Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Province of Albay, Bicol, Philippines, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 18, 2022 17:33 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Province of Albay was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.6, 1 quake of magnitude 3.7, and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A moderate magnitude 4.6 earthquake occurred in Bicol, Philippines, 16 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | Philippine Sea, 17 km N of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.6 | 6.8 km W of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Province of Albay, Bicol, Philippines (updated )

Past 24 hours:9 quakes | 7 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:21 quakes | 16 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:57 quakes | 39 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:171 quakes | 118 quakes M2+ | 30 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:595 quakes | 395 quakes M2+ | 109 quakes M3+ | 19 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Province of Albay, Bicol, Philippines | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
May 19, 2022 12:39 am (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 16:39 GMT)
2.8

28 km
Philippine Sea, 17 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 19, 2022 12:33 am (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 16:33 GMT)
2.4

25 km
Philippine Sea, 13 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 19, 2022 12:16 am (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 16:16 GMT)
2.4

21 km
Philippine Sea, 10 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 10:03 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 14:03 GMT)
2.8

22 km
18 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:54 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 11:54 GMT)
2.8

25 km
19 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 6:42 pm (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 10:42 GMT)
2.6

23 km
17 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 11:01 am (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 03:01 GMT)
2.4

25 km
18 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:38 am (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 01:38 GMT)
4.6

10 km
6.8 km west of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:29 am (GMT +8) (May 18, 2022 01:29 GMT)
3.7

17 km
12 km northeast of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1011 joules (147 megawatt hours, equivalent to 126 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Province of Albay Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Province of Albay?

The last earthquake in Province of Albay occurred 54 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 17 km north of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines, on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 12:39 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Province of Albay today?

In the past 24 hours, Province of Albay, Bicol, Philippines had 9 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Province of Albay today?

The strongest earthquake in Province of Albay today occurred 16 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.6 earthquake - 6.8 km west of Masbate, Bicol, Philippines, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 9:38 am (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.