Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 0.9 earthquake 47 km west of Villavicencio, Meta, Colombia -
Strongest since 2023Mag. 3.8 10.1 km east of Fusagasuga, Cundinamarca, Colombia - Feb 6, 2023 -
Updated: Mar 3, 2024 14:54 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Bogota D.C., find out which quakes are happening right now!
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Bogota D.C. in the past 24 hours.
Since 2023, Bogota D.C. has had 104 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.8:
  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 87 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 0 or higher (107 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 27, 07:04 pm (Bogota)
Feb 28, 00:04 GMT
0.9

13 km
47 km west of Villavicencio, Meta, Colombia Info
Sunday, February 25, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 25, 01:22 am (Bogota)
Feb 25, 06:22 GMT
1.0

10 km
26 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Sunday, February 18, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 17, 10:59 pm (Bogota)
Feb 18, 03:59 GMT
1.4

18 km
48 km west of Villavicencio, Meta, Colombia Info
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 13, 08:11 pm (Bogota)
Feb 14, 01:11 GMT
1.1

18 km
39 km southwest of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Sunday, January 28, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 27, 10:28 pm (Bogota)
Jan 28, 03:28 GMT
1.0

19 km
Meta, 93 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Friday, January 26, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 25, 11:01 pm (Bogota)
Jan 26, 04:01 GMT
1.4

5 km
38 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Tuesday, January 23, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 23, 11:00 am (Bogota)
Jan 23, 16:00 GMT
1.6

6.2 km
Cundinamarca, 23 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Jan 23, 10:00 am (Bogota)
Jan 23, 15:00 GMT
1.6

4.5 km
Cundinamarca, 24 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Monday, January 15, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 14, 10:11 pm (Bogota)
Jan 15, 03:11 GMT
1.0

13 km
39 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Saturday, January 13, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 13, 05:42 am (Bogota)
Jan 13, 10:42 GMT
1.1

13 km
46 km southwest of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Jan 13, 03:42 am (Bogota)
Jan 13, 08:42 GMT
1.1

16 km
31 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1010 joules (10.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 9.14 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Bogota D.C. Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: La Rusia, Boyaca, Colombia (RUS/CM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station La Rusia, Boyaca, Colombia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 146 quakes on average per year in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia:
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 0.1 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 10 years)
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 0.49 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2 years)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 3.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 14.2 quakes per year
Bogota D.C. has very few earthquakes and most of them are very small (below magnitude 3). Larger quakes with magnitudes above 3 might occur from time to time. However, Bogota D.C. has had at least 1 quakes above magnitude 4 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 8 to 12 years.

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Bogota D.C. Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia?

Bogota D.C. has very few earthquakes and most of them are very small (below magnitude 3). Larger quakes with magnitudes above 3 might occur from time to time. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 146 quakes on average per year in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia. However, Bogota D.C. has had at least 1 quakes above magnitude 4 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 8 to 12 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Bogota D.C.?

The last earthquake in Bogota D.C. occurred 5 days ago and had a magnitude of 0.9:

A light magnitude 0.9 earthquake hit 47 km (29 mi) away from Villavicencio, Meta,  Colombia, in the late afternoon of Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024 at 7.04 pm local time (America/Bogota GMT -5). The quake had a very shallow depth of 13 km (8 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Bogota D.C. since 2023?

Since 2023, Bogota D.C. has had 1 quake of magnitude 3.8 and 16 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 87 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Bogota D.C. since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in Bogota D.C. since 2023 had a magnitude of 3.8 and occurred 1 year 4 weeks ago:

A moderate magnitude 3.8 earthquake hit 10.1 km (6 mi) away from Fusagasuga, Cundinamarca,  Colombia, in the late afternoon of Monday, Feb 6, 2023 at 7.44 pm local time (America/Bogota GMT -5). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7.8 km (4.8 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 4.1 earthquake 37 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia - Dec 11, 2017 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 4.1 earthquake that hit Meta,  Colombia, 6 years ago on Monday, Dec 11, 2017, at 02:59 pm local time (America/Bogota GMT -5).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 4.9 earthquake Meta, Bogota, Colombia - Jul 17, 1997 -
27 years ago, Meta,  Colombia, was hit by a magnitude 4.9 quake on Thursday, Jul 17, 1997, at 07:45 am local time (America/Bogota GMT -5). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jun 1, 2023 00:46 GMT
May 31, 2023 07:46 pm (Bogota)
2.8

5 km
13 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Feb 7, 2023 00:44 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 07:44 pm (Bogota)
3.8

7.8 km
10.1 km east of Fusagasuga, Cundinamarca, Colombia 119 reportsInfo
Nov 16, 2022 15:25 GMT
Nov 16, 2022 10:25 am (Bogota)
2.6

135 km
10.4 km south of Fusagasuga, Cundinamarca, Colombia Info
Dec 11, 2017 19:59 GMT
Dec 11, 2017 02:59 pm (Bogota)
4.1

0 km
37 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia 2 reportsInfo
Jan 23, 2017 14:20 GMT
Jan 23, 2017 09:20 am (Bogota)
3.5

0 km
Meta, 28 km southeast of Cabrera, Cundinamarca, Colombia Info
Jan 21, 2017 06:34 GMT
Jan 21, 2017 01:34 am (Bogota)
3.9

20 km
10.4 km north of Fusagasuga, Cundinamarca, Colombia Info
May 14, 2016 00:56 GMT
May 13, 2016 07:56 pm (Bogota)
2.8

12 km
31 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Mar 27, 2016 09:08 GMT
Mar 27, 2016 04:08 am (Bogota)
2.7

0 km
40 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Mar 1, 2016 02:05 GMT
Feb 29, 2016 09:05 pm (Bogota)
3.3

0 km
Bogota, 36 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Jan 10, 2014 14:13 GMT
Jan 10, 2014 09:13 am (Bogota)
2.8

13 km
30 km west of Acacias, Meta, Colombia Info
Jul 24, 2002 19:38 GMT
Jul 24, 2002 02:38 pm (Bogota)
4.0

33 km
12 km west of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Jul 17, 1997 12:45 GMT
Jul 17, 1997 07:45 am (Bogota)
4.9

42 km
Meta, 93 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Apr 23, 1994 21:32 GMT
Apr 23, 1994 04:32 pm (Bogota)
4.6

33 km
Bogota, 45 km south of Fusagasuga, Cundinamarca, Colombia Info
Feb 12, 1980 08:18 GMT
Feb 12, 1980 03:18 am (Bogota)
4.6

45 km
Meta, 92 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info
Feb 21, 1974 12:43 GMT
Feb 21, 1974 07:43 am (Bogota)
4.9

66 km
74 km south of Bogota, Bogota, Colombia Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Bogota D.C., Colombia

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Acacias | Agua de Dios | Aipe | Alban | Almeida | Alpujarra | Alvarado | Ambalema | Anapoima | Anzoategui |  ...Show all... | Zipacon | Zipaquira
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings