Latest quakes in or near Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, August 10, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 10, 2022 10:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Departamento de Usulutan had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 5.3 km E of San Salvador, El Salvador -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.4 | 24 km W of Usulutan, El Salvador -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:40 quakes | 24 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:325 quakes | 194 quakes M2+ | 78 quakes M3+ | 13 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:823 quakes | 505 quakes M2+ | 205 quakes M3+ | 28 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:2,219 quakes | 1,184 quakes M2+ | 785 quakes M3+ | 114 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 10, 2022 3:37 am (GMT -6) (Aug 10, 2022 09:37 GMT)
1.6

6 km
5.3 km east of San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 9:01 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 10, 2022 03:01 GMT)
2.7

35 km
North Pacific Ocean, 72 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 5:21 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2022 23:21 GMT)
3.2

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 100 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 4:00 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2022 22:00 GMT)
3.2

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 4:00 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2022 22:00 GMT)
2.9

36 km
North Pacific Ocean, 72 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:33 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2022 20:33 GMT)
2.8

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km south of San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:11 am (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2022 16:11 GMT)
2.4

8 km
Departamento de Cuscatlan, 18 km east of San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:11 am (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2022 16:11 GMT)
3.4

5 km
24 km west of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 1010 joules (5.36 megawatt hours, equivalent to 4.61 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Departamento de Usulutan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Departamento de Usulutan?

The last earthquake in Departamento de Usulutan occurred 43 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 5.3 km east of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022 at 3:37 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Departamento de Usulutan today?

In the past 24 hours, Departamento de Usulutan, El Salvador had 8 quakes up to magnitude 3.4.

What was the strongest quake in Departamento de Usulutan today?

The strongest earthquake in Departamento de Usulutan today occurred 18 hours ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - 24 km west of Usulutan, El Salvador, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 10:11 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings