3 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, June 26, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jun 26, 2022 14:13 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 29 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Hawke's Bay had 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 29 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.8 | North Island, 42 km SW of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.1 | 56 km SE of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Hawke's Bay, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:28 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:171 quakes | 58 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:708 quakes | 253 quakes M2+ | 26 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:2,212 quakes | 733 quakes M2+ | 68 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:8,451 quakes | 2,839 quakes M2+ | 270 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Hawke's Bay, New Zealand | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (33 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, June 26, 2022 GMT (19 quakes)
Jun 27, 2022 1:40 am (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 13:40 GMT)
0.8

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 27, 2022 1:36 am (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 13:36 GMT)
0.5

10.1 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 27, 2022 1:32 am (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 13:32 GMT)
0.4

12 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 27, 2022 1:28 am (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 13:28 GMT)
2.1

10.7 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 27, 2022 12:13 am (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 12:13 GMT)
1.6

21 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 9:52 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 09:52 GMT)
1.2

47 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 9:46 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 09:46 GMT)
1.3

24 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 9:24 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 09:24 GMT)
1.9

3.7 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 7:38 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 07:38 GMT)
1.2

7.2 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 7:16 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 07:16 GMT)
1.7

24 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 7:10 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 07:10 GMT)
1.7

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 5:58 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 05:58 GMT)
2.0

26 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 5:29 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 05:29 GMT)
1.7

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 5:22 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 05:22 GMT)
0.7

12 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 3:36 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 03:36 GMT)
1.6

25 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 26, 2022 3:04 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 26, 2022 03:04 GMT)
0.8

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 109 joules (931 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.801 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Hawke's Bay Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hawke's Bay?

The last earthquake in Hawke's Bay occurred 33 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.8 earthquake - North Island, 42 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand, on Monday, Jun 27, 2022 at 1:40 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Hawke's Bay today?

In the past 24 hours, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand had 33 quakes up to magnitude 3.1.

What was the strongest quake in Hawke's Bay today?

The strongest earthquake in Hawke's Bay today occurred 20 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.1 earthquake - 56 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Sunday, Jun 26, 2022 at 6:37 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.