Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Taipei City, Taiwan, in the past 14 days - list, stats and map

Updated May 22, 2022 06:01 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 14 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 6
  • 1 quake between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
In the past 14 days, Taipei City was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 6.3, 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, and 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.5 | Philippine Sea, 61 km SW of Yonakuni, Yaeyama-gun, Okinawa, Japan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.3 | Philippine Sea, Japan, 91 km E of Hualien City, Taiwan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 in or near Taipei City, Taiwan (updated )

Past 24 hours:no confirmed quakes
Past 30 days:10 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:23 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 21 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:150 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 129 quakes M4+ | 16 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Taipei City, Taiwan | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, May 14, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 14, 2022 7:05 pm (GMT +9) (May 14, 2022 10:05 GMT)
4.5

24 km
71 Km SW of Yonakuni, Japan MoreMap
Thursday, May 12, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 12, 2022 10:47 pm (GMT +8) (May 12, 2022 14:47 GMT)
4.2

5 km
TAIWAN MoreMap
May 12, 2022 8:45 pm (GMT +9) (May 12, 2022 11:45 GMT)
4.4

10 km
74 Km SW of Yonakuni, Japan MoreMap
Monday, May 9, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
May 10, 2022 12:35 am (GMT +9) (May 9, 2022 15:35 GMT)
4.4

113 km
44 Km E of Yilan, Taiwan MoreMap
May 9, 2022 11:09 pm (GMT +9) (May 9, 2022 14:09 GMT)
4.6

35 km
66 Km SW of Yonakuni, Japan MoreMap
May 9, 2022 4:45 pm (GMT +9) (May 9, 2022 07:45 GMT)
5.0

24 km
72 Km SW of Yonakuni, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
May 9, 2022 3:23 pm (GMT +9) (May 9, 2022 06:23 GMT)
6.3

27 km
70 Km SW of Yonakuni, Japan 13 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1014 joules (50.4 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 43334 tons of TNT or 2.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Taipei City Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Taipei City?

The last earthquake in Taipei City occurred 8 days ago: Moderate mag. 4.5 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 61 km southwest of Yonakuni, Yaeyama-gun, Okinawa, Japan, on Saturday, May 14, 2022 at 7:05 pm (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Taipei City in the past 14 days?

In the past 14 days, Taipei City, Taiwan had 7 quakes up to magnitude 6.3.

What was the strongest quake in Taipei City in the past 14 days?

The strongest earthquake in Taipei City in the past 14 days occurred 13 days ago: Very strong mag. 6.3 earthquake - 4 km south of Taipei, Taiwan, on Monday, May 9, 2022 at 3:23 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.