Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 9 Mar 2021 04:55 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Nelson City was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 6 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 34 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 43 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.3 quake 24 km northwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand, 5 Mar 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.7 quake 33 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand, 9 Mar 2021 8:43 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.7 or higher (69 out of 85 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 8 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
9 Mar 2021 8:43 am (GMT +13) (8 Mar 2021 19:43:52 GMT)
2.7

15 km
(276 km)33 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Mar 2021 7:32 am (GMT +13) (8 Mar 2021 18:32:41 GMT)
2.2

65 km
(232 km)Marlborough District, 15 km southeast of Nelson, Nouvelle-Zélande MoreMap
8 Mar 2021 10:44 pm (GMT +13) (8 Mar 2021 09:44:30 GMT)
1.7

9.3 km
(262 km)New Zealand MoreMap
8 Mar 2021 8:01 pm (GMT +13) (8 Mar 2021 07:01:53 GMT)
2.1

14 km
(277 km)36 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Mar 2021 3:44 am (GMT +13) (6 Mar 2021 14:44:45 GMT)
3.9

58 km
(272 km)43 km southwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 5:39 pm (GMT +13) (6 Mar 2021 04:39:15 GMT)
2.9

86 km
(153 km)Tasman Sea, 83 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 10:00 pm (GMT +13) (5 Mar 2021 09:00:10 GMT)
2.2

112 km
(246 km)Tasman District, 58 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +13) (5 Mar 2021 01:01:28 GMT)
4.3

89 km
(226 km)24 km northwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 9:28 am (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 20:28:29 GMT)
4.2

57 km
(248 km)Marlborough District, 22 km south of Nelson, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 7:10 am (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 18:10:57 GMT)
3.1

51 km
(244 km)Marlborough District, 30 km southeast of Nelson, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 12:31 am (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 11:31:22 GMT)
2.4

34 km
(244 km)25 km west of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 10:32 pm (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 09:32:41 GMT)
1.8

63 km
(256 km)New Zealand MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 9:03 pm (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 08:03:35 GMT)
2.0

32 km
(198 km)Marlborough District, 57 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
4 Mar 2021 7:26 pm (GMT +13) (4 Mar 2021 06:26:45 GMT)
2.1

10.6 km
(266 km)Tasman Sea, 28 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 4:21 pm (GMT +13) (3 Mar 2021 03:21:06 GMT)
1.9

117 km
(214 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 11:08 pm (GMT +13) (2 Mar 2021 10:08:46 GMT)
2.3

74 km
(221 km)8.5 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 6:50 pm (GMT +13) (2 Mar 2021 05:50:37 GMT)
3.5

115 km
(154 km)Tasman Sea, 71 km north of Nelson, Nuova Zelanda
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 12:05 pm (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 23:05:42 GMT)
2.8

38 km
(238 km)30 km west of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 5:40 pm (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 04:40:26 GMT)
1.8

59 km
(288 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 4:49 pm (GMT +13) (28 Feb 2021 03:49:41 GMT)
1.8

32 km
(230 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 10:27 am (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 21:27:52 GMT)
2.1

43 km
(149 km)Tasman Sea, 85 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 2:50 am (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 13:50:25 GMT)
2.7

89 km
(220 km)Tasman Sea, 10.8 km north of Nelson, Nuova Zelanda MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 1:35 am (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 12:35:09 GMT)
2.3

51 km
(255 km)Tasman District, 26 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 7:39 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 18:39:52 GMT)
2.1

5 km
(266 km)Tasman Sea, 32 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 5:38 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 16:38:34 GMT)
1.9

35 km
(251 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 5:05 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 16:05:23 GMT)
1.9

4.6 km
(272 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 4:36 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 15:36:04 GMT)
1.8

4.6 km
(271 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:21 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 11:21:06 GMT)
1.7

3.2 km
(272 km)34 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:08 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 11:08:37 GMT)
2.1

5.7 km
(271 km)32 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 12:00 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 11:00:46 GMT)
2.4

5.2 km
(270 km)31 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 9:40 pm (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 08:40:06 GMT)
2.0

6 km
(275 km)35 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 1:50 am (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 12:50:48 GMT)
2.2

9.8 km
(271 km)27 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 12:48 am (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 11:48:21 GMT)
2.4

107 km
(192 km)Tasman Sea, 39 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 02:27:08 GMT)
1.9

54 km
(273 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 3:44 am (GMT +13) (21 Feb 2021 14:44:24 GMT)
2.1

81 km
(248 km)Tasman District, 35 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +13) (21 Feb 2021 10:21:52 GMT)
3.5

66 km
(247 km)Marlborough District, 21 km south of Nelson, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 6:52 am (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 17:52:27 GMT)
2.4

94 km
(245 km)Tasman District, 45 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 00:56:02 GMT)
1.8

64 km
(186 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 7:27 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 18:27:06 GMT)
1.9

88 km
(206 km)New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 12:38 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 11:38:24 GMT)
1.8

29 km
(252 km)New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 9:01 pm (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 08:01:00 GMT)
1.9

45 km
(206 km)Marlborough District, 85 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 3:13 pm (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 02:13:48 GMT)
2.2

70 km
(187 km)Tasman Sea, 44 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 12:31 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 23:31:07 GMT)
1.9

37 km
(214 km)New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 6:44 am (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 17:44:53 GMT)
2.0

35 km
(205 km)Marlborough District, 66 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 5:02 am (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 16:02:08 GMT)
1.7

119 km
(227 km)New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 10:20 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 09:20:37 GMT)
2.1

33 km
(193 km)Tasman Sea, 57 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 4:36 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 15:36:36 GMT)
2.2

66 km
(243 km)16 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 4:07 am (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 15:07:26 GMT)
3.1

110 km
(244 km)Tasman District, 59 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 9:11 pm (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 08:11:29 GMT)
1.8

45 km
(229 km)25 km northwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 2:22 pm (GMT +13) (15 Feb 2021 01:22:04 GMT)
1.8

42 km
(236 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 10:44 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 21:44:55 GMT)
2.5

15 km
(277 km)36 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:15 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 21:15:10 GMT)
1.9

37 km
(200 km)New Zealand MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:01 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 21:01:42 GMT)
2.2

34 km
(209 km)Marlborough District, 38 km east of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 6:52 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 17:52:04 GMT)
2.1

16 km
(267 km)24 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 3:36 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 14:36:48 GMT)
2.1

39 km
(196 km)Tasman Sea, 75 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 6:03 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 05:03:09 GMT)
1.9

8.5 km
(266 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 5:35 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 16:35:24 GMT)
1.9

77 km
(160 km)New Zealand MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 8:06 pm (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 07:06:30 GMT)
1.8

111 km
(244 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 3:52 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 14:52:09 GMT)
2.9

73 km
(236 km)13 km southeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:09 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 12:09:02 GMT)
2.4

94 km
(250 km)Tasman District, 40 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 8:48 pm (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 07:48:48 GMT)
2.5

38 km
(170 km)Tasman Sea, 71 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 10:42 pm (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 09:42:18 GMT)
2.3

26 km
(248 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 6:55 pm (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 05:55:43 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(270 km)Tasman Sea, 31 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 8:00 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 07:00:29 GMT)
2.6

92 km
(225 km)Tasman Sea, 8.1 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 12:32 am (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 11:32:11 GMT)
3.0

29 km
(246 km)Tasman Sea, 13 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 11:08 pm (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 10:08:23 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(272 km)New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 6:14 pm (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 05:14:11 GMT)
1.8

112 km
(244 km)Tasman District, 58 km west of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 6:33 am (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 17:33:49 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(264 km)Marlborough District, 34 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 6:45 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 05:45:59 GMT)
1.8

55 km
(169 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.9 x 1011 joules (108 megawatt hours, equivalent to 93.1 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.