Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
29 quakes Mag. 2+
2 quakes Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.7 earthquake 34 mi west of Kalifornsky, Alaska, USA - 1 hour and 13 minutes ago
Strongest past 7 daysMag. 3.4 13 mi southwest of Anchorage, Alaska, USA - 1 day 21 hours ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 14:29 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Kenai Peninsula, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Kenai Peninsula has had 9 quakes of magnitudes up to 2.9.

In the past 7 days, Kenai Peninsula has had 61 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.4:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 27 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 32 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Strongest: Mag. 3.4 Earthquake 13 mi SW of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 7 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (71 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 04:16 am (Anchorage)
Feb 29, 13:16 GMT

2.7

77 km
2 km (1.2 mi) to the W 34 mi west of Kalifornsky, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (18 quakes)
Feb 28, 01:57 pm (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 22:57 GMT

0.4

13 km
Kenai Peninsula, 100 mi west of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 01:20 pm (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 22:20 GMT

2.9

82 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the W 29 mi west of Kalifornsky, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 10:26 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 19:26 GMT

2.6

30 km
Kenai Peninsula, 23 mi southeast of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 09:32 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 18:32 GMT

2.1

38 km
Kenai Peninsula, 22 mi south of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 08:48 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 17:48 GMT

2.0

57 km
30 km (19 mi) to the N Matanuska-Susitna, 33 mi northwest of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 08:45 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 17:45 GMT

0.3

12 km
Kenai Peninsula, 99 mi west of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 08:43 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 17:43 GMT

1.8

17 km
Kenai Peninsula, 100 mi west of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 07:58 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 16:58 GMT

2.2

215 km
20 km (12 mi) to the W Lake and Peninsula, 94 mi west of Kalifornsky, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 03:17 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 12:17 GMT

2.0

136 km
Kenai Peninsula, 144 mi southwest of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 01:14 am (Anchorage)
Feb 28, 10:14 GMT

2.5

26 km
18 km (11 mi) to the S 47 mi south of Gomer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 1010 joules (6.15 megawatt hours, equivalent to 5.29 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Kenai Peninsula Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Captain Cook Nikiski, AK, USA (CAPN/AK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Captain Cook Nikiski, AK, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 42,000 quakes on average per year in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.06 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 16.7 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.56 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 1.8 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 2.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 21.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 220 quakes per year (or 18.3 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 1,800 quakes per year (or 4.9 quakes per day)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 4,000 quakes per year (or 10.8 quakes per day)
Kenai Peninsula has a high level of seismic activity. Kenai Peninsula has had at least 9 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (9 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (66.67%)
below M2
3 quakes
(33.33%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (61 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (3.28%)
2+
27 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (44.26%)
below M2
32 quakes
(52.46%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (258 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.39%)
3+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (3.1%)
2+
112 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (43.41%)
below M2
137 quakes
(53.1%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (911 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.44%)
3+
27 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.96%)
2+
404 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (44.35%)
below M2
476 quakes
(52.25%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (5,196 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.06%)
4+
14 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.27%)
3+
96 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.85%)
2+
1,794 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (34.53%)
below M2
3,289 quakes
(63.3%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (16,245 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.01%)
5+
12 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.07%)
4+
69 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.42%)
3+
434 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.67%)
2+
5,611 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (34.54%)
below M2
10,118 quakes
(62.28%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (42,538 in total as 100%)
7+
2 quakes
Mag 7 or higher
6+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.01%)
5+
38 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.09%)
4+
239 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.56%)
3+
2,005 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (4.71%)
2+
15,781 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (37.1%)
below M2
24,470 quakes
(57.53%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours9 quakes16-----
Past 7 days61 quakes28272----
Past 30 days258 quakes12111281---
Past 90 days911 quakes412404274---
Past 365 days5,196 quakes2,8861,79496143--
Past 3 years16,245 quakes8,9075,61143469121-
Past 10 years42,538 quakes22,10015,7812,0052393832
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Kenai Peninsula Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA?

Kenai Peninsula has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 42,000 quakes on average per year in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA. Kenai Peninsula has had at least 9 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Kenai Peninsula?

The last earthquake in Kenai Peninsula occurred 1 hour and 13 minutes ago:

A light magnitude 2.7 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of Alaska,  United States, in the early morning of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 4.16 am local time (America/Anchorage GMT -9). The quake had a moderate depth of 77 km (48 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Kenai Peninsula in the past 7 days?

In the past 7 days, Kenai Peninsula has had 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 27 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 32 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Kenai Peninsula in the past 7 days?

The strongest earthquake in Kenai Peninsula in the past 7 days occurred 1 day 21 hours ago:

A light magnitude 3.4 earthquake hit 21 km (13 mi) away from Anchorage, Alaska,  United States, in the morning of Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024 at 8.29 am local time (America/Anchorage GMT -9). The quake had a shallow depth of 58 km (36 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 7.1 earthquake that hit Alaska,  USA, 8 years ago on Sunday, Jan 24, 2016, at 01:30 am local time (America/Anchorage GMT -9).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 9.2 earthquake Chugach, Alaska, USA - Mar 27, 1964 - 60 years ago
60 years ago, Alaska,  USA, was hit by a magnitude 9.2 quake on Friday, Mar 27, 1964, at 06:36 pm local time (America/Anchorage GMT -9). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Dec 21, 2021 22:42 GMT
Dec 21, 2021 01:42 pm (Anchorage)
5.9

153 km
53 mi northwest of Anchor Point, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA 278 reportsMore
May 31, 2021 06:59 GMT
May 30, 2021 10:59 pm (Anchorage)
6.1

44 km
178 km (111 mi) to the NE 58 mi northeast of Fishhook, Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA 698 reportsMore
May 27, 2019 09:52 GMT
May 27, 2019 01:52 am (Anchorage)
5.8

65 km
42 km (26 mi) to the S 61 mi southwest of Gomer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA 252 reportsMore
Nov 30, 2018 17:35 GMT
Nov 30, 2018 08:35 am (Anchorage)
5.8

14 km
24 km (15 mi) to the NE 2.6 mi south of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA 46 reportsMore
Nov 30, 2018 17:29 GMT
Nov 30, 2018 08:29 am (Anchorage)
7.0

31 km
40 km (25 mi) to the NE Matanuska-Susitna, 7.8 mi north of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA 402 reportsMore
Aug 31, 2017 17:46 GMT
Aug 31, 2017 09:46 am (Anchorage)
5.5

62 km
27 km (17 mi) to the SW 37 mi northwest of Aleneva, Kodiak Island Borough, Alaska, USA 3 reportsMore
Jan 24, 2016 10:30 GMT
Jan 24, 2016 01:30 am (Anchorage)
7.1

128 km
1 km (0.6 mi) to the SW 24 mi east of Pedro Bay, Lake and Peninsula, Alaska, USA 233 reportsMore
Jul 29, 2015 02:35 GMT
Jul 28, 2015 06:35 pm (Anchorage)
6.3

114 km
Kenai Peninsula, 30 mi east of Port Alsworth, Lake and Peninsula, Alaska, USA 35 reportsMore
Jun 24, 2015 22:32 GMT
Jun 24, 2015 02:32 pm (Anchorage)
5.8

111 km
30 km (19 mi) to the N 36 mi southwest of Skwentna, Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA 10 reportsMore
Sep 25, 2014 17:51 GMT
Sep 25, 2014 09:51 am (Anchorage)
6.2

103 km
63 km (39 mi) to the N 13 mi west of Skwentna, Matanuska-Susitna, Alaska, USA 27 reportsMore
Dec 6, 1999 23:12 GMT
Dec 6, 1999 03:12 pm (Anchorage)
7.0

44 km
146 km (91 mi) to the SW 78 mi southwest of Kodiak, Kodiak Island Borough, Alaska, USA More
Sep 4, 1965 14:32 GMT
Sep 4, 1965 06:32 am (Anchorage)
7.0

28 km
90 km (56 mi) to the S 21 mi north of Kodiak, Kodiak Island Borough, Alaska, USA More
Mar 28, 1964 03:36 GMT
Mar 27, 1964 06:36 pm (Anchorage)
9.2

25 km
74 km (46 mi) to the E Chugach, 37 mi southwest of Valdez, Valdez-Cordova, Alaska, USA More
Nov 3, 1943 14:32 GMT
Nov 3, 1943 05:32 am (Anchorage)
7.6

15 km
41 km (25 mi) to the N Matanuska-Susitna, 54 mi northwest of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More
Nov 7, 1912 07:40 GMT
Nov 6, 1912 10:40 pm (Anchorage)
7.3

90 km
130 km (81 mi) to the SW Alaska, USA More
Jan 31, 1912 20:11 GMT
Jan 31, 1912 11:11 am (Anchorage)
7.0

80 km
70 km (43 mi) to the E Chugach, 82 mi east of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska, USA More

Map of largest quakes in or near Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings