Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Teteven, Lovech, Bulgaria, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated never
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 1 quake between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 54 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 352 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Since 1900, Teteven has had 2 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 6.6, 6 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 54 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 352 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 25 km S of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.1 | 2.2 km E of Brezovo, Plovdiv, Bulgaria -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Teteven, Lovech, Bulgaria | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 3 or higher (415 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 7, 2022 12:38 pm (GMT +3) (May 7, 2022 09:38 GMT)
3.1

2.4 km
431 km (268 mi)25 km south of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 26, 2022 2:22 am (GMT +3) (Apr 25, 2022 23:22 GMT)
3.0

1.7 km
429 km (267 mi)27 km south of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 25, 2022 7:55 pm (GMT +3) (Apr 25, 2022 16:55 GMT)
4.2

10 km
456 km (283 mi)8.2 km west of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 25, 2022 6:31 pm (GMT +2) (Apr 25, 2022 16:31 GMT)
4.0

8.2 km
446 km (277 mi)10.2 km southwest of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria 1 reportMoreMap
Feb 13, 2022 1:20 am (GMT +2) (Feb 12, 2022 23:20 GMT)
3.3

10 km
591 km (367 mi)Lovech, 44 km southwest of Pleven, Bulgaria 4 reportsMoreMap
Jan 25, 2022 4:25 am (GMT +2) (Jan 25, 2022 02:25 GMT)
3.6

12 km
411 km (255 mi)Blagoevgrad, 139 km southeast of Sofia, Bulgaria 4 reportsMoreMap
Jan 16, 2022 3:42 am (GMT +2) (Jan 16, 2022 01:42 GMT)
3.1

2 km
519 km (322 mi)Pernik, 29 km southwest of Sofia, Bulgaria 58 reportsMoreMap
Nov 25, 2021 12:13 pm (GMT +2) (Nov 25, 2021 10:13 GMT)
3.6

15 km
496 km (308 mi)37 km southeast of Sofia, Bulgaria 20 reportsMoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 3:40 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2021 00:40 GMT)
3.7

10 km
433 km (269 mi)Blagoevgrad, 28 km south of Velingrad, Pazardzhik, Bulgaria 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 1, 2021 1:32 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 1, 2021 10:32 GMT)
3.3

10 km
576 km (358 mi)Ruse, 39 km northeast of Gorna Oryahovitsa, Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria MoreMap
Jul 13, 2021 02:40 GMT
3.0

10 km
432 km (268 mi)10.2 km southeast of Vinica, North Macedonia 1 reportMoreMap
Jun 13, 2021 11:24 GMT
3.1

10 km
494 km (307 mi)Kyustendil, 39 km southwest of Sofia, Bulgaria MoreMap
May 25, 2021 21:31 GMT
3.1

10 km
454 km (282 mi)17 km north of Haskovo, Bulgaria 3 reportsMoreMap
May 17, 2021 01:17 GMT
3.2

7.9 km
448 km (278 mi)15 km west of Haskovo, Bulgaria 3 reportsMoreMap
May 14, 2021 11:28 GMT
3.0

11 km
443 km (275 mi)10.8 km south of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria MoreMap
Mar 1, 2021 12:47 am (GMT +2) (Feb 28, 2021 22:47 GMT)
3.0

2 km
440 km (273 mi)19 km southeast of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.2 x 1015 joules (1724 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.5 x 106 tons of TNT or 92.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Teteven Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Teteven?

The last earthquake in Teteven occurred 3 weeks ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - 25 km south of Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria, on Saturday, May 7, 2022 at 12:38 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Teteven since 1900?

Since 1900, Teteven, Lovech, Bulgaria had 415 quakes up to magnitude 7.1.

What was the strongest quake in Teteven since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Teteven since 1900 occurred 94 years ago: Major magnitude 7.1 earthquake - 2.2 km east of Brezovo, Plovdiv, Bulgaria, on Wednesday, April 18, 1928 at 19:22 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.