Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 10:21 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Hokkaido, Japan: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 10:21 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Hokkaido was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 18 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.9 quake North Pacific Ocean, 71 km east of Mutsu, Aomori, Japan, Dec 6, 2021 11:33 pm (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 3.1 quake Sea of Okhotsk, 7.1 km southeast of Shibetsu, Hokkaido, Japan, Dec 7, 2021 5:59 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (37 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 08:59 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 7, 2021 5:59 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 7, 2021 08:59 GMT)
3.1

157 km
Sea of Okhotsk, 7.1 km southeast of Shibetsu, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 14:33 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 11:33 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 14:33 GMT)
4.9

57 km
North Pacific Ocean, 71 km east of Mutsu, Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 11:24 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 14:24 GMT)
2.6

78 km
Kasai-gun, 36 km southwest of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 9:31 pm (GMT +10) (Dec 6, 2021 11:31 GMT)
2.6

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 64 km southeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 4:20 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 07:20 GMT)
2.9

109 km
Nakagawa-gun, 18 km south of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 21:34 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 6:34 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 21:34 GMT)
3.5

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 68 km south of Shizunai-furukawachō, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 5:59 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 20:59 GMT)
2.8

128 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km north of Mutsu, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 2:39 am (GMT +10) (Dec 5, 2021 16:39 GMT)
2.8

65 km
North Pacific Ocean, 27 km southwest of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 12:06 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 15:06 GMT)
2.7

14 km
Japan Sea, Japan MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 11:14 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 14:14 GMT)
4.6

48 km
North Pacific Ocean, 95 km southeast of Shizunai-furukawachō, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 17:50 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 2:50 am (GMT +9) (Dec 4, 2021 17:50 GMT)
2.6

156 km
Abashiri District, 23 km south of Kitami, Ktiami Shi, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 6:02 pm (GMT +10) (Dec 4, 2021 08:02 GMT)
4.8

78 km
North Pacific Ocean, 106 km east of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 4:14 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 4, 2021 07:14 GMT)
4.3

171 km
Japan Sea, 62 km northwest of Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 1:43 pm (GMT +10) (Dec 4, 2021 03:43 GMT)
2.9

71 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km southeast of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Friday, December 3, 2021 17:15 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 2:15 am (GMT +9) (Dec 3, 2021 17:15 GMT)
3.2

96 km
12 km south of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 1:35 am (GMT +10) (Dec 3, 2021 15:35 GMT)
3.2

147 km
Sea of Okhotsk, 28 km west of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 12:08 am (GMT +9) (Dec 3, 2021 15:08 GMT)
2.8

44 km
North Pacific Ocean, 80 km south of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 11:12 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 3, 2021 14:12 GMT)
2.5

122 km
North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Muroran, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 10:16 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 3, 2021 13:16 GMT)
4.1

159 km
Japan Sea, 53 km northwest of Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 4:03 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 3, 2021 07:03 GMT)
3.1

86 km
25 km west of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 1:55 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 3, 2021 04:55 GMT)
3.0

123 km
Japan Sea, 45 km north of Aomori, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1012 joules (1.05 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 907 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.