Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Catamarca, Argentina, past 30 days

Updated 26 Feb 2021 18:11 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Catamarca was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.5, 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 33 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 79 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.5 quake Iglesia Department, 119 km southeast of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile, 27 Jan 2021 5:00 pm (GMT -3)
Biggest quake today: 3.2 quake 65 km northeast of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina, 26 Feb 2021 4:49 am (GMT -3)
Most recent quake: 2.7 quake 24 km east of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina, 26 Feb 2021 12:46 pm (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.8 or higher (65 out of 118 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Feb 2021 12:46 pm (GMT -3) (26 Feb 2021 15:46:49 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(334 km)24 km east of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 4:49 am (GMT -3) (26 Feb 2021 07:49:04 GMT)
3.2

26 km
(261 km)65 km northeast of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 8:57 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 23:57:35 GMT)
3.3

191 km
(108 km)Departamento de Molinos, 140 km southwest of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 6:44 pm (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 21:44:05 GMT)
3.1

27 km
(333 km)41 km south of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 19:27:54 GMT)
3.4

118 km
(216 km)75 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 23:14:20 GMT)
4.7

106 km
(319 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 34 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 5:52 pm (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 20:52:44 GMT)
2.8

30 km
(332 km)Departamento de Valle Fértil, 79 km east of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 7:41 am (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 10:41:58 GMT)
3.2

112 km
(306 km)33 km north of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 1:03 am (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 04:03:01 GMT)
2.9

157 km
(232 km)Departamento de Castro Barros, 79 km north of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 1:12 pm (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 16:12:42 GMT)
3.2

183 km
(181 km)Departamento de Poman, 88 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21/02/2021 09:08:28 (21 Feb 2021 12:08:28 GMT)
2.9

146 km
(92 km)7.2 km north of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 6:23 am (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 09:23:17 GMT)
3.0

30 km
(229 km)Departamento de Rosario de la Frontera, Salta, 113 km north of Tucuman, Departamento de Capital, Tucuman, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 12:57 am (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 03:57:51 GMT)
2.9

87 km
(144 km)39 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 9:43 pm (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 00:43:21 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(225 km)Departamento de Lules, 24 km southwest of Tucuman, Departamento de Capital, Tucuman, Argentina
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 6:16 pm (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 21:16:25 GMT)
2.8

116 km
(234 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 279 km north of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 8:31 pm (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 23:31:15 GMT)
3.2

126 km
(136 km)Departamento de General Lamadrid, 242 km northwest of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 4:52 am (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 07:52:15 GMT)
3.4

114 km
(323 km)42 km south of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 1:14 am (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 04:14:13 GMT)
3.0

182 km
(162 km)Departamento de Poman, 109 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 9:14 am (GMT -3) (17 Feb 2021 12:14:49 GMT)
4.7

114 km
(249 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 260 km north of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 7:32 am (GMT -3) (16 Feb 2021 10:32:48 GMT)
3.0

192 km
(195 km)Departamento de Poman, 73 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15/02/2021 08:17:38 (15 Feb 2021 11:17:38 GMT)
3.0

128 km
(235 km)Departamento de Iglesia, San Juan, 270 km west of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
15/02/2021 04:46:59 (15 Feb 2021 07:46:59 GMT)
2.9

148 km
(97 km)21 km east of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 11:33 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 14:33:36 GMT)
2.8

17 km
(335 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 66 km west of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 9:20 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 12:20:08 GMT)
3.4

14 km
(252 km)Departamento de Ambato, 34 km north of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina 2 reportsMoreMap
14 Feb 2021 2:28 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 05:28:04 GMT)
2.9

127 km
(160 km)Departamento de Famatina, 85 km north of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 12:10 pm (GMT -3) (13 Feb 2021 15:10:24 GMT)
2.8

109 km
(219 km)Lavalle, 84 km west of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 5:59 am (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 08:59:07 GMT)
2.9

127 km
(95 km)149 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 4:09 pm (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 19:09:11 GMT)
3.8

145 km
(141 km)5.7 km south of Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 1:55 pm (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 16:55:34 GMT)
2.9

29 km
(244 km)Lavalle, 96 km west of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 15:32:25 GMT)
2.9

117 km
(198 km)Lavalle, 185 km west of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 2:56 pm (GMT -3) (10 Feb 2021 17:56:25 GMT)
3.3

157 km
(174 km)Departamento de Tinogasta, 143 km west of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 2:09 pm (GMT -3) (10 Feb 2021 17:09:56 GMT)
4.3

140 km
(176 km)46 km southeast of Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
10/02/2021 07:57:22 (10 Feb 2021 10:57:22 GMT)
2.8

127 km
(288 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 84 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
10/02/2021 04:55:08 (10 Feb 2021 07:55:08 GMT)
2.8

14 km
(291 km)Departamento de Cruz Alta, 50 km east of Tucuman, Departamento de Capital, Tucuman, Argentina MoreMap
10/02/2021 04:16:38 (10 Feb 2021 07:16:38 GMT)
2.8

148 km
(175 km)Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, 88 km north of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
09/02/2021 18:50:51 (9 Feb 2021 21:50:51 GMT)
3.2

15 km
(210 km)Departamento de Famatina, 43 km northwest of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 09:23:08 GMT
4.2

306 km
(47 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 243 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 12:55 am (GMT -3) (8 Feb 2021 03:55:29 GMT)
3.1

133 km
(136 km)127 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 10:14 pm (GMT -3) (8 Feb 2021 01:14:16 GMT)
2.9

182 km
(157 km)Departamento de Poman, 113 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 7:54 am (GMT -3) (7 Feb 2021 10:54:02 GMT)
3.4

140 km
(155 km)26 km south of Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 3:45 am (GMT -3) (7 Feb 2021 06:45:14 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(343 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 64 km west of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 9:46 pm (GMT -3) (7 Feb 2021 00:46:37 GMT)
3.5

186 km
(180 km)Departamento de Poman, 93 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Feb 2021 2:33 pm (GMT -3) (6 Feb 2021 17:33:58 GMT)
3.1

129 km
(220 km)Departamento de Famatina, 27 km north of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 2:53 am (GMT -3) (5 Feb 2021 05:53:19 GMT)
3.0

128 km
(214 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 167 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 10:29 pm (GMT -3) (5 Feb 2021 01:29:48 GMT)
3.0

127 km
(241 km)101 km southeast of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 7:52 pm (GMT -3) (4 Feb 2021 22:52:58 GMT)
3.2

171 km
(149 km)Departamento de Poman, 119 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 2:21 am (GMT -3) (4 Feb 2021 05:21:30 GMT)
3.3

102 km
(335 km)35 km south of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 1:02 am (GMT -3) (4 Feb 2021 04:02:33 GMT)
3.0

116 km
(212 km)Provincia de Copiapo, 104 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
03/02/2021 13:39:35 (3 Feb 2021 16:39:35 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(70 km)25 km northwest of Puerta de Corral Quemado, Departamento de Belén, Catamarca, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
03/02/2021 13:35:11 (3 Feb 2021 16:35:11 GMT)
3.1

7 km
(69 km)26 km northwest of Puerta de Corral Quemado, Departamento de Belén, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 10:08 am (GMT -3) (3 Feb 2021 13:08:45 GMT)
3.0

108 km
(126 km)32 km southeast of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 6:08 am (GMT -3) (3 Feb 2021 09:08:51 GMT)
2.8

113 km
(119 km)Departamento de Vinchina, 185 km northwest of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 00:11:51 GMT
4.6

10 km
(157 km)71 km west of Vinchina, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
02/02/2021 15:25:33 (2 Feb 2021 18:25:33 GMT)
2.8

184 km
(166 km)Departamento de Poman, 103 km northwest of San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Departamento de Capital, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
1 Feb 2021 8:15 pm (GMT -3) (1 Feb 2021 23:15:16 GMT)
2.9

114 km
(83 km)104 km east of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 6:04 pm (GMT -3) (1 Feb 2021 21:04:42 GMT)
2.9

107 km
(193 km)Provincia de Copiapo, 75 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 9:13 am (GMT -3) (1 Feb 2021 12:13:00 GMT)
2.9

138 km
Llullaillaco (28 km)Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Chile MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 9:12 am (GMT -3) (1 Feb 2021 12:12:59 GMT)
3.0

171 km
Llullaillaco (5 km)Departamento de Los Andes, 297 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
01/02/2021 04:10:24 (1 Feb 2021 07:10:24 GMT)
2.8

149 km
(173 km)Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, 99 km north of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
29 Jan 2021 6:33 pm (GMT -3) (29 Jan 2021 21:33:09 GMT)
2.8

20 km
(346 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 70 km west of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
29 Jan 2021 6:33 pm (GMT -3) (29 Jan 2021 21:33:06 GMT)
2.9

19 km
(341 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 58 km west of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Thu, 28 Jan 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
28 Jan 2021 8:25 pm (GMT -3) (28 Jan 2021 23:25:09 GMT)
3.0

142 km
(93 km)18 km northeast of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
28 Jan 2021 2:37 pm (GMT -3) (28 Jan 2021 17:37:37 GMT)
3.8

110 km
(93 km)Copiapó Province, 102 km east of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 9:53 pm (GMT -3) (28 Jan 2021 00:53:58 GMT)
2.9

14 km
(338 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 65 km west of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Wed, 27 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Jan 2021 5:00 pm (GMT -3) (27 Jan 2021 20:00:45 GMT)
5.5

10 km
(279 km)Iglesia Department, 119 km southeast of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile 5 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1013 joules (3.79 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3264 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.