquimbo Region, Chile: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 10:08 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Coquimbo Region was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 26 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 37 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.4 quake South Pacific Ocean, 48 km northwest of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile, Dec 5, 2021 3:01 am (GMT -5)
Biggest quake today: 3.4 quake South Pacific Ocean, 47 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile, Dec 6, 2021 4:26 pm (GMT -5)
Most recent quake: 2.4 quake Departamento de Calingasta, 107 km northwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina, Dec 7, 2021 2:16 am (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (65 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 05:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 7, 2021 2:16 am (GMT -3) (Dec 7, 2021 05:16 GMT)
2.4

150 km
Departamento de Calingasta, 107 km northwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 21:26 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 4:26 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 6, 2021 21:26 GMT)
3.4

16 km
South Pacific Ocean, 47 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 8:33 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 11:33 GMT)
3.1

36 km
South Pacific Ocean, 71 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 12:35 am (GMT -5) (Dec 6, 2021 05:35 GMT)
2.5

27 km
South Pacific Ocean, 88 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 2:21 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 05:21 GMT)
2.5

126 km
45 km southwest of Calingasta, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 2:08 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 05:08 GMT)
2.5

107 km
Departamento de Calingasta, 88 km southwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 12:32 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 03:32 GMT)
3.1

182 km
Departamento de Lujan, 59 km northwest of Mendoza, Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 11:33 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 02:33 GMT)
2.5

118 km
Departamento de Calingasta, 86 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 9:23 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 00:23 GMT)
2.6

107 km
Departamento de Calingasta, 65 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 9:21 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 00:21 GMT)
2.5

93 km
Departamento de Calingasta, 70 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 23:09 GMT (19 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 8:09 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 23:09 GMT)
3.6

32 km
61 km south of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 7:42 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 22:42 GMT)
2.7

130 km
Departamento de Calingasta, 99 km southwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 6:48 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 21:48 GMT)
3.0

106 km
Departamento de Iglesia, 58 km southwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 5:42 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 20:42 GMT)
2.5

127 km
Departamento de Iglesia, San Juan, Chile MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 4:54 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 19:54 GMT)
2.8

138 km
Departamento de Calingasta, San Juan, Argentina, 76 km northeast of Los Andes, Region de Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:39 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 15:39 GMT)
2.6

160 km
45 km southwest of Calingasta, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 15:32 GMT)
3.0

124 km
86 km southeast of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 11:11 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 14:11 GMT)
3.2

10.1 km
South Pacific Ocean, 63 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 10:14 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 13:14 GMT)
2.6

101 km
Cordoba, 46 km northwest of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 7:48 am (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 12:48 GMT)
4.2

5.7 km
South Pacific Ocean, 60 km northwest of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 7:00 am (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 12:00 GMT)
3.8

13 km
South Pacific Ocean, 38 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7 x 1011 joules (193 megawatt hours, equivalent to 166 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.