Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Hualgayoc, Cajamarca, Peru, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated never
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 29 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 138 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Hualgayoc has had 3 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 29 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 138 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.1 | Amazonas, 51 km SW of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.6 | 8.3 km NW of Rioja, Region de San Martin, Peru -

Quakes in nearby regions

Amazonas | Andabamba | Asuncion | Bambamarca | Bolivar | Bolivar | Cajamarca | Cajamarca | Callayuc | Calquis | ...Show all... | Yauyucan | Yonan
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (170 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mar 21, 2022 12:57 am (GMT -5) (Mar 21, 2022 05:57 GMT)
4.1

93 km
501 km (311 mi)Amazonas, 51 km southwest of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru MoreMap
Mar 7, 2022 3:12 pm (GMT -5) (Mar 7, 2022 20:12 GMT)
4.2

14 km
419 km (260 mi)14 km east of Jaén, Cajamarca, Peru MoreMap
Feb 24, 2022 10:55 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 25, 2022 03:55 GMT)
4.1

18 km
441 km (274 mi)40 km northwest of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru MoreMap
Jan 24, 2022 7:17 am (GMT -5) (Jan 24, 2022 12:17 GMT)
4.1

5 km
374 km (232 mi)Cajamarca, Peru MoreMap
Jan 6, 2022 10:35 am (GMT -5) (Jan 6, 2022 15:35 GMT)
4.0

28 km
426 km (265 mi)Region de San Martin, Peru MoreMap
Dec 24, 2021 2:44 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 24, 2021 19:44 GMT)
4.4

34 km
631 km (392 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 44 km west of Pacasmayo, La Libertad, Peru MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 3:59 am (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 08:59 GMT)
4.1

60 km
530 km (329 mi)35 km northwest of Chiclayo, Lambayeque, Peru MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 6:41 am (GMT -5) (Dec 4, 2021 11:41 GMT)
4.6

146 km
433 km (269 mi)58 km northwest of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 4:14 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 3, 2021 21:14 GMT)
4.1

104 km
429 km (267 mi)Piura, 69 km west of Jaén, Cajamarca, Peru MoreMap
24 Apr 12:01 am (GMT -5) (Apr 24, 2021 05:01 GMT)
4.5

54 km
686 km (426 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 72 km west of Trujillo, La Libertad, Peru 25 reportsMoreMap
Mar 6, 2021 5:54 am (GMT -5) (Mar 6, 2021 10:54 GMT)
4.0

36 km
641 km (398 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Pacasmayo, La Libertad, Peru MoreMap
Feb 8, 2021 8:41 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 9, 2021 01:41 GMT)
5.0

49 km
393 km (244 mi)Loreto, 75 km north of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru 4 reportsMoreMap
Dec 29, 2020 10:49 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 30, 2020 03:49 GMT)
4.0

133 km
418 km (260 mi)52 km north of Rioja, Region de San Martin, Peru MoreMap
Aug 21, 2020 23:21 GMT
4.0

33 km
403 km (250 mi)73 km northwest of Moyobamba, San Martín, Peru MoreMap
Aug 3, 2020 15:08 GMT
4.8

35 km
574 km (357 mi)80 km east of Cajamarca, Peru 1 reportMoreMap
13/05/2020 05:11:36 (May 13, 2020 10:11 GMT)
4.5

69 km
595 km (370 mi)1.7 km south of Chepén, Chepen, La Libertad, Peru MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.7 x 1014 joules (269 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2.3 x 105 tons of TNT or 14.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Hualgayoc Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hualgayoc?

The last earthquake in Hualgayoc occurred 9 weeks ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - Amazonas, 51 km southwest of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru, on Monday, Mar 21, 2022 at 12:57 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Hualgayoc since 1900?

Since 1900, Hualgayoc, Cajamarca, Peru had 170 quakes up to magnitude 6.6.

What was the strongest quake in Hualgayoc since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Hualgayoc since 1900 occurred 32 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.6 earthquake - 8.3 km northwest of Rioja, Region de San Martin, Peru, on Wednesday, May 30, 1990 at 02:34 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.