Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 08:29 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Atacama, Chile: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 08:29 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Atacama was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 17 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.1 quake Antofagasta Province, 236 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile, Dec 5, 2021 6:51 pm (GMT -3)
Biggest quake today: 3.6 quake South Pacific Ocean, 98 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile, Dec 7, 2021 2:22 am (GMT -5)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (33 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 07:22 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 7, 2021 2:22 am (GMT -5) (Dec 7, 2021 07:22 GMT)
3.6

14 km
South Pacific Ocean, 98 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 12:21 am (GMT -3) (Dec 7, 2021 03:21 GMT)
3.1

27 km
33 km north of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 14:22 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 11:22 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 14:22 GMT)
3.1

62 km
44 km northeast of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 8:33 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 11:33 GMT)
3.1

36 km
South Pacific Ocean, 71 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 6:56 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 09:56 GMT)
2.7

148 km
16 km east of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 21:51 GMT (10 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 6:51 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 21:51 GMT)
5.1

97 km
Antofagasta Province, 236 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 5:42 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 20:42 GMT)
2.5

127 km
Departamento de Iglesia, San Juan, Chile MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 15:32 GMT)
3.0

124 km
86 km southeast of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 11:11 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 14:11 GMT)
3.2

10.1 km
South Pacific Ocean, 63 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 9:19 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 12:19 GMT)
2.5

148 km
23 km northeast of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 7:00 am (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 12:00 GMT)
3.8

13 km
South Pacific Ocean, 38 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 7:24 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 10:24 GMT)
2.7

35 km
95 km southwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 3:01 am (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 08:01 GMT)
4.4

44 km
South Pacific Ocean, 48 km northwest of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 10:59 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 03:59 GMT)
3.2

29 km
South Pacific Ocean, 96 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 11:14 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 02:14 GMT)
3.8

24 km
South Pacific Ocean, 65 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 23:14 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2021 23:14 GMT)
3.1

1.7 km
South Pacific Ocean, 49 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 8:01 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2021 23:01 GMT)
2.5

133 km
24 km south of Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 5:03 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2021 08:03 GMT)
3.7

126 km
Argentina, 130 km east of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, December 3, 2021 21:19 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Dec 3, 2021 6:19 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 3, 2021 21:19 GMT)
2.6

117 km
Departamento de Iglesia, San Juan, 207 km west of Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 6:01 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 3, 2021 21:01 GMT)
2.8

14 km
55 km east of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chanaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 10:06 am (GMT -3) (Dec 3, 2021 13:06 GMT)
2.5

137 km
Departamento de Famatina, 74 km north of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1012 joules (943 megawatt hours, equivalent to 811 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.