Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2022 13:51 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Machalilla, Puerto López, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador: 2020 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 27, 2022 13:51 GMT -
During 2020, Machalilla was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 21 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake 7.6 km southwest of Jipijapa, Manabí, Ecuador, 2020-03-06 15:43:29
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 28, 2020 06:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 28, 2020 1:06 am (GMT -5) (Dec 28, 2020 06:06 GMT)
3.6

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 37 km north of La Libertad, Provincia del Guayas, Ecuador MoreMap
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 01:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 21, 2020 8:13 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 22, 2020 01:13 GMT)
3.3

4 km
Canton Montecristi, 14 km northwest of Portoviejo, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador 1 reportMoreMap
Monday, December 21, 2020 23:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 21, 2020 6:50 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 21, 2020 23:50 GMT)
3.6

7 km
South Pacific Ocean, 11 km northeast of Manta, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador MoreMap
Saturday, November 28, 2020 19:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 28, 2020 2:02 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 28, 2020 19:02 GMT)
3.5

3 km
Santa Elena, 3.3 km south of Las Balsas, Provincia del Guayas, Ecuador MoreMap
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 23:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 18, 2020 6:01 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 18, 2020 23:01 GMT)
3.5

13 km
50 km northwest of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador MoreMap
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 07:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 4, 2020 2:46 am (GMT -5) (Nov 4, 2020 07:46 GMT)
4.1

1 km
133 km northwest of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador 13 reportsMoreMap
Thursday, October 15, 2020 19:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-10-15 14:49:57 (Oct 15, 2020 19:49 GMT)
4.0

7 km
13 km east of Manta, Manabí, Ecuador 2 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, September 29, 2020 13:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-09-29 08:19:24 (Sep 29, 2020 13:19 GMT)
3.8

1 km
143 km northwest of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, September 12, 2020 18:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-09-12 13:13:42 (Sep 12, 2020 18:13 GMT)
3.5

8 km
65 km northwest of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador MoreMap
Monday, August 24, 2020 05:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-08-24 00:19:22 (Aug 24, 2020 05:19 GMT)
4.1

4 km
145 km west of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador 4 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 22:25 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-07-21 17:25:11 (Jul 21, 2020 22:25 GMT)
4.3

9 km
81 km northwest of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador 7 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, July 19, 2020 06:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-07-19 01:11:01 (Jul 19, 2020 06:11 GMT)
3.5

1 km
84 km northwest of Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, July 8, 2020 10:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-07-08 05:33:32 (Jul 8, 2020 10:33 GMT)
3.5

17 km
30 km southwest of Portoviejo, Manabí, Ecuador MoreMap
Friday, June 26, 2020 12:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-06-26 07:32:11 (Jun 26, 2020 12:32 GMT)
3.2

37 km
6.6 km east of Jipijapa, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador MoreMap
Thursday, June 4, 2020 23:07 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-06-04 18:07:37 (Jun 4, 2020 23:07 GMT)
3.6

23 km
20 km southwest of Jipijapa, Manabí, Ecuador MoreMap
Friday, May 15, 2020 22:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-05-15 17:42:04 (May 15, 2020 22:42 GMT)
3.7

9 km
19 km northwest of Portoviejo, Manabí, Ecuador 4 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1012 joules (302 megawatt hours, equivalent to 260 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.