Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 10:18 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Southland District, Southland, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 10:18 GMT -
There were 9 quakes of magnitude 2.0+ in or near Southland District during the past 7 days, the largest largest being a 2.9 event.
Biggest quake: 2.9 quake 39 km west of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand, Dec 4, 2021 6:39 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.1 quake 41 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand, Dec 7, 2021 6:20 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 17:20 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 7, 2021 6:20 am (GMT +13) (Dec 6, 2021 17:20 GMT)
2.1

54 km
41 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 21:16 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 10:16 am (GMT +13) (Dec 5, 2021 21:16 GMT)
2.2

32 km
47 km north of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 8:58 am (GMT +13) (Dec 5, 2021 19:58 GMT)
2.7

5 km
Southland District, 82 km north of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 5, 2021 00:56 GMT)
2.7

94 km
36 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 09:02 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 10:02 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 4, 2021 09:02 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Southland District, 71 km northwest of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 9:57 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 4, 2021 08:57 GMT)
2.1

5 km
Westland District, West Coast, 93 km north of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, December 3, 2021 17:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 6:39 am (GMT +13) (Dec 3, 2021 17:39 GMT)
2.9

40 km
39 km west of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 4:39 am (GMT +13) (Dec 3, 2021 15:39 GMT)
2.4

5 km
Tasman Sea, 96 km west of Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, December 2, 2021 07:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 2, 2021 8:41 pm (GMT +13) (Dec 2, 2021 07:41 GMT)
2.7

26 km
50 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.3 x 109 joules (1.19 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.02 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.