Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 10:20 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near La Rioja, Argentina: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 10:20 GMT -
During the past 7 days, La Rioja was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 1 quake of magnitude 4.2, 17 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 64 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.0 quake Departamento de Poman, 45 km southwest of Andalgala, Catamarca, Argentina, Dec 7, 2021 6:41 am (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.7 or higher (56 out of 83 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 09:41 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Dec 7, 2021 6:41 am (GMT -3) (Dec 7, 2021 09:41 GMT)
5.0

194 km
CATAMARCA (Argentina)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 5:01 am (GMT -3) (Dec 7, 2021 08:01 GMT)
2.9

14 km
LA RIOJA (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 2:16 am (GMT -3) (Dec 7, 2021 05:16 GMT)
2.4

150 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 11:48 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 7, 2021 02:48 GMT)
3.0

101 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 23:25 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 8:25 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 23:25 GMT)
2.8

99 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 5:39 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 20:39 GMT)
2.8

104 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 5:21 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 20:21 GMT)
2.9

10 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 3:39 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 18:39 GMT)
3.2

108 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 11:22 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 14:22 GMT)
3.1

62 km
ATACAMA, CHILE
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 6:56 am (GMT -3) (Dec 6, 2021 09:56 GMT)
2.7

148 km
CATAMARCA (Argentina) MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 22:42 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 7:42 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 22:42 GMT)
2.7

130 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 6:48 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 21:48 GMT)
3.0

106 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina)
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 4:54 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 19:54 GMT)
2.8

138 km
Mendoza Province, Argentina MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:49 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 15:49 GMT)
2.7

101 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 15:32 GMT)
3.0

124 km
ATACAMA, CHILE
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 4:43 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 07:43 GMT)
3.8

166 km
Chile-Argentina Border Region
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 3:51 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 06:51 GMT)
2.8

88 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:35 am (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 03:35 GMT)
2.8

150 km
San Juan Province, Argentina MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 21:30 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 6:30 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2021 21:30 GMT)
3.4

171 km
San Juan Province, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 5:07 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2021 20:07 GMT)
2.7

119 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 6:06 am (GMT -3) (Dec 4, 2021 09:06 GMT)
2.7

108 km
SAN JUAN (Argentina) MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.3 x 1012 joules (631 megawatt hours, equivalent to 543 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.