Latest quakes in or near Western Greece in the past 24 hours on Thursday, July 7, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 7, 2022 13:05 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 10 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Western Greece had 5 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 10 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | Ionian Sea, 25 km S of Mouzaki, Zakynthos, Ionian Islands, Greece -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 35 km NW of Tripoli, Arcadia, Peloponnese, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Western Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours:13 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:143 quakes | 38 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days:679 quakes | 164 quakes M2+ | 11 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:3,836 quakes | 689 quakes M2+ | 50 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:11,425 quakes | 2,821 quakes M2+ | 235 quakes M3+ | 30 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Western Greece | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, July 7, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Jul 7, 2022 3:44 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 12:44 GMT)
2.5

10 km
Ionian Sea, 25 km south of Mouzaki, Zakynthos, Ionian Islands, Greece MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 3:42 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 12:42 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Ioannina, Epirus, Greece (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 2:02 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 11:02 GMT)
2.9

15 km
Greece: 11 Km NNW From Vytina Arcadia MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 11:42 am (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 08:42 GMT)
1.7

29 km
Greece: 3 Km NE From Pirgos MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 8:23 am (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 05:23 GMT)
1.8

31 km
Southern Greece MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 5:29 am (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 02:29 GMT)
1.8

9.4 km
Greece: 4 Km E From Agios Nikitas MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 4:27 am (GMT +3) (Jul 7, 2022 01:27 GMT)
1.6

8.1 km
Greece: 4 Km ESE From Thebes MoreMap
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Jul 7, 2022 2:50 am (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 23:50 GMT)
1.0

16 km
Greece: 4 Km NW From Porto Germeno MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 2:43 am (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 23:43 GMT)
0.9

18 km
Greece: 8 Km SSE From Galaxidi MoreMap
Jul 7, 2022 12:39 am (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 21:39 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Greece: 18 Km SSW From Argostolion MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 11:46 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 20:46 GMT)
2.2

14 km
Greece: 13 Km ENE From Karytaina Arcadia MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 9:02 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 18:02 GMT)
1.7

8.7 km
Greece: 5 Km E From Thebes MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 8:19 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 17:19 GMT)
1.6

8 km
Greece: 10 Km NE From Thermo Aitoloakarnania MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 5:17 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 14:17 GMT)
2.0

16 km
Greece MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 5:02 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 14:02 GMT)
1.6

9.6 km
Greece: 7 Km WSW From Stylis MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 4:47 pm (GMT +3) (Jul 6, 2022 13:47 GMT)
1.8

13 km
Greece: 8 Km SSW From Keri Zakynthos MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 109 joules (614 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.528 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Western Greece Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Western Greece?

The last earthquake in Western Greece occurred 21 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - Ionian Sea, 25 km south of Mouzaki, Zakynthos, Ionian Islands, Greece, on Thursday, Jul 7, 2022 at 3:44 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Western Greece today?

In the past 24 hours, Western Greece had 16 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Western Greece today?

The strongest earthquake in Western Greece today occurred 2 hours and 3 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 35 km northwest of Tripoli, Arcadia, Peloponnese, Greece, on Thursday, Jul 7, 2022 at 2:02 pm (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings