2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Los Angeles, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, July 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 5, 2022 15:48 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 26 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Los Angeles had 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 2 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 26 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.6 | 6km SW of Cabazon, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.0 | North Pacific Ocean, 59 mi SW of Oceanside, San Diego County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Los Angeles, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:16 quakes | 2 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:84 quakes | 17 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:331 quakes | 43 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:935 quakes | 100 quakes M2+ | 11 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:3,896 quakes | 374 quakes M2+ | 45 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Los Angeles, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, July 5, 2022 GMT (17 quakes)
Jul 5, 2022 4:49 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 11:49 GMT)
0.6

12 km
6km SW of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 4:21 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 11:21 GMT)
1.3

4.7 km
25km NNW of Fillmore, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 3:05 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 10:05 GMT)
1.4

0.7 km
24km SSW of Frazier Park, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 1:53 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 08:53 GMT)
0.3

13 km
8km NW of Anza, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 1:48 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 08:48 GMT)
0.6

13 km
14km WNW of Anza, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 1:37 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 08:37 GMT)
0.5

13 km
14km WNW of Anza, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 12:10 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 07:10 GMT)
0.8

9.2 km
6km SW of Warner Springs, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 12:05 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 07:05 GMT)
2.4

9.6 km
12km W of Palos Verdes Estates, CA 3 reportsMoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 11:02 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 06:02 GMT)
0.4

12 km
4km ESE of Lake Henshaw, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 9:34 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 04:34 GMT)
1.4

0.5 km
3km SSE of Rowland Heights, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 9:12 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 04:12 GMT)
1.1

16 km
12km NE of Cabazon, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 8:48 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 03:48 GMT)
1.4

13 km
3km SW of Pedley, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 8:32 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 03:32 GMT)
1.1

13 km
4km SW of Redlands, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 8:31 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 03:31 GMT)
1.5

14 km
4km SW of Redlands, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 8:31 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 03:31 GMT)
1.1

13 km
4km SW of Redlands, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 7:42 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 02:42 GMT)
3.0

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 59 mi southwest of Oceanside, San Diego County, California, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 109 joules (684 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.588 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Los Angeles Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Los Angeles?

The last earthquake in Los Angeles occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 0.6 earthquake - 6km SW of Cabazon, CA, on Tuesday, Jul 5, 2022 at 4:49 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Los Angeles today?

In the past 24 hours, Los Angeles, California, USA had 29 quakes up to magnitude 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Los Angeles today?

The strongest earthquake in Los Angeles today occurred 13 hours ago: Light mag. 3.0 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 59 mi southwest of Oceanside, San Diego County, California, USA, on Monday, Jul 4, 2022 at 7:42 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.