Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes under or near the Ionian Sea past 30 days

Updated 22 Jan 2021 09:23 GMT -
During the past 30 days, the Ionian Sea was shaken by 11 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 68 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 437 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 775 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.8 quake Phocis, Central Greece, 16 km east of Nafpaktos, Aitoloakarnania, West Greece, 23 Dec 2020 4:58 pm (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 3.4 quake Aegean Sea, 8.9 km east of Nisida Agios Fokas Island, Peloponnese, Greece, 22 Jan 2021 3:46 am (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 2.3 quake 5.2 km northeast of Amfissa, Phocis, Central Greece, 22 Jan 2021 10:55 am (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (81 out of 1291 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
22 Jan 2021 10:55 am (GMT +2) (22 Jan 2021 08:55:08 GMT)
2.3

21 km
(89 km)5.2 km northeast of Amfissa, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 7:54 am (GMT +2) (22 Jan 2021 05:54:43 GMT)
2.6

13 km
(111 km)18 km northwest of Megalopolis, Arcadia, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 3:46 am (GMT +2) (22 Jan 2021 01:46:44 GMT)
3.4

8.9 km
(110 km)Aegean Sea, 8.9 km east of Nisida Agios Fokas Island, Peloponnese, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 (GMT)
21 Jan 2021 4:21 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 14:21:15 GMT)
3.1

9.4 km
(100 km)Ionian Sea, 3.1 km northwest of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 2:36 pm (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 12:36:06 GMT)
3.2

184 km
(103 km)5.6 km north of Roviés, Euboea, Central Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 8:51 am (GMT +2) (21 Jan 2021 06:51:42 GMT)
3.2

6.9 km
(100 km)Ionian Sea, 4.5 km northwest of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 10:53 pm (GMT +2) (20 Jan 2021 20:53:12 GMT)
3.1

23 km
(183 km)Ionian Sea, 21 km southwest of Methoni, Messenia, Peloponnese, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 6:06 pm (GMT +2) (20 Jan 2021 16:06:01 GMT)
3.5

11 km
(173 km)Ionian Sea, 52 km southwest of Pylos, Messenia, Peloponnese, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 7:57 am (GMT +2) (20 Jan 2021 05:57:21 GMT)
3.2

8.2 km
(107 km)Phocis, Central Greece, 33 km northeast of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 Jan 2021 1:33 pm (GMT +2) (19 Jan 2021 11:33:51 GMT)
3.9

8 km
(254 km)Ionian Sea, 81 km southwest of Zakynthos, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 Jan 2021 10:21 pm (GMT +2) (18 Jan 2021 20:21:30 GMT)
3.5

29 km
(195 km)Ionian Sea, 89 km south of Kalamata, Messenia, Peloponnese, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 9:48 pm (GMT +2) (18 Jan 2021 19:48:21 GMT)
3.0

8.5 km
(100 km)Phocis, Central Greece, 15 km north of Aigio, Achaea, Western Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 5:43 pm (GMT +2) (18 Jan 2021 15:43:26 GMT)
3.0

7.1 km
(105 km)Ionian Sea, 8.4 km west of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 Jan 2021 12:14 am (GMT +1) (17 Jan 2021 23:14:05 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(295 km)12 km southeast of Casarano, Provincia di Lecce, Apulia, Italy
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 6:05 pm (GMT +2) (17 Jan 2021 16:05:16 GMT)
3.5

6.6 km
(241 km)Ionian Sea, 93 km west of Pýrgos, Ilia Prefecture, Western Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 1:23 pm (GMT +2) (17 Jan 2021 11:23:55 GMT)
3.0

5 km
(110 km)Phocis, Central Greece, 19 km northwest of Aigio, Achaea, Western Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 (GMT)
15 Jan 2021 2:14 pm (GMT +2) (15 Jan 2021 12:14:34 GMT)
3.1

19 km
(206 km)Ionian Sea, 2.7 km west of Skala, Kefallonia Regional Unit, Ionian Islands, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
15 Jan 2021 2:03 pm (GMT +2) (15 Jan 2021 12:03:51 GMT)
3.5

8.3 km
(115 km)11 km east of Kastraki, Phocis, Central Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT) (9 earthquakes)
14 Jan 2021 10:04 pm (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 20:04:14 GMT)
3.2

8.4 km
(106 km)4.4 km northwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Grece-Centrale, Greece MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 8:19 pm (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 18:19:35 GMT)
3.6

7.8 km
(102 km)1.2 km southwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Grece-Centrale, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
14 Jan 2021 4:30 pm (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 14:30:21 GMT)
3.0

6.8 km
(109 km)Ionian Sea, 16 km northwest of Aigio, Achaea, Grece-Occidentale, Greece MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 12:55 pm (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 10:55:43 GMT)
3.0

7 km
(99 km)Ionian Sea, 2.6 km southeast of Glyfada, Phocis, Grece-Centrale, Greece MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 12:54 pm (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 10:54:20 GMT)
3.5

8.1 km
(102 km)Ionian Sea, 1.7 km southeast of Glyfada, Phocis, Grece-Centrale, Greece MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 12:49 pm (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 10:49:18 GMT)
3.8

6.6 km
(103 km)Ionian Sea, 5.9 km northwest of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Grece-Centrale, Greece MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 9:19 am (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 07:19:27 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(278 km)Ionian Sea, 51 km west of Argostoli, Kefallonia Regional Unit, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 8:18 am (GMT +1) (14 Jan 2021 07:18:48 GMT)
3.5

38 km
(143 km)Ionian Sea, 617 km southeast of Rome, Latium, Italy MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 8:19 am (GMT +2) (14 Jan 2021 06:19:20 GMT)
3.5

5.9 km
(107 km)Ionian Sea, 7 km northwest of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Grece-Centrale, Greece MoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT) (9 earthquakes)
14 Jan 2021 1:04 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 23:04:40 GMT)
3.0

5.9 km
(104 km)Ionian Sea, 2.5 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Grece-Centrale, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 3:15 pm (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 13:15:23 GMT)
3.6

6.7 km
(108 km)Ionian Sea, 9.1 km northwest of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 11:56 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 09:56:47 GMT)
3.3

9.6 km
(104 km)Ionian Sea, 2.5 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 11:40 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 09:40:21 GMT)
4.2

12 km
(105 km)Ionian Sea, 3 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 11:21 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 09:21:18 GMT)
3.0

6.9 km
(108 km)Ionian Sea, 6.8 km north of Kamarai, Achaea, West Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 11:06 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 09:06:08 GMT)
3.8

10.4 km
(106 km)Ionian Sea, 2.8 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 7:24 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 05:24:19 GMT)
3.1

6.5 km
(110 km)Ionian Sea, 1.1 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 6:06 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 04:06:13 GMT)
3.1

7.6 km
(109 km)5.8 km northwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 5:57 am (GMT +2) (13 Jan 2021 03:57:15 GMT)
3.5

5 km
(102 km)Ionian Sea, 4.5 km southwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT) (12 earthquakes)
13 Jan 2021 1:58 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 23:58:44 GMT)
3.2

5 km
(106 km)Ionian Sea, 15 km east of Nafpaktos, Aitoloakarnania, West Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 1:05 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 23:05:10 GMT)
3.3

2.3 km
(109 km)Ionian Sea, 10.6 km west of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 1:04 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 23:04:08 GMT)
3.2

5 km
(114 km)Ionian Sea, 3.9 km southeast of Kastraki, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 12:59 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 22:59:48 GMT)
3.5

2.4 km
(103 km)Ionian Sea, 2.2 km southwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 12:56 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 22:56:47 GMT)
4.4

7.9 km
(102 km)Ionian Sea, 2.6 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 4 reportsMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 12:32 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 22:32:56 GMT)
4.0

6.2 km
(106 km)Ionian Sea, 4.2 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 12:29 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 22:29:37 GMT)
4.4

10.8 km
(109 km)1.6 km northwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 8 reportsMoreMap
13 Jan 2021 12:09 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 22:09:56 GMT)
4.7

4.3 km
(118 km)3 km northwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 30 reportsMoreMap
12 Jan 2021 10:52 pm (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 20:52:44 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(219 km)Ionian Sea, 3.2 km southwest of Vlachata, Kefallonia Regional Unit, Ionian Islands, Greece 2 reportsMoreMap
12 Jan 2021 8:26 am (GMT +1) (12 Jan 2021 07:26:34 GMT)
3.9

5.9 km
(371 km)Adriatic Sea, 6.8 km south of Himarë, Albania 9 reportsMoreMap
12 Jan 2021 5:14 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 03:14:17 GMT)
3.3

20 km
(284 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 95 km southwest of Alika, Laconia, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 2:47 am (GMT +2) (12 Jan 2021 00:47:30 GMT)
3.6

10.2 km
(104 km)Ionian Sea, 2.4 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 (GMT)
10 Jan 2021 9:06 pm (GMT +2) (10 Jan 2021 19:06:40 GMT)
3.8

2 km
(180 km)3.6 km east of Agrafa, Nomos Evrytanias, Central Greece MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 2:02 am (GMT +1) (10 Jan 2021 01:02:05 GMT)
3.2

220 km
(33 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 28 km west of Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria, Italy MoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
8 Jan 2021 7:08 pm (GMT +2) (8 Jan 2021 17:08:19 GMT)
3.0

14 km
(208 km)Ionian Sea, 50 km south of Zakynthos, Nomos Zakýnthou, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 8:55 am (GMT +2) (8 Jan 2021 06:55:05 GMT)
3.5

26 km
(160 km)6.5 km west of Amaliada, Ilia Prefecture, Western Greece MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 6:53 am (GMT +2) (8 Jan 2021 04:53:00 GMT)
3.2

6 km
(258 km)Ionian Sea, 76 km southwest of Keri, Nomos Zakýnthou, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 7 Jan 2021 (GMT)
7 Jan 2021 11:05 am (GMT +1) (7 Jan 2021 10:05:14 GMT)
3.2

149 km
(45 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 30 km north of Messina, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Wed, 6 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 3:14 am (GMT +2) (6 Jan 2021 01:14:37 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(110 km)15 km east of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece MoreMap
6 Jan 2021 3:14 am (GMT +2) (6 Jan 2021 01:14:36 GMT)
3.6

2 km
(107 km)Ionian Sea, 5.3 km northeast of Kamarai, Achaea, Western Greece MoreMap
Sun, 3 Jan 2021 (GMT)
3 Jan 2021 6:11 pm (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 16:11:35 GMT)
3.0

11 km
(241 km)Aegean Sea, 28 km southeast of Katerini, Pieria, Macedonia Centrale, Greece MoreMap
3 Jan 2021 11:15 am (GMT +2) (3 Jan 2021 09:15:22 GMT)
3.3

12 km
(113 km)1.4 km east of Istiaia, Euboea, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 2 Jan 2021 (GMT)
2 Jan 2021 3:49 am (GMT +2) (2 Jan 2021 01:49:28 GMT)
3.0
(205 km)6.1 km southeast of Skoulikado, Nomos Zakýnthou, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 1 Jan 2021 (GMT)
1 Jan 2021 5:55 am (GMT +2) (1 Jan 2021 03:55:22 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(99 km)Ionian Sea, 6.7 km north of Aigio, Achaea, Western Greece MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 5:55 am (GMT +2) (1 Jan 2021 03:55:20 GMT)
4.3

2 km
(105 km)Ionian Sea, 15 km north of Aigio, Achaea, Western Greece MoreMap
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 (GMT)
31 Dec 2020 1:43 pm (GMT +2) (31 Dec 2020 11:43:43 GMT)
3.0

2 km
(107 km)Ionian Sea, 10.4 km west of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece MoreMap
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 (GMT)
30 Dec 2020 5:04 pm (GMT +2) (30 Dec 2020 15:04:55 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(108 km)Ionian Sea, 5.4 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 2:39 am (GMT +2) (30 Dec 2020 00:39:20 GMT)
4.2

8 km
(107 km)5.7 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 8 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 (GMT)
29 Dec 2020 3:58 pm (GMT +2) (29 Dec 2020 13:58:11 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(106 km)Ionian Sea, 5 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT)
28 Dec 2020 8:08 pm (GMT +2) (28 Dec 2020 18:08:56 GMT)
3.3

9 km
(106 km)Ionian Sea, 10.7 km west of Nisida Prasoudi Island, Central Greece MoreMap
28 Dec 2020 1:37 pm (GMT +2) (28 Dec 2020 11:37:16 GMT)
3.0

7 km
(107 km)Ionian Sea, 5.9 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
28 Dec 2020 1:11 pm (GMT +2) (28 Dec 2020 11:11:45 GMT)
3.9

7 km
(107 km)Ionian Sea, 5.6 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 (GMT)
28 Dec 2020 1:46 am (GMT +2) (27 Dec 2020 23:46:11 GMT)
3.4

17 km
Sousaki (29 km)3.2 km north of Porto Germeno, Attica, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
27 Dec 2020 11:27 am (GMT +2) (27 Dec 2020 09:27:26 GMT)
3.1

2 km
Sousaki (353 km)Adriatic Sea, 13 km northeast of Aghios Georgios, Nomos Kerkýras, Ionian Islands, Greece 6 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 (GMT)
26 Dec 2020 6:19 pm (GMT +2) (26 Dec 2020 16:19:14 GMT)
3.3

2 km
Sousaki (102 km)5.8 km southwest of Lagkadia, Arcadia, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT)
25 Dec 2020 11:18 am (GMT +2) (25 Dec 2020 09:18:29 GMT)
3.2

80 km
(215 km)Ionian Sea, 93 km southwest of Kalamata, Messenia, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 (GMT)
24 Dec 2020 3:45 am (GMT +2) (24 Dec 2020 01:45:14 GMT)
3.2

2 km
Sousaki (97 km)4.2 km southwest of Aigio, Achaea, West Greece MoreMap
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
23 Dec 2020 10:02 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 20:02:24 GMT)
3.7

8 km
Sousaki (103 km)5 km northwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 9:27 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 19:27:43 GMT)
3.0

8 km
Sousaki (107 km)Ionian Sea, 6.3 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 8:23 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 18:23:46 GMT)
3.1

8 km
Sousaki (107 km)5 km northwest of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 8:23 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 18:23:46 GMT)
4.0
Sousaki (107 km)Ionian Sea, 5.9 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 5:43 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 15:43:10 GMT)
3.1

7 km
Sousaki (107 km)5.7 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 5:17 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 15:17:11 GMT)
3.0

7 km
Sousaki (108 km)6.3 km west of Glyfada, Phocis, Central Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 5:02 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 15:02:50 GMT)
3.6

7 km
Sousaki (107 km)Ionian Sea, 15 km east of Nafpaktos, Aitoloakarnania, West Greece MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 4:58 pm (GMT +2) (23 Dec 2020 14:58:26 GMT)
4.8

10 km
Sousaki (108 km)Phocis, Central Greece, 16 km east of Nafpaktos, Aitoloakarnania, West Greece 8 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 1012 joules (1.02 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 878 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.