Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the Caribbean Sea in the past 24 hours on Thursday, December 1, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 1, 2022 00:30 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 29 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 8 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, the Caribbean Sea had 1 quake of magnitude 4.9, 15 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 29 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 8 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.9 earthquake was felt in Sucre, Venezuela, 22 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.5 | North Pacific Ocean, 79 km SW of San Isidro, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.9 | 33 km W of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in the Caribbean Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours53 quakes29 quakes M2+16 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days338 quakes190 quakes M2+91 quakes M3+11 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days1,412 quakes768 quakes M2+415 quakes M3+44 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+
Past 90 days4,574 quakes2,356 quakes M2+1,291 quakes M3+175 quakes M4+11 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days16,544 quakes8,469 quakes M2+4,713 quakes M3+642 quakes M4+38 quakes M5+4 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (54 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (54 quakes)
Nov 30, 2022 3:29 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 21:29 GMT)
3.5

3 km
North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 2:53 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 20:53 GMT)
1.9

11 km
43 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Nov 30, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 20:52 GMT)
2.5

9 km
43 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Nov 30, 2022 1:51 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 19:51 GMT)
2.9

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 91 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Nov 30, 2022 3:34 pm (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 19:34 GMT)
2.4

7.6 km
Caribbean Sea, 20 km south of Yauco, Puerto Rico More
Nov 30, 2022 12:06 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 18:06 GMT)
2.2

7 km
Departamento de Sonsonate, 12 km east of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Nov 30, 2022 1:58 pm (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 17:58 GMT)
2.8

2 km
Guayanilla, 22 km northwest of Ponce, Segundo Barrio, Ponce, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 1:50 pm (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 17:50 GMT)
2.5

15 km
17 km west of Ponce, Segundo Barrio, Ponce, Puerto Rico More
Nov 30, 2022 12:30 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2022 17:30 GMT)
2.2

5 km
23 km northwest of La Jagua de Ibirico, Departamento del Cesar, Colombia More
Nov 30, 2022 11:36 am (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2022 16:36 GMT)
2.8

15 km
24 km northeast of Les Cayes, Arrondissement des Cayes, Sud, Haiti More
Nov 30, 2022 10:59 am (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2022 15:59 GMT)
3.0

5 km
Caribbean Sea, 37 km west of Jeremie, Grandans, Haiti
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 11:11 am (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 15:11 GMT)
2.8

15 km
Guayanilla, 16 km west of Ponce, Segundo Barrio, Ponce, Puerto Rico More
Nov 30, 2022 9:57 am (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 13:57 GMT)
3.0

93 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 70 km northeast of Fort-de-France, Martinique
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 7:52 am (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 13:52 GMT)
3.7

19 km
13 km west of Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 8:15 am (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2022 13:15 GMT)
1.3

25 km
Northern Colombia More
Nov 30, 2022 7:15 am (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 13:15 GMT)
2.5

125 km
Departamento de Chalatenango, 48 km north of San Salvador, El Salvador More
Nov 30, 2022 8:48 am (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 12:48 GMT)
3.6

7 km
Caribbean Sea, 37 km north of Road Town, British Virgin Islands
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 7:39 am (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2022 12:39 GMT)
2.2
23 km southwest of Santa Rosa del Sur, Departamento de Bolivar, Colombia More
Nov 30, 2022 7:42 am (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 11:42 GMT)
3.1

19 km
Puerto Plata, 21 km northeast of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 5:16 am (GMT -6) (Nov 30, 2022 11:16 GMT)
2.9

10 km
Caribbean Sea, 81 km north of Guapiles, Pococi, Provincia de Limon, Costa Rica More
Nov 30, 2022 6:16 am (GMT -4) (Nov 30, 2022 10:16 GMT)
?

n/a
63 km northeast of Compostela de Azua, Dominican Republic (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1012 joules (428 megawatt hours, equivalent to 368 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Santa Marta, Magdalena, Colombia (SMAR/CM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Santa Marta, Magdalena, Colombia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Caribbean Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the Caribbean Sea?

The last earthquake in the Caribbean Sea occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 3.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica, on Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022 at 3:29 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in the Caribbean Sea today?

In the past 24 hours, Caribbean Sea had 54 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in the Caribbean Sea today?

The strongest earthquake in the Caribbean Sea today occurred 22 hours ago: Light mag. 4.9 earthquake - 33 km west of Guiria, Municipio Valdez, Sucre, Venezuela, on Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022 at 10:21 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings