Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 27, 2021 22:23 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Provincia de Copiapo, Atacama, Chile: past 7 days

Updated Oct 27, 2021 22:23 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Provincia de Copiapo was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 15 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.3 quake Departamento de Vinchina, La Rioja, 150 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile, Oct 27, 2021 11:38 am (GMT -3)
Most recent quake: 2.9 quake 16 km north of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina, Oct 27, 2021 7:11 pm (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (21 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 22:11 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 27, 2021 7:11 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 27, 2021 22:11 GMT)
2.9

136 km
16 km north of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 27, 2021 4:41 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 27, 2021 19:41 GMT)
2.6

45 km
293 km (182 mi)39 km west of Vallenar, Provincia de Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Oct 27, 2021 11:38 am (GMT -3) (Oct 27, 2021 14:38 GMT)
3.3

121 km
102 km (63 mi)Departamento de Vinchina, La Rioja, 150 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 27, 2021 7:15 am (GMT -3) (Oct 27, 2021 10:15 GMT)
2.8

115 km
107 km (66 mi)144 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 16:20 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 26, 2021 1:20 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 26, 2021 16:20 GMT)
2.6

117 km
172 km (107 mi)Departamento de Vinchina, 194 km west of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 12:33 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 26, 2021 15:33 GMT)
2.7

131 km
219 km (136 mi)Departamento de Famatina, 36 km northeast of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 26, 2021 3:20 am (GMT -3) (Oct 26, 2021 06:20 GMT)
2.7

115 km
116 km (72 mi)Departamento de Vinchina, 187 km northwest of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 10:59 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 26, 2021 01:59 GMT)
3.0

60 km
247 km (153 mi)92 km southwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 10:15 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 26, 2021 01:15 GMT)
2.5

100 km
102 km (63 mi)60 km west of Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Sunday, October 24, 2021 18:42 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 24, 2021 3:42 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 18:42 GMT)
2.7

53 km
301 km (187 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 57 km west of Vallenar, Provincia de Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 1:45 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 16:45 GMT)
3.1

127 km
207 km (129 mi)Departamento de Famatina, 90 km northwest of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 4:57 am (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 07:57 GMT)
3.2

41 km
220 km (137 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 73 km west of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chanaral, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 3:58 am (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 06:58 GMT)
2.5

124 km
125 km (78 mi)Departamento de Vinchina, La Rioja, 141 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Oct 24, 2021 3:21 am (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 06:21 GMT)
3.2

30 km
307 km (191 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 61 km west of Vallenar, Provincia de Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 23, 2021 19:25 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 23, 2021 4:25 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 19:25 GMT)
2.9

10 km
65 km (40 mi)33 km northwest of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 1:25 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 16:25 GMT)
2.7

41 km
237 km (147 mi)86 km southwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 9:36 am (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 12:36 GMT)
3.1

31 km
331 km (206 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Vallenar, Provincia de Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 8:29 am (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 11:29 GMT)
2.9

124 km
68 km (42 mi)Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, 245 km northwest of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Oct 23, 2021 2:40 am (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 05:40 GMT)
2.5

120 km
80 km (50 mi)151 km east of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Friday, October 22, 2021 14:39 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 22, 2021 11:39 am (GMT -3) (Oct 22, 2021 14:39 GMT)
2.7

135 km
186 km (116 mi)Departamento de Famatina, 71 km north of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 06:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 21, 2021 3:40 am (GMT -3) (Oct 21, 2021 06:40 GMT)
2.9

15 km
251 km (156 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 1010 joules (9.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.