Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Western Bay of Plenty District, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, November 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 29, 2022 10:15 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Western Bay of Plenty District had 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.0 | South Pacific Ocean, 112 km NE of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Western Bay of Plenty District, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours12 quakes6 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days92 quakes61 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days550 quakes284 quakes M2+39 quakes M3+10 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days1,630 quakes828 quakes M2+108 quakes M3+16 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days6,362 quakes3,223 quakes M2+391 quakes M3+33 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Nov 29, 2022 10:32 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 09:32 GMT)
1.6

21 km
New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 7:47 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 06:47 GMT)
1.7

24 km
New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 6:46 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 05:46 GMT)
2.6

179 km
2.7 km southwest of Tokoroa, South Waikato District, New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 6:19 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 05:19 GMT)
2.6

249 km
South Pacific Ocean, 31 km north of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 5:53 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 04:53 GMT)
1.5

56 km
New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 3:41 pm (GMT +12) (Nov 29, 2022 03:41 GMT)
3.0

210 km
South Pacific Ocean, 112 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Nov 29, 2022 3:48 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 02:48 GMT)
1.2

69 km
New Zealand More
Monday, November 28, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Nov 29, 2022 5:57 am (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 16:57 GMT)
2.7

168 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 2:09 am (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 13:09 GMT)
2.6

18 km
17 km northwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 2:05 am (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 13:05 GMT)
2.2

18 km
17 km northwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 12:22 am (GMT +12) (Nov 28, 2022 12:22 GMT)
2.6

152 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Nov 29, 2022 12:48 am (GMT +13) (Nov 28, 2022 11:48 GMT)
1.8

21 km
10.6 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.9 x 109 joules (1.37 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.18 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Western Bay of Plenty District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Western Bay of Plenty District?

The last earthquake in Western Bay of Plenty District occurred 43 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - New Zealand on Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022 at 10:32 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Western Bay of Plenty District today?

In the past 24 hours, Western Bay of Plenty District, New Zealand had 12 quakes up to magnitude 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Western Bay of Plenty District today?

The strongest earthquake in Western Bay of Plenty District today occurred 7 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.0 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 112 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022 at 3:41 pm (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings