Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Tsubetsu Chō, Abashiri District, Hokkaido, Japan: 2020

Updated Sep 18, 2021 06:04 GMT -
During 2020, Tsubetsu Chō was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.8 quake 49 km south of Kitami, Hokkaido, Japan, February, 19 2020 15:50 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range!:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tue, Dec 29, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Dec 29, 2020 3:27 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 29, 2020 06:27:33 GMT)
2.6

164 km
14 km (8.7 mi)Ashoro-gun, 52 km south of Kitami, Ktiami Shi, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sun, Dec 27, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Dec 28, 2020 3:46 am (GMT +9) (Dec 27, 2020 18:46:40 GMT)
2.9

89 km
46 km (29 mi)45 km west of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Tue, Dec 22, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Dec 22, 2020 9:24 am (GMT +9) (Dec 22, 2020 00:24:37 GMT)
3.3

149 km
47 km (29 mi)Nakagawa-gun, 38 km northeast of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Thu, Dec 17, 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Dec 18, 2020 5:41 am (GMT +9) (Dec 17, 2020 20:41:41 GMT)
3.0

94 km
42 km (26 mi)Akan-gun, 18 km north of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Dec 18, 2020 12:37 am (GMT +9) (Dec 17, 2020 15:37:26 GMT)
2.6

136 km
24 km (15 mi)Akan-gun, 35 km north of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sun, Dec 13, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Dec 13, 2020 11:16 am (GMT +9) (Dec 13, 2020 02:16:00 GMT)
2.6

146 km
13 km (8.1 mi)Shiranuka-gun, 46 km northwest of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sat, Dec 5, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Dec 5, 2020 2:59 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2020 05:59:39 GMT)
4.2

117 km
27 km (17 mi)Nakagawa-gun, 51 km northeast of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sun, Sep 6, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Sep 6, 2020 05:50:45 GMT
4.3

146 km
7 km (4.3 mi)68 km north of Kushiro, Japan MoreMap
Thu, May 28, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
May 28, 2020 23:42:49 GMT
4.5

100 km
25 km (16 mi)23 km north of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Mon, Mar 2, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Mar 2, 2020 22:43:19 GMT
4.5

10 km
13 km (8.1 mi)47 km northwest of Kushiro, Japan MoreMap
Wed, Feb 19, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Feb 19, 2020 15:50:36 GMT
4.8

40 km
9 km (5.6 mi)49 km south of Kitami, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sat, Jan 18, 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Jan 18, 2020 04:32:30 GMT
3.5

80 km
43 km (27 mi)Shiranuka-gun, 23 km west of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1012 joules (565 megawatt hours, equivalent to 486 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.