Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Valparaiso, Chile, past 30 days

Updated 5 Mar 2021 19:40 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Valparaiso was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 16 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 88 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 223 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Choapa, 17 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile, 10 Feb 2021 5:18 pm (GMT -3)
Biggest quake today: 2.9 quake 60 km northeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile, 5 Mar 2021 8:49 am (GMT -3)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake 23 km south of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile, 5 Mar 2021 2:44 pm (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.2 or higher (71 out of 328 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 2:44 pm (GMT -3) (5 Mar 2021 17:44:55 GMT)
2.5

66 km
(387 km)23 km south of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 8:15 am (GMT -5) (5 Mar 2021 13:15:59 GMT)
2.6

16 km
(396 km)South Pacific Ocean, 98 km southwest of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 8:49 am (GMT -3) (5 Mar 2021 11:49:04 GMT)
2.9

83 km
(119 km)60 km northeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 1:16 am (GMT -3) (3 Mar 2021 04:16:29 GMT)
3.8

218 km
(260 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 150 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 1:05 pm (GMT -3) (2 Mar 2021 16:05:35 GMT)
3.5

40 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 180 km north of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 3:00 am (GMT -3) (2 Mar 2021 06:00:21 GMT)
3.3

29 km
(318 km)61 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 10:43 pm (GMT -5) (2 Mar 2021 03:43:51 GMT)
3.6

30 km
(356 km)South Pacific Ocean, 211 km northwest of Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 7:35 pm (GMT -5) (1 Mar 2021 00:35:04 GMT)
3.3

15 km
(357 km)South Pacific Ocean, 139 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 12:17 am (GMT -3) (26 Feb 2021 03:17:51 GMT)
3.2

69 km
(310 km)59 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 10:20 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 13:20:21 GMT)
3.8

36 km
(334 km)South Pacific Ocean, 79 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chili MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 9:42 am (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 12:42:02 GMT)
3.3

78 km
(257 km)25 km north of Ильяпель, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Чили MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 11:51 pm (GMT -3) (25 Feb 2021 02:51:30 GMT)
3.6

24 km
(187 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km southwest of Сан-Антонио, San Antonio Province, Valparaiso, Чили 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 12:05 pm (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 17:05:49 GMT)
4.1

26 km
(384 km)South Pacific Ocean, 175 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 7:14 am (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 12:14:57 GMT)
3.8

44 km
(423 km)South Pacific Ocean, 45 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 11:54 pm (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 04:54:58 GMT)
3.5

13 km
(379 km)South Pacific Ocean, 88 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 9:31 pm (GMT -3) (24 Feb 2021 00:31:50 GMT)
3.2

131 km
(69 km)Departamento de Las Heras, 101 km west of Mendoza, Departamento de Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 19:27:54 GMT)
3.4

118 km
(216 km)75 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 11:18 am (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 14:18:40 GMT)
3.5

7 km
(190 km)Departamento de Sarmiento, 42 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:18 am (GMT -3) (23 Feb 2021 06:18:49 GMT)
4.7

43 km
(244 km)36 km west of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 2 reportsMoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 8:14 pm (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 23:14:20 GMT)
4.7

106 km
(319 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 34 km northwest of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 7:23 pm (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 22:23:14 GMT)
3.2

111 km
(211 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 88 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 6:06 pm (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 21:06:34 GMT)
3.6

70 km
(337 km)67 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 12:26 am (GMT -3) (22 Feb 2021 03:26:00 GMT)
3.3

31 km
(182 km)South Pacific Ocean, 38 km northwest of Quillota, Valparaiso, Cile 7 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 2:40 pm (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 17:40:23 GMT)
4.0

21 km
(281 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km west of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 3:46 am (GMT -3) (21 Feb 2021 06:46:51 GMT)
3.3

57 km
(384 km)South Pacific Ocean, 31 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 1:19 am (GMT -5) (21 Feb 2021 06:19:06 GMT)
3.3

38 km
(396 km)South Pacific Ocean, 71 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 8:26 pm (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 23:26:56 GMT)
3.4

34 km
(348 km)39 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
20 Feb 2021 2:34 pm (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 17:34:33 GMT)
3.3

127 km
(108 km)Departamento de Calingasta, San Juan, 88 km northwest of Mendoza, Departamento de Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 12:43 am (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 03:43:46 GMT)
4.0

125 km
(229 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 182 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 8:31 pm (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 23:31:15 GMT)
3.2

126 km
(136 km)Departamento de General Lamadrid, 242 km northwest of La Rioja, Departamento de Capital, La Rioja, Argentina MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 8:49 am (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 11:49:04 GMT)
4.5

115 km
(43 km)Santiago, 47 km northeast of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan, Chile 18 reportsMoreMap
19 Feb 2021 5:48 am (GMT -5) (19 Feb 2021 10:48:37 GMT)
4.4

42 km
(231 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km west of Valparaiso, Chile 4 reportsMoreMap
19 Feb 2021 5:08 am (GMT -5) (19 Feb 2021 10:08:51 GMT)
3.5

20 km
(222 km)South Pacific Ocean, 83 km north of Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 3:54 am (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 06:54:29 GMT)
4.9

47 km
(376 km)South Pacific Ocean, 71 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 6 reportsMoreMap
18 Feb 2021 10:10 pm (GMT -5) (19 Feb 2021 03:10:25 GMT)
3.2

29 km
(207 km)South Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 3:23 pm (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 18:23:29 GMT)
3.2

51 km
(197 km)South Pacific Ocean, 30 km west of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 1:17 pm (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 16:17:06 GMT)
3.2

52 km
(258 km)23 km northwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 4:33 am (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 07:33:43 GMT)
3.4

55 km
(335 km)13 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 2:29 am (GMT -5) (18 Feb 2021 07:29:28 GMT)
3.2

27 km
(372 km)South Pacific Ocean, 77 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 2:28 am (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 05:28:04 GMT)
3.2

56 km
(283 km)48 km northwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 9:21 pm (GMT -3) (18 Feb 2021 00:21:17 GMT)
3.3

63 km
(273 km)15 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 9:14 am (GMT -3) (17 Feb 2021 12:14:49 GMT)
4.7

114 km
(249 km)Departamento de Iglesia, 260 km north of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 5:16 am (GMT -3) (16 Feb 2021 08:16:29 GMT)
3.4

9 km
San José (19 km)Provincia de Cordillera, 71 km southeast of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
16 Feb 2021 3:30 am (GMT -3) (16 Feb 2021 06:30:29 GMT)
3.3

37 km
(227 km)South Pacific Ocean, 59 km northwest of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 2:14 am (GMT -3) (16 Feb 2021 05:14:30 GMT)
4.0

23 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 60 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Feb 2021 10:12 pm (GMT -3) (15 Feb 2021 01:12:29 GMT)
3.2

27 km
(294 km)South Pacific Ocean, 91 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 11:01 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 14:01:54 GMT)
4.2

45 km
(347 km)58 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 8:53 am (GMT -5) (14 Feb 2021 13:53:36 GMT)
3.6

34 km
(233 km)South Pacific Ocean, 98 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 5:46 am (GMT -3) (14 Feb 2021 08:46:38 GMT)
3.5

47 km
(247 km)15 km north of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 4:06 pm (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 19:06:44 GMT)
4.1

47 km
(336 km)25 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:57 pm (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 16:57:05 GMT)
3.6

37 km
(375 km)43 km south of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 6:50 am (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 09:50:22 GMT)
4.7

44 km
(342 km)Limarí, 23 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile 4 reportsMoreMap
12 Feb 2021 6:43 am (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 09:43:28 GMT)
4.2

49 km
San José (153 km)9.6 km northeast of San Antonio, Valparaiso, Chile 14 reportsMoreMap
11 Feb 2021 11:06 pm (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 02:06:04 GMT)
3.7

123 km
(100 km)Departamento de Las Heras, 64 km northwest of Mendoza, Departamento de Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 10:49 pm (GMT -3) (12 Feb 2021 01:49:49 GMT)
3.4

31 km
(276 km)South Pacific Ocean, 73 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 1:49 pm (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 16:49:55 GMT)
4.2

44 km
(406 km)Elqui Province, 8.6 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
11 Feb 2021 9:51 am (GMT -5) (11 Feb 2021 14:51:50 GMT)
3.3

10 km
(594 km)South Pacific Ocean, 283 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 3:53 am (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 06:53:01 GMT)
3.2

67 km
(338 km)60 km northeast of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 2:59 am (GMT -3) (11 Feb 2021 05:59:26 GMT)
3.5

78 km
(170 km)33 km northeast of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 5:18 pm (GMT -3) (10 Feb 2021 20:18:29 GMT)
5.2

52 km
(211 km)Choapa, 17 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile 29 reportsMoreMap
10 Feb 2021 11:49 am (GMT -5) (10 Feb 2021 16:49:40 GMT)
4.7

463 km
(359 km)South Pacific Ocean, 238 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 6:30 am (GMT -5) (9 Feb 2021 11:30:27 GMT)
3.7

34 km
(433 km)South Pacific Ocean, 67 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 8:40 am (GMT -3) (8 Feb 2021 11:40:18 GMT)
3.4

38 km
(333 km)74 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 6:46 am (GMT -3) (7 Feb 2021 09:46:06 GMT)
3.3

134 km
(247 km)Departamento de Calingasta, 130 km west of San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 2:20 pm (GMT -3) (6 Feb 2021 17:20:03 GMT)
3.4

24 km
(178 km)South Pacific Ocean, 34 km north of Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 11:42 am (GMT -3) (6 Feb 2021 14:42:32 GMT)
3.2

39 km
(409 km)South Pacific Ocean, 38 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 4:29 am (GMT -5) (6 Feb 2021 09:29:25 GMT)
3.7

40 km
(228 km)South Pacific Ocean, 56 km northwest of Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:08 am (GMT -3) (6 Feb 2021 05:08:17 GMT)
3.3

37 km
(343 km)84 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 11:58 pm (GMT -3) (6 Feb 2021 02:58:44 GMT)
3.5

112 km
(43 km)22 km southeast of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins Region, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 5:58 pm (GMT -3) (5 Feb 2021 20:58:44 GMT)
3.2

60 km
(349 km)76 km north of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 9:58 am (GMT -3) (4 Feb 2021 12:58:03 GMT)
3.3

28 km
(383 km)Provincia de Limari, 52 km southwest of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1013 joules (3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2578 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.