Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes under or near the Ionian Sea, past 30 days

Updated 7 Mar 2021 00:18 GMT -
During the past 30 days, the Ionian Sea was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 6.0, 5 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 28 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 175 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 635 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 1027 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 6.0 quake 22 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece, 3 Mar 2021 12:16 pm (GMT +2)
Biggest quake today: 4.5 quake 7.6 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece, 6 Mar 2021 6:36 pm (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 3.1 quake Nomos Larisis, 37 km northeast of Trikala, Thessaly, Greece, 7 Mar 2021 1:22 am (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (84 out of 1871 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (22 earthquakes)
7 Mar 2021 1:22 am (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 23:22:54 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(231 km)Nomos Larisis, 37 km northeast of Trikala, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
7 Mar 2021 1:21 am (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 23:21:58 GMT)
2.2

10 km
(181 km)Ionian Sea, 13 km east of Zakynthos, Nomos Zakýnthou, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
7 Mar 2021 12:47 am (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 22:47:23 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(223 km)36 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
7 Mar 2021 12:31 am (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 22:31:21 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(220 km)32 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
7 Mar 2021 12:04 am (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 22:04:59 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(212 km)Ionian Sea, 18 km west of Zakynthos, Nomos Zakýnthou, Ionian Islands, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 11:25 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 21:25:37 GMT)
2.2

4.8 km
(62 km)Nomarchia Anatolikis Attikis, 24 km southeast of Athens, Greece 1 reportMoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:53 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 20:53:54 GMT)
2.0

14 km
(204 km)Lefkada, Ionian Islands, 42 km west of Agrinio, Aitoloakarnania, Western Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:51 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 20:51:42 GMT)
2.1

5.5 km
(226 km)34 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:29 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 20:29:25 GMT)
2.4

5.6 km
(206 km)16 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:14 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 20:14:11 GMT)
2.5

14 km
(309 km)Ionian Sea, 26 km southeast of Corfu, Nomos Kerkýras, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 10:02 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 20:02:51 GMT)
2.4

4 km
(220 km)30 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 9:47 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 19:47:40 GMT)
4.1

5.8 km
(232 km)37 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 9:10 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 19:10:19 GMT)
2.5

6.1 km
(193 km)34 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 9:06 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 19:06:08 GMT)
2.6

10.3 km
(215 km)23 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 9:03 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 19:03:01 GMT)
2.1

10.2 km
(213 km)23 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 8:52 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 18:52:31 GMT)
2.9

5 km
(204 km)14 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 7:41 pm (GMT +1) (6 Mar 2021 18:41:15 GMT)
2.8

55 km
(46 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 98 km southwest of Agropoli, Salerno, Campania, Italy MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 7:48 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 17:48:29 GMT)
3.4

6.6 km
(218 km)33 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 7:43 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 17:43:39 GMT)
2.4

6.1 km
(234 km)32 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 6:54 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 16:54:43 GMT)
2.4

9 km
(212 km)12 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 6:45 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 16:45:11 GMT)
2.6

5.8 km
(224 km)40 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 6:36 pm (GMT +2) (6 Mar 2021 16:36:20 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(202 km)7.6 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 11 reports
MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 9:43 pm (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 19:43:23 GMT)
3.9

15 km
(223 km)39 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 4:28 pm (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 14:28:28 GMT)
3.7

6.9 km
(206 km)13 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 12:01 pm (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 10:01:14 GMT)
4.1

8.5 km
(223 km)36 km northeast of Trikala, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 11:59 am (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 09:59:59 GMT)
4.2

9 km
(232 km)41 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 12 reports
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 5:30 am (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 03:30:59 GMT)
3.7

11 km
(237 km)22 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 2:34 am (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 00:34:54 GMT)
3.8

18 km
(220 km)33 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 2:11 am (GMT +2) (5 Mar 2021 00:11:16 GMT)
3.9

14 km
(192 km)Nomos Kardhitsas, 33 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (13 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 12:42 am (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 22:42:55 GMT)
3.6

7.8 km
(223 km)32 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 10:41 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 20:41:18 GMT)
3.7

5.9 km
(223 km)32 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 10:03 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 20:03:08 GMT)
4.2

6.1 km
(217 km)21 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 9:31 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 19:31:32 GMT)
4.3

6.9 km
(295 km)38 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 9:23 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 19:23:51 GMT)
5.1

9.2 km
(234 km)Trikala, 46 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 49 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 8:52 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 18:52:03 GMT)
3.6

7 km
(219 km)26 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 8:45 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 18:45:26 GMT)
4.1

6.4 km
(255 km)Pieria, Macedonia Centrale, 37 km northwest of Larissa, Greece
I FELT IT - 20 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 8:44 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 18:44:24 GMT)
3.9

8.7 km
(223 km)33 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 8:38 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 18:38:19 GMT)
5.9

11 km
(221 km)31 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 286 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 1:10 pm (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 11:10:09 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(208 km)21 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 11:36 am (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 09:36:15 GMT)
4.4

5.6 km
(220 km)30 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 7:10 am (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 05:10:20 GMT)
3.6

5.6 km
(202 km)13 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 4:43 am (GMT +2) (4 Mar 2021 02:43:39 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(206 km)12 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (26 earthquakes)
3 Mar 2021 11:00 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 21:00:54 GMT)
4.0

6.2 km
(246 km)28 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 10:43 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 20:43:02 GMT)
3.8

8.4 km
(31 km)Ionian Sea, 235 km northwest of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 9:39 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 19:39:05 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(212 km)15 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 9:39 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 19:39:02 GMT)
3.6

12 km
(218 km)25 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 8:50 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 18:50:46 GMT)
3.7

5.7 km
(207 km)32 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 8:49 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 18:49:48 GMT)
4.4

2 km
(217 km)29 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 8:47 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 18:47:40 GMT)
3.6

8.8 km
(221 km)29 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 8:24 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 18:24:08 GMT)
5.2

6.4 km
(217 km)29 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 35 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 4:52 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 14:52:09 GMT)
3.6

5.6 km
(223 km)29 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 14:15:55 GMT)
3.6

35 km
(225 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 125 km southwest of Kalamata, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 4:05 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 14:05:13 GMT)
3.8

6.8 km
(200 km)Trikala, 22 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 2:02 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 12:02:37 GMT)
3.9

8.3 km
(220 km)25 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:02:16 GMT
4.9

15 km
(65 km)7.7 km north of Livadeia, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 1:49 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 11:49:04 GMT)
4.6

7.4 km
(208 km)12 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 1:45 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 11:45:45 GMT)
5.1

7.1 km
(209 km)16 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 18 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 1:40 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 11:40:43 GMT)
3.8

19 km
(260 km)26 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 1:35 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 11:35:57 GMT)
4.8

6.4 km
(210 km)17 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 1:19 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 11:19:02 GMT)
4.0

9.3 km
(211 km)14 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 1:12 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 11:12:22 GMT)
4.2

2.7 km
(231 km)37 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 10:34:08 GMT)
4.9

8 km
(203 km)7.5 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 24 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:26 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 10:26:18 GMT)
4.0

6.5 km
(206 km)17 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:24 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 10:24:42 GMT)
3.7

3 km
(211 km)20 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:23 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 10:23:08 GMT)
3.9

2 km
(210 km)23 km west of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:19 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 10:19:54 GMT)
4.6

7.9 km
(217 km)25 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 11:19 am (GMT +1) (3 Mar 2021 10:19:02 GMT)
?

10 km
(432 km)Albania (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 116 reports
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 12:16 pm (GMT +2) (3 Mar 2021 10:16:08 GMT)
6.0

8.5 km
(216 km)22 km northwest of Larissa, Nomos Larisis, Thessaly, Greece
I FELT IT - 281 reports
MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 9:55 pm (GMT +2) (2 Mar 2021 19:55:37 GMT)
3.8

12 km
(226 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 121 km west of Kreta, Chania, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 9:55 pm (GMT +2) (2 Mar 2021 19:55:35 GMT)
4.4

2 km
(217 km)Eastern Mediterranean, 122 km west of Kreta, Chania, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Mar 2021 07:13:37 GMT
4.2

246 km
(86 km)Tyrrhenian Sea, 41 km west of Cosenza, Calabria, Italy
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 2:26 pm (GMT +2) (28 Feb 2021 12:26:03 GMT)
4.2

19 km
(205 km)Ionian Sea, 53 km west of Amaliada, Ilia Prefecture, Western Greece
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 5:21 am (GMT +2) (26 Feb 2021 03:21:26 GMT)
3.6

6 km
(118 km)Ionian Sea, 15 km northeast of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 19:48:44 GMT
4.2

10 km
(93 km)Phocis, Central Greece, 41 km east of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 4:12 am (GMT +2) (23 Feb 2021 02:12:59 GMT)
3.7

22 km
(190 km)Ionian Sea, 48 km southwest of Pýrgos, Ilia Prefecture, Western Greece MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 5:04 am (GMT +2) (18 Feb 2021 03:04:32 GMT)
3.7

14 km
(40 km)30 km northwest of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece 72 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 6:38 am (GMT +2) (17 Feb 2021 04:38:50 GMT)
4.1

8.1 km
(109 km)Ionian Sea, 25 km northeast of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece 3 reportsMoreMap
17 Feb 2021 04:10:26 GMT
4.3

10 km
(89 km)Ionian Sea, 38 km east of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 5:36 am (GMT +2) (17 Feb 2021 03:36:09 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(110 km)Ionian Sea, 23 km northeast of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece 29 reportsMoreMap
17 Feb 2021 4:33 am (GMT +2) (17 Feb 2021 02:33:39 GMT)
3.9

8.4 km
(110 km)Ionian Sea, 22 km northeast of Patras, Achaea, Western Greece 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 3:22 am (GMT +2) (16 Feb 2021 01:22:16 GMT)
3.6

5 km
(159 km)Ionian Sea, 67 km south of Kalamata, Messenia, Peloponnese, Greece MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 8:48 pm (GMT +2) (9 Feb 2021 18:48:40 GMT)
3.6

16 km
(117 km)Aegean Sea, 34 km northwest of Kreta, Chania, Crete, Greece 11 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 9:58 am (GMT +1) (7 Feb 2021 08:58:12 GMT)
3.7

10.6 km
(77 km)Ionian Sea, 47 km northeast of Siracusa, Sizilien, Italy 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Feb 2021 7:49 pm (GMT +2) (6 Feb 2021 17:49:25 GMT)
3.6

13 km
(200 km)Ionian Sea, 79 km southwest of Pýrgos, Ilia Prefecture, Western Greece 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1014 joules (37.4 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 32162 tons of TNT or 2 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.