Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 7, 2022 03:09 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 23 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 19 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Since 1900, Honolulu has had 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 23 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 36 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 19 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | North Pacific Ocean, 42 mi E of Honolulu, Hawaii, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.6 | 67 mi SW of Honolulu, Hawaii, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 1.5 or higher (83 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sep 13, 2021 7:58 am (GMT -10) (Sep 13, 2021 17:58 GMT)
3.4

10 km
137 km (85 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 42 mi east of Honolulu, Hawaii, USA 1 reportMore
2020-02-17 02:12:26 -10:00 (Feb 17, 2020 12:12 GMT)
2.8

0.1 km
92 km (57 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 26 mi northwest of Napili-Honokowai, Maui County, Hawaii, USA More
2019-11-04 14:21:12 -10:00 (Nov 5, 2019 00:21 GMT)
3.0

27 km
80 km (50 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 24 mi north of Napili-Honokowai, Maui County, Hawaii, USA More
2019-08-30 04:22:02 -10:00 (Aug 30, 2019 14:22 GMT)
2.5

4 km
109 km (68 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 16 mi north of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
2019-08-12 01:05:21 -10:00 (Aug 12, 2019 11:05 GMT)
2.6

14 km
133 km (83 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 25 mi east of East Honolulu, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
2019-07-14 04:10:50 -10:00 (Jul 14, 2019 14:10 GMT)
2.1

12 km
146 km (91 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 26 mi east of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
Mar 15, 2018 14:44 GMT
3.0

18 km
135 km (84 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 34 mi northeast of East Honolulu, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
Sep 16, 2017 06:40 GMT
4.2

10 km
130 km (81 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 23 mi northeast of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA 11 reportsMore
2017-09-11 18:04:40 -10:00 (Sep 12, 2017 04:04 GMT)
2.8

8.5 km
148 km (92 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 31 mi northeast of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
2017-08-23 10:11:21 -10:00 (Aug 23, 2017 20:11 GMT)
3.5

14 km
77 km (48 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 22 mi north of Napili-Honokowai, Maui County, Hawaii, USA More
2017-03-09 03:03:39 -10:00 (Mar 9, 2017 13:03 GMT)
4.7

32 km
56 km (35 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 61 mi northeast of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA 8 reportsMore
2017-01-18 11:15:34 -10:00 (Jan 18, 2017 21:15 GMT)
2.7

15 km
133 km (83 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 21 mi northeast of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
Apr 5, 2016 12:19 GMT
3.2

14 km
136 km (85 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 10.7 mi east of East Honolulu, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA 1 reportMore
Friday, October 03, 2014 15:29:23 (Oct 4, 2014 01:29 GMT)
1.5

15 km
116 km (72 mi)2km SSW of Waimanalo, Hawaii More
Friday, August 22, 2014 01:37:17 (Aug 22, 2014 12:37 GMT)
4.2

6.2 km
140 km (87 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 39 mi southeast of Honolulu, Hawaii, USA 3 reportsMore
Saturday, July 12, 2014 00:16:09 (Jul 12, 2014 10:16 GMT)
2.0

18 km
147 km (91 mi)47km ENE of Kaneohe Station, Hawaii More
Friday, June 06, 2014 16:42:23 (Jun 7, 2014 02:42 GMT)
4.1
108 km (67 mi)37 mi east of East Honolulu, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
Wednesday, May 28, 2014 16:40:17 (May 29, 2014 02:40 GMT)
3.8

30 km
144 km (89 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 42 mi northeast of Kailua, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA More
Wednesday, August 21, 2013 22:32:15 (Aug 22, 2013 08:32 GMT)
2.6

36 km
51 km (32 mi)17km W of Makaha, Hawaii More
Monday, July 29, 2013 10:30:59 (Jul 29, 2013 20:30 GMT)
3.7

33 km
131 km (81 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 7.3 mi east of East Honolulu, Honolulu County, Hawaii, USA 4 reportsMore
Saturday, July 27, 2013 09:26:47 (Jul 27, 2013 19:26 GMT)
2.5
89 km (55 mi)16km ENE of Kualapu'u, Hawaii More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1013 joules (9.52 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 8187 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kipapa, Hawaii, USA (KIP/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kipapa, Hawaii, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Honolulu Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Honolulu?

The last earthquake in Honolulu occurred 1 year 3 weeks ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 42 mi east of Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, on Monday, Sep 13, 2021 at 7:58 am (GMT -10).

How many quakes were there in Honolulu since 1900?

Since 1900, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA had 83 quakes up to magnitude 5.6.

What was the strongest quake in Honolulu since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Honolulu since 1900 occurred 44 years ago: Strong mag. 5.6 earthquake - 67 mi southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, on Friday, March 30, 1979 at 09:06 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings