Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Nelson, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 15 Apr 2021 03:06 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Nelson was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 33 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 32 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.6 quake Tasman Sea, 78 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, 24 Mar 2021 11:59 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.4 quake Marlborough District, 22 km east of Nelson, New Zealand, 14 April 2021 13:18 GMT
Most recent quake: 2.0 quake 14 km southwest of Takaka, Tasman District, New Zealand, 15 April 2021 02:21 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (68 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 15 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Apr 2021 02:21:09 GMT
2.0

5 km
(216 km)14 km southwest of Takaka, Tasman District, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Apr 2021 15:25:28 GMT
1.8

75 km
(155 km)Tasman Sea, 92 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 13:18:03 GMT
2.4

51 km
(230 km)Marlborough District, 22 km east of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 05:10:48 GMT
1.4

10.9 km
(272 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 13 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Apr 2021 08:55:59 GMT
2.0

38 km
(190 km)Tasman Sea, 66 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 12 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
12 Apr 2021 15:32:03 GMT
2.0

108 km
(153 km)Tasman Sea, 76 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Apr 2021 12:36:49 GMT
2.3

6.3 km
(275 km)29 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Apr 2021 04:40:02 GMT
2.4

103 km
(251 km)Tasman District, 60 km west of Nelson, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
11 Apr 2021 21:46:53 GMT
2.0

47 km
(182 km)Tasman Sea, 76 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Apr 2021 05:18:51 GMT
1.7

76 km
(213 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Apr 2021 01:50:15 GMT
1.9

64 km
(213 km)Tasman Sea, 18 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Apr 2021 00:44:07 GMT
1.2

9.8 km
(281 km)Marlborough District, 87 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
10 Apr 2021 21:32:39 GMT
2.2

124 km
(231 km)Tasman District, 37 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
10 Apr 2021 20:02:21 GMT
2.0

76 km
(273 km)Tasman District, 63 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Apr 2021 22:07:44 GMT
2.0

87 km
(248 km)Tasman District, 29 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 3:18 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 03:18:27 GMT)
2.3

194 km
(200 km)Tasman Sea, 63 km northwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Apr 2021 5:36 am (GMT +12) (8 Apr 2021 17:36:32 GMT)
2.6

87 km
(213 km)Tasman Sea, 17 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 4:27 am (GMT +12) (8 Apr 2021 16:27:29 GMT)
1.5

66 km
(211 km)Marlborough District, 94 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 12:35 am (GMT +12) (8 Apr 2021 12:35:52 GMT)
1.7

14 km
(271 km)Marlborough District, 70 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
8 Apr 2021 9:42 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 21:42:45 GMT)
2.1

82 km
(243 km)Tasman District, 37 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Apr 2021 2:22 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 14:22:24 GMT)
1.4

9.5 km
(264 km)New Zealand MoreMap
8 Apr 2021 12:14 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 12:14:13 GMT)
1.7

7.8 km
(267 km)25 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, Neuseeland MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Apr 2021 1:37 am (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 13:37:10 GMT)
1.8

12 km
(258 km)Tasman Sea, 25 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, Neuseeland MoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Apr 2021 8:22 am (GMT +12) (5 Apr 2021 20:22:04 GMT)
2.0

137 km
(229 km)Tasman District, 40 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
4 Apr 2021 6:24 am (GMT +12) (3 Apr 2021 18:24:05 GMT)
1.2

11 km
(267 km)New Zealand MoreMap
4 Apr 2021 3:28 am (GMT +12) (3 Apr 2021 15:28:55 GMT)
1.9

95 km
(239 km)Tasman District, 18 km west of Nelson, Neuseeland MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 10:15 pm (GMT +13) (3 Apr 2021 09:15:28 GMT)
1.5

54 km
(251 km)Tasman District, 23 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 2:34 pm (GMT +13) (3 Apr 2021 01:34:20 GMT)
1.5

5 km
(264 km)Tasman Sea, 65 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Apr 2021 12:18 pm (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 23:18:54 GMT)
2.1

61 km
(286 km)68 km southwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Apr 2021 5:40 am (GMT +13) (1 Apr 2021 16:40:10 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(290 km)Tasman District, 70 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Apr 2021 2:14 am (GMT +13) (1 Apr 2021 13:14:16 GMT)
1.4

59 km
(290 km)Tasman District, 73 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 1:47 pm (GMT +13) (1 Apr 2021 00:47:44 GMT)
2.6

16 km
(271 km)31 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 8:40 am (GMT +13) (31 Mar 2021 19:40:53 GMT)
2.2

68 km
(242 km)15 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 6:22 am (GMT +13) (31 Mar 2021 17:22:45 GMT)
1.8

37 km
(206 km)Marlborough District, 74 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 2:41 am (GMT +13) (30 Mar 2021 13:41:44 GMT)
2.0

54 km
(177 km)Tasman Sea, 84 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 12:38 am (GMT +13) (30 Mar 2021 11:38:24 GMT)
1.0

12 km
(265 km)New Zealand MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 5:43 pm (GMT +13) (30 Mar 2021 04:43:46 GMT)
1.2

14 km
(269 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
30 Mar 2021 6:12 am (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 17:12:43 GMT)
2.0

42 km
(257 km)47 km west of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 8:46 pm (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 07:46:00 GMT)
2.2

27 km
(239 km)Tasman Sea, 11 km northeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
29 Mar 2021 9:47 am (GMT +13) (28 Mar 2021 20:47:45 GMT)
2.2

12 km
(265 km)23 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 12:43 am (GMT +13) (28 Mar 2021 11:43:29 GMT)
2.9

57 km
(301 km)Tasman District, 75 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
28 Mar 2021 6:14 pm (GMT +13) (28 Mar 2021 05:14:25 GMT)
1.3

117 km
(243 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Mar 2021 2:26 am (GMT +13) (26 Mar 2021 13:26:35 GMT)
1.6

116 km
(242 km)Tasman District, 55 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 25 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
25 Mar 2021 11:46 pm (GMT +13) (25 Mar 2021 10:46:25 GMT)
1.2

106 km
(188 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Mar 2021 5:38 pm (GMT +13) (25 Mar 2021 04:38:38 GMT)
2.0

55 km
(233 km)Marlborough District, 1 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
25 Mar 2021 7:13 am (GMT +13) (24 Mar 2021 18:13:35 GMT)
3.0

60 km
(286 km)67 km southwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Mar 2021 2:07 am (GMT +13) (24 Mar 2021 13:07:22 GMT)
1.8

102 km
(251 km)Tasman District, 47 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 11:59 pm (GMT +13) (24 Mar 2021 10:59:31 GMT)
3.6

52 km
(182 km)Tasman Sea, 78 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
24 Mar 2021 8:44 am (GMT +13) (23 Mar 2021 19:44:36 GMT)
2.3

66 km
(165 km)Tasman Sea, 77 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 7:10 am (GMT +13) (23 Mar 2021 18:10:56 GMT)
1.7

52 km
(282 km)Tasman District, 53 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 4:54 am (GMT +13) (23 Mar 2021 15:54:21 GMT)
2.1

56 km
(278 km)Tasman District, 50 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Mar 2021 6:27 pm (GMT +13) (23 Mar 2021 05:27:02 GMT)
2.2

113 km
(156 km)Tasman Sea, 75 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Mar 2021 11:47 pm (GMT +13) (22 Mar 2021 10:47:43 GMT)
1.7

181 km
(246 km)Tasman District, 59 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
22 Mar 2021 5:01 am (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 16:01:05 GMT)
1.7

61 km
(180 km)Tasman Sea, 88 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
22 Mar 2021 12:52 am (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 11:52:42 GMT)
3.3

56 km
(302 km)Tasman District, 75 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 4:20 pm (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 03:20:34 GMT)
2.4

145 km
(244 km)Tasman District, 53 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
21 Mar 2021 9:23 am (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 20:23:03 GMT)
2.6

65 km
(250 km)Tasman District, 22 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 2:56 am (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 13:56:37 GMT)
1.1

144 km
(247 km)New Zealand MoreMap
21 Mar 2021 2:28 am (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 13:28:14 GMT)
2.4

13 km
(277 km)37 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Mar 2021 4:48 am (GMT +13) (19 Mar 2021 15:48:20 GMT)
2.1

42 km
(229 km)32 km northwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Mar 2021 5:37 pm (GMT +13) (19 Mar 2021 04:37:54 GMT)
1.5

45 km
(241 km)Marlborough District, 23 km southeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Mar 2021 2:50 pm (GMT +13) (19 Mar 2021 01:50:19 GMT)
1.9

125 km
(221 km)Tasman Sea, 23 km northwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Mar 2021 9:40 pm (GMT +13) (18 Mar 2021 08:40:00 GMT)
1.0

9.9 km
(278 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Mar 2021 7:22 am (GMT +13) (17 Mar 2021 18:22:59 GMT)
1.4

10.7 km
(268 km)New Zealand MoreMap
17 Mar 2021 8:40 pm (GMT +13) (17 Mar 2021 07:40:23 GMT)
1.9

37 km
(268 km)Marlborough District, 41 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Mar 2021 11:46 am (GMT +13) (16 Mar 2021 22:46:48 GMT)
2.9

75 km
(205 km)Tasman Sea, 25 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Mar 2021 9:00 am (GMT +13) (16 Mar 2021 20:00:31 GMT)
1.7

12 km
(276 km)Marlborough District, 75 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Mar 2021 1:02 am (GMT +13) (16 Mar 2021 12:02:13 GMT)
2.0

57 km
(190 km)Marlborough District, 85 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 1010 joules (8.88 megawatt hours, equivalent to 7.64 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel