Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 1.7 earthquake 10.1 mi east of Cullowhee, North Carolina, USA -
Strongest since 2023Mag. 3.8 Henderson County, North Carolina, USA - Jan 27, 2023 -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 19:14 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Haywood, find out which quakes are happening right now!
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Haywood in the past 24 hours.
Since 2023, Haywood has had 28 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.8:
  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 24 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Strongest: Mag. 3.8 Earthquake Henderson County, 20 mi S of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA -

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (31 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 28, 11:49 am (New York)
Feb 28, 16:49 GMT
1.7

4.8 km
4 km (2.5 mi) to the S 10.1 mi east of Cullowhee, Jackson County, North Carolina, USA 1 reportInfo
Sunday, February 18, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 18, 06:36 am (New York)
Feb 18, 11:36 GMT

1.8

0.4 km
18 km (11 mi) to the SE 4.6 mi east of Brevard, Condado de Transilvania County, North Carolina, USA Info
Saturday, November 4, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Nov 4, 2023 08:27 am (New York)
Nov 4, 2023 12:27 GMT

2.5

13 km
34 km (21 mi) to the W 4.6 mi west of Bryson City, Swain County, North Carolina, USA Info
Nov 4, 2023 08:27 am (New York)
Nov 4, 2023 12:27 GMT

2.5

13 km
34 km (21 mi) to the W 4.6 mi west of Bryson City, Swain County, North Carolina, USA Info
Monday, October 2, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 2, 2023 03:23 am (New York)
Oct 2, 2023 07:23 GMT

2.4

1.9 km
32 km (20 mi) to the W 15 mi south of Sevierville, Sevier County, Tennessee, USA 1 reportInfo
Oct 2, 2023 03:23 am (New York)
Oct 2, 2023 07:23 GMT

2.4

1.9 km
32 km (20 mi) to the W 15 mi south of Sevierville, Sevier County, Tennessee, USA 1 reportInfo
Sunday, October 1, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 1, 2023 01:52 pm (New York)
Oct 1, 2023 17:52 GMT

2.0

0.1 km
43 km (27 mi) to the W Condado de Graham County, 10.2 mi west of Bryson City, Swain County, North Carolina, USA Info
Oct 1, 2023 01:52 pm (New York)
Oct 1, 2023 17:52 GMT

2.0

0.1 km
43 km (27 mi) to the W Condado de Graham County, 10.2 mi west of Bryson City, Swain County, North Carolina, USA Info
Friday, July 7, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jul 7, 2023 06:48 pm (New York)
Jul 7, 2023 22:48 GMT

2.2

4.8 km
9 km (5.6 mi) to the W 18 mi southeast of Sevierville, Sevier County, Tennessee, USA Info
Jul 7, 2023 06:48 pm (New York)
Jul 7, 2023 22:48 GMT

2.2

4.8 km
9 km (5.6 mi) to the W 18 mi southeast of Sevierville, Sevier County, Tennessee, USA Info
Friday, June 16, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jun 16, 2023 12:52 am (New York)
Jun 16, 2023 04:52 GMT

2.1

0.2 km
Haywood County, 17 mi west of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.5 x 1010 joules (12.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 10.7 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Haywood Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tuckaleechee Caverns, TN, USA (TKL/IM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tuckaleechee Caverns, TN, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 94 quakes on average per year in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA:
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 0.2 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 5 years)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 7.3 quakes per year
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 9.4 quakes per year
Haywood has very few earthquakes and most of them are very small (below magnitude 3). Larger quakes with magnitudes above 3 might occur from time to time. No earthquakes of magnitude 5 or higher are known to have occurred in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA over the past 54 years. This does not mean that they cannot occur, but if any suggests that quakes of this strength are extremely rare.

Number of recent quakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA, by magnitude

365 days
3 years
10 years
Mag
 
Number of quakes (19 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (5.26%)
2+
16 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (84.21%)
below M2
2 quakes
(10.53%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (42 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.38%)
2+
35 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (83.33%)
below M2
6 quakes
(14.29%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (95 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.05%)
2+
72 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (75.79%)
below M2
22 quakes
(23.16%)

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Haywood Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA?

Haywood has very few earthquakes and most of them are very small (below magnitude 3). Larger quakes with magnitudes above 3 might occur from time to time. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 94 quakes on average per year in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA. No earthquakes of magnitude 5 or higher are known to have occurred in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA over the past 54 years. This does not mean that they cannot occur, but if any suggests that quakes of this strength are extremely rare.

When was the latest earthquake in Haywood?

The last earthquake in Haywood occurred 3 days ago and had a magnitude of 1.7:

A light magnitude 1.7 earthquake hit 16.3 km (10 mi) away from Cullowhee, North Carolina,  United States, in the morning of Wednesday, Feb 28, 2024 at 11.49 am local time (America/New York GMT -5). The quake had a very shallow depth of 4.8 km (3 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Haywood since 2023?

Since 2023, Haywood has had 1 quake of magnitude 3.8 and 24 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Haywood since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in Haywood since 2023 had a magnitude of 3.8 and occurred 1 year 5 weeks ago:

Mag. 3.8 earthquake Henderson County, North Carolina, USA - Jan 27, 2023 -

A moderate magnitude 3.8 earthquake hit 32 km (20 mi) away from Victoria, North Carolina,  United States, around noon of Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 1.13 pm local time (America/New York GMT -5). The quake had a very shallow depth of 20 km (12 mi) and was felt by many near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 3.2 earthquake Haywood County, North Carolina, USA - Jun 4, 2023 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 3.2 earthquake that hit North Carolina,  USA, 39 weeks ago on Sunday, Jun 4, 2023, at 06:09 am local time (America/New York GMT -4).

Strongest since 1900

108 years ago, North Carolina,  USA, was hit by a magnitude 5.2 quake on Monday, Feb 21, 1916, at 07:39 pm local time (America/New York GMT -4). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Nov 4, 2023 12:27 GMT
Nov 4, 2023 08:27 am (New York)
2.5

13 km
34 km (21 mi) to the W 4.6 mi west of Bryson City, Swain County, North Carolina, USA Info
Jun 6, 2023 04:08 GMT
Jun 6, 2023 12:08 am (New York)
2.5

0.1 km
Haywood County, 18 mi west of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA 5 reportsInfo
Jun 4, 2023 10:09 GMT
Jun 4, 2023 06:09 am (New York)
3.2

2.9 km
Haywood County, 18 mi west of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA 149 reportsInfo
May 23, 2023 23:28 GMT
May 23, 2023 07:28 pm (New York)
2.6

1.1 km
Haywood County, 19 mi west of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA 30 reportsInfo
Dec 8, 2022 03:23 GMT
Dec 7, 2022 11:23 pm (New York)
2.7

1.5 km
26 km (16 mi) to the SE 2 mi southwest of Hendersonville, Henderson County, North Carolina, USA 669 reportsInfo
Sep 25, 2021 08:29 GMT
Sep 25, 2021 04:29 am (New York)
2.5

5.9 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the NE Madison County, 19 mi northwest of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA 1 reportInfo
Sep 12, 2019 03:03 GMT
2019-09-11 22:03:15 -05:00
2.5

4.3 km
18 km (11 mi) to the SW 11 mi northwest of Cullowhee, Jackson County, North Carolina, USA 3 reportsInfo
Mar 26, 2019 16:30 GMT
Mar 26, 2019 12:30 pm (New York)
2.6

0.8 km
26 km (16 mi) to the SW 7.8 mi west of Cullowhee, Jackson County, North Carolina, USA 14 reportsInfo
Dec 13, 2016 11:37 GMT
Dec 13, 2016 07:37 am (New York)
2.6

6 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the NE Madison County, 18 mi northwest of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA 6 reportsInfo
Mar 14, 2015 04:51 GMT
Mar 14, 2015 12:51 am (New York)
2.7

5 km
11 km (6.8 mi) to the W 12 mi northwest of Cullowhee, Jackson County, North Carolina, USA Info
Nov 24, 2012 11:03 GMT
Nov 24, 2012 07:03 am (New York)
3.0

7.1 km
32 km (20 mi) to the NW 4.9 mi northeast of Sevierville, Sevier County, Tennessee, USA 3 reportsInfo
Dec 18, 2008 00:05 GMT
Dec 17, 2008 08:05 pm (New York)
3.3

9.5 km
48 km (30 mi) to the NW 7.5 mi southwest of Jefferson City, Jefferson County, Tennessee, USA Info
Jun 16, 2006 00:57 GMT
Jun 15, 2006 08:57 pm (New York)
3.4

1.4 km
2 km (1.2 mi) to the W Jackson County, 12 mi west of Waynesville, Haywood County, North Carolina, USA Info
Aug 25, 2005 03:09 GMT
Aug 24, 2005 11:09 pm (New York)
3.7

7.9 km
18 km (11 mi) to the NE Madison County, 24 mi northwest of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info
Jul 26, 2001 05:26 GMT
Jul 26, 2001 01:26 am (New York)
3.2

17 km
41 km (25 mi) to the NW Jefferson County, 21 mi east of Knoxville, Knox County, Tennessee, USA Info
Mar 25, 1983 02:47 GMT
Mar 24, 1983 10:47 pm (New York)
3.2

9.3 km
27 km (17 mi) to the SE 18 mi south of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info
May 5, 1981 21:21 GMT
May 5, 1981 05:21 pm (New York)
3.5

13 km
30 km (19 mi) to the SE 20 mi south of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info
Jun 10, 1980 23:47 GMT
Jun 10, 1980 07:47 pm (New York)
3.0

5 km
Haywood County, 21 mi southwest of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info
Aug 26, 1979 01:31 GMT
Aug 25, 1979 09:31 pm (New York)
3.7

2 km
40 km (25 mi) to the S Oconee County, 19 mi northwest of Clemson, Pickens County, South Carolina, USA Info
Nov 25, 1975 15:17 GMT
Nov 25, 1975 11:17 am (New York)
3.2

5 km
47 km (29 mi) to the S Oconee County, 15 mi northwest of Clemson, Pickens County, South Carolina, USA Info
Jul 2, 1957 09:33 GMT
Jul 2, 1957 05:33 am (New York)
3.7

7 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the E 8.2 mi west of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info
Nov 3, 1928 04:02 GMT
Nov 3, 1928 12:02 am (New York)
4.5

5 km
38 km (24 mi) to the N 3.5 mi south of Greeneville, Greene County, Tennessee, USA Info
Feb 21, 1916 23:39 GMT
Feb 21, 1916 07:39 pm (New York)
5.2

0 km
23 km (14 mi) to the E 7.6 mi southeast of Victoria, Buncombe County, North Carolina, USA Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Haywood, North Carolina, USA

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings