Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 24, 2021 02:23 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile: past 7 days

Updated Oct 24, 2021 02:23 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Provincia de Elqui was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.3 quake 46 km northwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile, Oct 22, 2021 8:26 pm (GMT -3)
Biggest quake today: 3.1 quake South Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Vallenar, Provincia de Huasco, Atacama, Chile, Oct 23, 2021 9:36 am (GMT -3)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake South Pacific Ocean, 44 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile, Oct 23, 2021 5:17 pm (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, October 23, 2021 20:17 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 23, 2021 5:17 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 20:17 GMT)
2.5

34 km
395 km (245 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 44 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 12:41 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 15:41 GMT)
2.8

47 km
373 km (232 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 67 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 9:36 am (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 12:36 GMT)
3.1

31 km
331 km (206 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Vallenar, Provincia de Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 23:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 22, 2021 8:26 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 22, 2021 23:26 GMT)
3.3

33 km
373 km (232 mi)46 km northwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 19:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 21, 2021 4:17 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 21, 2021 19:17 GMT)
3.1

12 km
333 km (207 mi)Departamento de Iglesia, 60 km southwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 20:16 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 20, 2021 3:16 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 20, 2021 20:16 GMT)
3.3

37 km
440 km (273 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 2:53 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 20, 2021 19:53 GMT)
2.6

31 km
438 km (272 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 12:38 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 20, 2021 15:38 GMT)
2.8

118 km
319 km (198 mi)Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 10:15 am (GMT -3) (Oct 20, 2021 13:15 GMT)
3.2

58 km
381 km (237 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 1:11 am (GMT -5) (Oct 20, 2021 06:11 GMT)
2.6

29 km
413 km (257 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 17:39 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 2:39 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 18, 2021 17:39 GMT)
2.8

40 km
339 km (211 mi)Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 8:40 am (GMT -3) (Oct 18, 2021 11:40 GMT)
2.9

61 km
314 km (195 mi)Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 3:10 am (GMT -3) (Oct 18, 2021 06:10 GMT)
2.6

28 km
351 km (218 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 23:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 17, 2021 8:08 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 17, 2021 23:08 GMT)
2.7

45 km
379 km (235 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 1010 joules (7.73 megawatt hours, equivalent to 6.65 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.