Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Hitachinaka-shi, Ibaraki, Japan, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 17, 2022 15:08 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Hitachinaka-shi had 4 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | North Pacific Ocean, 93 km E of Hitachi, Ibaraki, Japan -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 98 km SE of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Hitachinaka-shi, Ibaraki, Japan (updated )

Past 24 hours:10 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:60 quakes | 36 quakes M2+ | 23 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:302 quakes | 203 quakes M2+ | 87 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:1,476 quakes | 939 quakes M2+ | 464 quakes M3+ | 63 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:3,048 quakes | 1,901 quakes M2+ | 944 quakes M3+ | 174 quakes M4+ | 27 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Abiko-shi | Ageo-shi | Ashikaga Shi | Bandō-shi | Chiba | Chikusei-shi | Fujimi-shi | Fujimino | Fukushima | Gunma | ...Show all... | Ōra-gun | Ōtawara-shi
...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
May 17, 2022 8:34 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 11:34 GMT)
2.5

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Hitachi, Ibaraki, Japan MoreMap
May 17, 2022 7:51 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 10:51 GMT)
3.8

49 km
North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 6:56 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 09:56 GMT)
2.5

3.8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 281 km northeast of Tokyo, Japan MoreMap
May 17, 2022 6:36 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 09:36 GMT)
3.7

51 km
North Pacific Ocean, 26 km east of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 2:03 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 05:03 GMT)
3.4

62 km
North Pacific Ocean, 97 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 12:04 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 03:04 GMT)
3.1

9.6 km
North Pacific Ocean, 97 km east of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 17, 2022 10:57 am (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 01:57 GMT)
2.5

66 km
2.6 km southeast of Chiba, Japan MoreMap
May 17, 2022 9:14 am (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 00:14 GMT)
2.6

49 km
North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Monday, May 16, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 17, 2022 5:32 am (GMT +9) (May 16, 2022 20:32 GMT)
2.5

49 km
North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 17, 2022 4:27 am (GMT +9) (May 16, 2022 19:27 GMT)
2.8

50 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1010 joules (18.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Hitachinaka-shi Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hitachinaka-shi?

The last earthquake in Hitachinaka-shi occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Hitachi, Ibaraki, Japan, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 8:34 pm (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Hitachinaka-shi today?

In the past 24 hours, Hitachinaka-shi, Ibaraki, Japan had 10 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Hitachinaka-shi today?

The strongest earthquake in Hitachinaka-shi today occurred 4 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 7:51 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.