Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Madang Province, Papua New Guinea, past 30 days

Updated 3 Mar 2021 00:05 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Madang Province was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 6.3, 5 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 3 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.
Biggest quake: 6.3 quake Bismarck Sea, 114 km northeast of Volcano Island, Papua New Guinea, 7 Feb 2021 3:45 pm (GMT +10)
Most recent quake: 4.3 quake 112 km southeast of Wewak, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea, 28 February 2021 17:46 GMT
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 17:46:27 GMT
4.3

104 km
(109 km)112 km southeast of Wewak, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 9:57 pm (GMT +10) (20 Feb 2021 11:57:16 GMT)
4.6

150 km
(68 km)Bismarck Sea, 65 km east of Madang, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 3:50 am (GMT +10) (18 Feb 2021 17:50:56 GMT)
5.1

139 km
(83 km)113 km southeast of Wewak, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 12:29:38 GMT
5.1

115 km
(60 km)Solomon Sea, 115 km northeast of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 3:00 pm (GMT +10) (17 Feb 2021 05:00:37 GMT)
5.0

91 km
(90 km)75 km northeast of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea 4 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Feb 2021 18:50:59 GMT
4.7

195 km
Long Island (24 km)Bismarck Sea, 143 km north of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT +10) (8 Feb 2021 12:34:20 GMT)
5.1

64 km
(79 km)Bismarck Sea, 21 km southeast of Madang, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 3:45 pm (GMT +10) (7 Feb 2021 05:45:55 GMT)
6.3

10 km
(91 km)Bismarck Sea, 114 km northeast of Volcano Island, Papua New Guinea 6 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 2:49 am (GMT +10) (3 Feb 2021 16:49:10 GMT)
5.3

26 km
(83 km)85 km northeast of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1014 joules (54.2 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 46675 tons of TNT or 2.9 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel