Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Xinjiang, China, past 30 days

Updated 26 Jan 2021 03:42 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Xinjiang was shaken by 11 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 78 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 178 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 16 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.8 quake 140 km south of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China, 21 Jan 2021 9:42 pm (GMT +8)
Biggest quake today: 5.3 quake 48 km northwest of Baluntaicun, Bayinguoleng Mengguzizhizhou, Xinjiang, China, 25 Jan 2021 2:43 pm (GMT +8)
Most recent quake: 4.3 quake 25 km southwest of Changji, Xinjiang, China, 26 Jan 2021 6:06 am (GMT +8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 4.2 or higher (62 out of 283 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 25 Jan 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
26 Jan 2021 6:06 am (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 22:06:50 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(212 km)25 km southwest of Changji, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
26 Jan 2021 3:29 am (GMT +6) (25 Jan 2021 21:29:41 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(193 km)Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan, 84 km southwest of Qapqal, China MoreMap
26 Jan 2021 2:45 am (GMT +6) (25 Jan 2021 20:45:08 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(305 km)9.5 km west of Druzhba, Alakol District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 7:53 pm (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 11:53:14 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(244 km)46 km north of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 3:54 pm (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 07:54:11 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(225 km)20 km north of Aral, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 2:43 pm (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 06:43:38 GMT)
5.3

10 km
(267 km)48 km northwest of Baluntaicun, Bayinguoleng Mengguzizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 2:20 pm (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 06:20:49 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(112 km)102 km southeast of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 9:18 am (GMT +8) (25 Jan 2021 01:18:11 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(351 km)72 km northwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
25 Jan 2021 5:14 am (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 21:14:28 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(298 km)35 km south of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 2:14 am (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 18:14:37 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(235 km)142 km southeast of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 12:12 am (GMT +6) (24 Jan 2021 18:12:11 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(441 km)106 km northeast of Sarkand, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Jan 2021 7:41 pm (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 11:41:49 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(381 km)264 km southeast of Aral, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Jan 2021 4:17 pm (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 08:17:14 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(302 km)279 km east of Hotan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Jan 2021 3:41 pm (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 07:41:51 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(332 km)30 km northwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Jan 2021 9:42 am (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 01:42:41 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(313 km)23 km north of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sat, 23 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
24 Jan 2021 1:38 am (GMT +6) (23 Jan 2021 19:38:18 GMT)
5.7

10 km
(316 km)18 km northwest of Druzhba, Alakol District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 9:16 pm (GMT +8) (23 Jan 2021 13:16:20 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(332 km)30 km northwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 6:04 pm (GMT +8) (23 Jan 2021 10:04:17 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(261 km)66 km northwest of Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 3:40 pm (GMT +8) (23 Jan 2021 07:40:32 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(272 km)79 km southwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 12:33 pm (GMT +8) (23 Jan 2021 04:33:17 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(222 km)120 km west of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Jan 2021 11:43 am (GMT +8) (23 Jan 2021 03:43:34 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(119 km)59 km south of Hotan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
23 Jan 2021 2:11 am (GMT +8) (22 Jan 2021 18:11:41 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(380 km)15 km southwest of Karamay, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +8) (22 Jan 2021 05:56:33 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(110 km)110 km northeast of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 1:42 pm (GMT +8) (22 Jan 2021 05:42:16 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(217 km)52 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 (GMT)
22 Jan 2021 3:34 am (GMT +8) (21 Jan 2021 19:34:05 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(103 km)Kazakhstan, 157 km northeast of Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 9:42 pm (GMT +8) (21 Jan 2021 13:42:43 GMT)
5.8

10 km
(323 km)140 km south of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 9:42 pm (GMT +8) (21 Jan 2021 13:42:40 GMT)
4.6

1 km
(320 km)195 km south of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:23 pm (GMT +6) (21 Jan 2021 09:23:47 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(672 km)Chuyskaya Oblast’, 72 km south of Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 3:27 pm (GMT +8) (21 Jan 2021 07:27:34 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(101 km)105 km east of Turpan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 10:48 pm (GMT +8) (20 Jan 2021 14:48:26 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(378 km)17 km southwest of Karamay, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 2:28 pm (GMT +8) (20 Jan 2021 06:28:13 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(229 km)55 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 1:59 pm (GMT +8) (20 Jan 2021 05:59:58 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(154 km)Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan, 67 km south of Qapqal, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 8:42 am (GMT +8) (20 Jan 2021 00:42:33 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(122 km)Kazakhstan, 151 km northeast of Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 Jan 2021 5:06 pm (GMT +8) (19 Jan 2021 09:06:19 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(128 km)135 km southeast of Turpan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
19 Jan 2021 4:41 pm (GMT +8) (19 Jan 2021 08:41:35 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(306 km)55 km west of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 Jan 2021 3:56 am (GMT +8) (18 Jan 2021 19:56:13 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(281 km)65 km south of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 6:01 pm (GMT +8) (18 Jan 2021 10:01:37 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(225 km)141 km northwest of Korla, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 3:38 pm (GMT +8) (18 Jan 2021 07:38:56 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(348 km)188 km north of Kumul, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 10:41 am (GMT +8) (18 Jan 2021 02:41:54 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(352 km)118 km east of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 Jan 2021 3:51 am (GMT +8) (17 Jan 2021 19:51:21 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(322 km)XIZANG, China MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 10:36 pm (GMT +8) (17 Jan 2021 14:36:26 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(107 km)QINGHAI, CHINA MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 1:46 pm (GMT +8) (17 Jan 2021 05:46:45 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(306 km)117 km southeast of Aral, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 9:15 am (GMT +8) (17 Jan 2021 01:15:58 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(134 km)45 km south of Kucha, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 3:20 am (GMT +8) (16 Jan 2021 19:20:56 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(173 km)180 km east of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 7:33 pm (GMT +8) (14 Jan 2021 11:33:41 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(225 km)23 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
14 Jan 2021 7:16 pm (GMT +8) (14 Jan 2021 11:16:43 GMT)
4.6

10 km
(249 km)24 km southeast of Aral, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
14 Jan 2021 6:27 am (GMT +8) (13 Jan 2021 22:27:39 GMT)
5.5

10 km
(192 km)180 km west of Kumul, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMoreMap
14 Jan 2021 6:23 am (GMT +8) (13 Jan 2021 22:23:24 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(288 km)110 km north of Hotan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 07:34:12 GMT
4.3

10 km
(716 km)East Kazakhstan, 21 km north of Kokpekty, Kazakhstan MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 06:54:00 GMT
4.6

10 km
(302 km)208 km southeast of Kucha, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 05:25:35 GMT
4.7

10 km
(164 km)171 km south of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 00:49:21 GMT
4.2

10 km
(184 km)75 km north of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT)
12 Jan 2021 9:21 pm (GMT +8) (12 Jan 2021 13:21:58 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(261 km)48 km northeast of Zharkent, Panfilov District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 06:44:45 GMT
4.2

20 km
(659 km)101 km west of Kashgar, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
8 Jan 2021 03:54:48 GMT
4.6
(127 km)148 km south of Qapqal, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 11:48 am (GMT +8) (8 Jan 2021 03:48:58 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(113 km)Kazakhstan, 128 km northeast of Aksu, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMoreMap
8 Jan 2021 11:48 am (GMT +8) (8 Jan 2021 03:48:56 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(129 km)Kazakhstan, 120 km northeast of Aksu, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Wed, 6 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 10:08 pm (GMT +8) (6 Jan 2021 14:08:50 GMT)
4.3

1 km
(345 km)116 km west of Aksu, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Fri, 1 Jan 2021 (GMT)
2 Jan 2021 4:24 am (GMT +8) (1 Jan 2021 20:24:36 GMT)
4.5

16 km
(294 km)Qinghai, 412 km southwest of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 1:41 pm (GMT +6) (1 Jan 2021 07:41:31 GMT)
4.4

2 km
(614 km)Naryn oblast, 93 km south of Tokmok, Chuyskaya Oblast’, Kyrgyzstan MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 06:41:31 GMT
4.5

18 km
(613 km)Naryn oblast, 103 km southeast of Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan MoreMap
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 (GMT)
1 Jan 2021 2:31 am (GMT +8) (31 Dec 2020 18:31:53 GMT)
4.2

1 km
(136 km)Kazakhstan, 122 km northeast of Aksu, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1014 joules (33.8 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 29050 tons of TNT or 1.8 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.