Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 25, 2022 06:26 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea: 2020

Updated Jan 25, 2022 06:27 GMT -
During 2020, East New Britain Province was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 31 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 60 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.
Biggest quake: 6.2 quake Solomon Sea, 119 km south of Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea, February, 9 2020 06:04 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (93 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, December 27, 2020 02:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 27, 2020 12:32 pm (GMT +10) (Dec 27, 2020 02:32 GMT)
5.4

58 km
South Pacific Ocean, 107 km east of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Thursday, December 24, 2020 22:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 25, 2020 8:32 am (GMT +10) (Dec 24, 2020 22:32 GMT)
4.9

10 km
Solomon Sea, 81 km south of New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Sunday, December 13, 2020 22:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 14, 2020 8:06 am (GMT +10) (Dec 13, 2020 22:06 GMT)
5.2

67 km
South Pacific Ocean, 119 km east of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Saturday, December 12, 2020 19:51 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 12, 2020 19:51 GMT
4.6

82 km
Bismarck Sea, 40 km west of Rabaul, East New Britain, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Dec 13, 2020 3:48 am (GMT +10) (Dec 12, 2020 17:48 GMT)
5.0

35 km
Bismarck Sea, 85 km northwest of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Monday, December 7, 2020 15:52 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 8, 2020 1:52 am (GMT +10) (Dec 7, 2020 15:52 GMT)
4.6

45 km
New Ireland, 61 km east of Kokopo (East New Britain), Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Saturday, November 28, 2020 10:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 28, 2020 8:05 pm (GMT +10) (Nov 28, 2020 10:05 GMT)
4.6

10 km
Solomon Sea, 25 km southeast of Bairiman, East New Britain, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Thursday, November 26, 2020 01:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 26, 2020 11:50 am (GMT +10) (Nov 26, 2020 01:50 GMT)
4.9

339 km
Bismarck Sea, 7 km northeast of Bulumuri, West New Britain, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 17:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 19, 2020 3:32 am (GMT +10) (Nov 18, 2020 17:32 GMT)
4.3

90 km
148 km east of Kimbe, Talasea District, West New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Tuesday, November 17, 2020 13:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 17, 2020 13:16 GMT
4.6

48 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Ireland, 71 km east of Kokopo (East New Britain Province), Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 22:54 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Nov 12, 2020 8:54 am (GMT +10) (Nov 11, 2020 22:54 GMT)
4.8

122 km
28 km east of Kimbe, Talasea District, West New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Nov 12, 2020 2:41 am (GMT +10) (Nov 11, 2020 16:41 GMT)
4.5

51 km
110 km south of Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Nov 11, 2020 12:57 pm (GMT +10) (Nov 11, 2020 02:57 GMT)
4.5

253 km
105 km west of Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Monday, November 9, 2020 16:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 10, 2020 2:45 am (GMT +10) (Nov 9, 2020 16:45 GMT)
5.5

235 km
South Pacific Ocean, 139 km northeast of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, November 7, 2020 20:37 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 8, 2020 6:37 am (GMT +10) (Nov 7, 2020 20:37 GMT)
4.9

95 km
138 km south of Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Monday, October 12, 2020 18:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
13 Oct 4:41 am (GMT +10) (Oct 12, 2020 18:41 GMT)
4.9

109 km
48 km south of Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.8 x 1014 joules (135 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.2 x 105 tons of TNT or 7.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.