Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 29, 2022 02:43 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Santiago, Chile: past 7 days - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 29, 2022 02:43 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Santiago was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.1, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
In the past 24 hours, Santiago had 5 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 0 quakes M4+
- past 7 days: 14 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
- past 30 days: 72 quakes M2+ | 37 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
- past 90 days: 222 quakes M2+ | 106 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+
- past 365 days: 781 quakes M2+ | 331 quakes M3+ | 47 quakes M4+
Biggest quake: 4.1 quake South Pacific Ocean, 122 km northwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile, Jan 27, 2022 6:48 pm (GMT -3)
Biggest quake today: 3.5 quake Provincia de Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, 69 km west of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile, Jan 28, 2022 11:23 pm (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, January 29, 2022 02:23 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 28, 2022 11:23 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 29, 2022 02:23 GMT)
3.5

83 km
Provincia de Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, 69 km west of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 28, 2022 11:23 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 29, 2022 02:23 GMT)
3.0

19 km
Provincia de Cordillera, 26 km southeast of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Friday, January 28, 2022 20:44 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 28, 2022 5:44 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 28, 2022 20:44 GMT)
2.9

47 km
Provincia de Chacabuco, 36 km northwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile MoreMap
Jan 28, 2022 2:10 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 28, 2022 17:10 GMT)
2.9

5.7 km
South Pacific Ocean, 170 km southwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 28, 2022 12:20 am (GMT -3) (Jan 28, 2022 03:20 GMT)
3.3

60 km
O'Higgins, 107 km southwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, January 27, 2022 21:48 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 27, 2022 6:48 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2022 21:48 GMT)
4.1

14 km
South Pacific Ocean, 122 km northwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT - 6 reports
MoreMap
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 19:57 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 26, 2022 2:57 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 26, 2022 19:57 GMT)
3.8

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 158 km northwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 4:25 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 26, 2022 19:25 GMT)
2.9

29 km
South Pacific Ocean, 139 km northwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -5) (Jan 26, 2022 06:35 GMT)
2.7

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 149 km northwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile MoreMap
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 14:30 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 25, 2022 11:30 am (GMT -3) (Jan 25, 2022 14:30 GMT)
3.3

121 km
Provincia de Santiago, Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 25, 2022 9:50 am (GMT -3) (Jan 25, 2022 12:50 GMT)
3.6

52 km
Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, 114 km north of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, January 22, 2022 18:18 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 22, 2022 3:18 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 22, 2022 18:18 GMT)
3.1

77 km
Provincia de Chacabuco, 41 km north of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 22, 2022 10:28 am (GMT -3) (Jan 22, 2022 13:28 GMT)
3.0

14 km
South Pacific Ocean, 176 km southwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 22, 2022 9:50 am (GMT -3) (Jan 22, 2022 12:50 GMT)
2.7

87 km
Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, 102 km south of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1011 joules (47.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 41 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.