Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.3 earthquake 7.3 km west of Patzun, Chimaltenango, Guatemala -
Strongest since 2023Mag. 6.4 Quiché, 67 km northwest of Guatemala, Guatemala - May 17, 2023 -
Updated: Mar 1, 2024 08:32 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Comalapa, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Comalapa has had one quake of magnitude 2.3.

Since 2023, Comalapa has had 50 quakes of magnitudes up to 6.4:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 6
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 11 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 34 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Latest today: Mag. 2.3 Earthquake 7.3 km W of Patzun, Chimaltenango, Guatemala -
Strongest: Mag. 6.4 Earthquake Quiché, 67 km NW of Guatemala, Guatemala -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (50 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 07:45 pm (GMT -6)
Mar 1, 01:45 GMT

2.3

1 km
7.3 km west of Patzun, Chimaltenango, Guatemala More
Tuesday, January 23, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 23, 02:48 am (Guatemala)
Jan 23, 08:48 GMT

2.8

9 km
2.1 km south of Solola, Solola, Guatemala 2 reportsMore
Tuesday, January 16, 2024 GMT (5 quakes)
Jan 16, 05:17 pm (Guatemala)
Jan 16, 23:17 GMT

3.2

1 km
Sacatepéquez, 27 km southwest of Guatemala, Guatemala 2 reportsMore
Jan 16, 10:47 am (Guatemala)
Jan 16, 16:47 GMT

2.8

1 km
Sacatepéquez, 30 km southwest of Guatemala, Guatemala More
Jan 16, 10:26 am (Guatemala)
Jan 16, 16:26 GMT

3.4

1 km
Departamento de Escuintla, 26 km southwest of Guatemala, Guatemala 9 reportsMore
Jan 16, 03:50 am (Guatemala)
Jan 16, 09:50 GMT

2.1

4 km
5.6 km west of Villa Nueva, Guatemala More
Jan 16, 12:53 am (Guatemala)
Jan 16, 06:53 GMT

2.0

3 km
17 km northwest of Chimaltenango, Chimaltenango, Guatemala More
Friday, December 29, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 29, 2023 06:33 am (Guatemala)
Dec 29, 2023 12:33 GMT

4.2

92 km
10.4 km northwest of Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala More
Dec 28, 2023 09:39 pm (Guatemala)
Dec 29, 2023 03:39 GMT

2.5

34 km
3 km south of Chichicastenango, Quiché, Guatemala More
Thursday, December 21, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 20, 2023 11:58 pm (Guatemala)
Dec 21, 2023 05:58 GMT

2.1

8 km
Sacatepéquez, 18 km west of Guatemala, Guatemala More
Monday, November 27, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Nov 27, 2023 03:02 am (Guatemala)
Nov 27, 2023 09:02 GMT

2.7

215 km
Departamento de Escuintla, 32 km southwest of Guatemala, Guatemala More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1014 joules (70 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 60236 tons of TNT or 3.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Comalapa Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 138 quakes on average per year in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala:
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.04 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 25 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.39 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2.6 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 2.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 6.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 12.7 quakes per year
Comalapa has a very high level of seismic activity. Comalapa has had at least 5 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 20 to 25 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala, by magnitude

90 days
365 days
3 years
Mag
 
Number of quakes (10 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (10%)
3+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (20%)
2+
7 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (70%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (49 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (2.04%)
5+
-
betw. Mag 5 - 6
4+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (6.12%)
3+
11 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (22.45%)
2+
33 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (67.35%)
below M2
1 quake
(2.04%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (99 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (1.01%)
5+
-
betw. Mag 5 - 6
4+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (6.06%)
3+
21 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (21.21%)
2+
64 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (64.65%)
below M2
7 quakes
(7.07%)

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Comalapa Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala?

Comalapa has a very high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 138 quakes on average per year in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala. Comalapa has had at least 5 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 20 to 25 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Comalapa?

The last earthquake in Comalapa occurred 7 hours ago:

A light magnitude 2.3 earthquake hit 7.3 km (4.6 mi) away from Patzun, Chimaltenango,  Guatemala, in the late afternoon of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 7.45 pm local time (GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 1 km (0.6 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Comalapa since 2023?

Since 2023, Comalapa has been shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 6.4, 3 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 11 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 34 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Comalapa since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in Comalapa since 2023 occurred 41 weeks ago:

Mag. 6.4 earthquake Quiché, 67 km northwest of Guatemala, Guatemala - May 17, 2023 -

A very strong magnitude 6.4 earthquake hit 67 km (41 mi) away from Guatemala, Guatemala,  Guatemala, in the afternoon of Wednesday, May 17, 2023 at 5.02 pm local time (America/Guatemala GMT -6). The quake had a moderate depth of 252 km (157 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala

Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap

Map of largest quakes in or near Comalapa, Chimaltenango, Guatemala

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Alotenango | Alta Verapaz | Antigua Guatemala | Baja Verapaz | Barberena | Cabañas | Canilla | Cantel | Casillas | Chicacao |  ...Show all... | Zacapa | Zaragoza
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings