Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, May 21, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 21, 2022 16:46 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 27 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Matanuska-Susitna had 2 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 27 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.1 | 60 Km N of Petersville, Alaska -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.0 | 9 Km SW of Susitna North, Alaska -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:28 quakes | 2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:169 quakes | 23 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days:723 quakes | 108 quakes M2+ | 11 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:2,218 quakes | 349 quakes M2+ | 26 quakes M3+ | 0 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:9,169 quakes | 1,542 quakes M2+ | 127 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, May 21, 2022 GMT (23 quakes)
May 21, 2022 7:55 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 15:55 GMT)
1.1

112 km
60 Km N of Petersville, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 7:22 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 15:22 GMT)
1.5

4.2 km
28 Km S of Denali National Park, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 3:28 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 11:28 GMT)
1.0

3 km
77 Km W of Tyonek, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 2:39 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 10:39 GMT)
1.4

33 km
32 Km N of Glacier View, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 2:00 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 10:00 GMT)
1.7

117 km
76 Km ESE of Denali National Park, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 1:39 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 09:39 GMT)
1.0

1 km
17 Km SE of Denali National Park, Alaska MoreMap
May 21, 2022 1:11 am (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 09:11 GMT)
1.3

166 km
26 Km WSW of Cantwell, Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 10:34 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 06:34 GMT)
1.8

3.5 km
15 Km NNW of Valdez, Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 9:31 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 05:31 GMT)
2.0

18 km
9 Km SW of Susitna North, Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 9:31 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 05:31 GMT)
2.0

18 km
6 mi southwest of Susitna North, Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 8:51 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 04:51 GMT)
1.8

80 km
14 Km SW of Skwentna, Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:48 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 03:48 GMT)
1.1

32 km
40 Km SSE of Chickaloon, Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:48 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 03:48 GMT)
1.1

32 km
Southern Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:16 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 03:16 GMT)
1.2
44 Km E of Denali National Park, Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:16 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 03:16 GMT)
1.2
Central Alaska MoreMap
May 20, 2022 6:01 pm (GMT -8) (May 21, 2022 02:01 GMT)
1.6

97 km
74 Km ESE of Denali National Park, Alaska MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 108 joules (105 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Matanuska-Susitna Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Matanuska-Susitna?

The last earthquake in Matanuska-Susitna occurred 51 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - 60 Km N of Petersville, Alaska, on Saturday, May 21, 2022 at 7:55 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Matanuska-Susitna today?

In the past 24 hours, Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA had 29 quakes up to magnitude 2.0.

What was the strongest quake in Matanuska-Susitna today?

The strongest earthquake in Matanuska-Susitna today occurred 11 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - 9 Km SW of Susitna North, Alaska, on Friday, May 20, 2022 at 9:31 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.