Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Kern County, California, USA, past 30 days

Updated 20 Jan 2021 04:41 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Kern County was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.5 and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 51 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.5 quake California, 14 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA, 26 Dec 2020 8:05 pm (GMT -8)
Biggest quake today: 2.6 quake 20km NNE of Ridgecrest, CA, USA, 19 Jan 2021 4:18 pm (GMT -8)
Most recent quake: 1.7 quake 5km NNW of Boron, CA, USA, 19 Jan 2021 4:31 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (57 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 Jan 2021 4:31 pm (GMT -8) (20 Jan 2021 00:31:03 GMT)
1.7

0.3 km
(101 km)5km NNW of Boron, CA, USA MoreMap
19 Jan 2021 4:18 pm (GMT -8) (20 Jan 2021 00:18:51 GMT)
2.6

5.9 km
(31 km)20km NNE of Ridgecrest, CA, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
19 Jan 2021 9:59 am (GMT -8) (19 Jan 2021 17:59:58 GMT)
1.4

8.3 km
(119 km)17km WNW of Tehachapi, CA, USA MoreMap
18 Jan 2021 4:21 pm (GMT -8) (19 Jan 2021 00:21:21 GMT)
1.9

0.8 km
(102 km)6km NW of Boron, CA, USA MoreMap
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 9:51 pm (GMT -8) (18 Jan 2021 05:51:46 GMT)
1.7

7.1 km
(113 km)17km NW of Tehachapi, CA, USA MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 6:54 pm (GMT -8) (18 Jan 2021 02:54:46 GMT)
1.6

1.3 km
(34 km)17km NNE of Ridgecrest, CA, USA MoreMap
17 Jan 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -8) (18 Jan 2021 00:27:29 GMT)
1.3

0.3 km
(100 km)5km NW of Boron, CA, USA MoreMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 9:31 pm (GMT -8) (17 Jan 2021 05:31:52 GMT)
1.6

0.3 km
(77 km)30km SE of Bodfish, CA, USA MoreMap
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
15 Jan 2021 4:21 pm (GMT -8) (16 Jan 2021 00:21:56 GMT)
1.6

1.7 km
(137 km)13km S of Arvin, CA, USA MoreMap
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 4:28 pm (GMT -8) (15 Jan 2021 00:28:30 GMT)
1.5

9.7 km
(170 km)2 mi west of Frazier Park, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 19:03:40 GMT
0.3

0.2 km
(51 km)4km SE of Ridgecrest, CA, USA MoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT)
13 Jan 2021 9:43 am (GMT -8) (13 Jan 2021 17:43:20 GMT)
1.1

2.1 km
(40 km)24km WNW of Inyokern, CA, USA MoreMap
13 Jan 2021 6:03 am (GMT -8) (13 Jan 2021 14:03:07 GMT)
1.2

10.4 km
(32 km)19km NNE of Ridgecrest, CA, USA MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 4:24 pm (GMT -8) (13 Jan 2021 00:24:48 GMT)
1.4

6.4 km
(74 km)21km W of Johannesburg, CA, USA MoreMap
12 Jan 2021 4:22 pm (GMT -8) (13 Jan 2021 00:22:31 GMT)
1.8

0.8 km
(100 km)5km NNW of Boron, CA, USA MoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT)
12 Jan 2021 11:06 am (GMT -8) (12 Jan 2021 19:06:43 GMT)
1.1

2.2 km
(72 km)12 mi south of Weldon, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 4:34 pm (GMT -8) (12 Jan 2021 00:34:03 GMT)
1.6

13 km
(156 km)5 mi west of Mettler, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 4:28 pm (GMT -8) (12 Jan 2021 00:28:55 GMT)
1.6

0.3 km
(100 km)3.3 mi north of Boron, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 (GMT)
11 Jan 2021 12:51 pm (GMT -8) (11 Jan 2021 20:51:23 GMT)
1.3

0.8 km
(118 km)8 mi west of Mojave, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
10 Jan 2021 8:48 pm (GMT -8) (11 Jan 2021 04:48:02 GMT)
2.0

2.8 km
(79 km)California, 7.5 mi southeast of Bodfish, Kern County, USA MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 8:31 am (GMT -8) (9 Jan 2021 16:31:13 GMT)
1.1

0.2 km
(73 km)California, 14 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
9 Jan 2021 5:47 am (GMT -8) (9 Jan 2021 13:47:07 GMT)
1.5

8.3 km
(34 km)8.5 mi north of Ridgecrest, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
8 Jan 2021 19:53:31 GMT
1.2

0.8 km
(120 km)4.1 mi south of Mojave, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
8 Jan 2021 12:21 am (GMT -8) (8 Jan 2021 08:21:02 GMT)
1.0

3.6 km
(34 km)14 mi northwest of Inyokern, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Thu, 7 Jan 2021 (GMT)
7 Jan 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -8) (7 Jan 2021 20:02:44 GMT)
1.2

0.8 km
(120 km)3.9 mi south of Mojave, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
7 Jan 2021 12:11 am (GMT -8) (7 Jan 2021 08:11:05 GMT)
1.2

7 km
(120 km)4.4 mi south of Tehachapi, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Wed, 6 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 2:11 pm (GMT -8) (6 Jan 2021 22:11:08 GMT)
1.3

0.8 km
(120 km)4.1 mi south of Mojave, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
6 Jan 2021 4:48 am (GMT -8) (6 Jan 2021 12:48:05 GMT)
1.4

4.7 km
(74 km)California, 17 mi north of California City, Kern County, USA MoreMap
6 Jan 2021 2:35 am (GMT -8) (6 Jan 2021 10:35:54 GMT)
2.8

7 km
(74 km)California, 17 mi north of California City, Kern County, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 5 Jan 2021 (GMT)
5 Jan 2021 5:38 am (GMT -8) (5 Jan 2021 13:38:22 GMT)
2.2

6.6 km
(74 km)California, 17 mi north of California City, Kern County, USA MoreMap
5 Jan 2021 4:46 am (GMT -8) (5 Jan 2021 12:46:11 GMT)
1.6

4 km
(75 km)California, 17 mi north of California City, Kern County, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 4 Jan 2021 (GMT)
4 Jan 2021 8:04 am (GMT -8) (4 Jan 2021 16:04:38 GMT)
1.1

0.2 km
(77 km)California, 16 mi northeast of California City, Kern County, USA MoreMap
4 Jan 2021 1:56 am (GMT -8) (4 Jan 2021 09:56:19 GMT)
1.9

10.5 km
(155 km)3.3 mi southwest of Mettler, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Sun, 3 Jan 2021 (GMT)
3 Jan 2021 4:36 am (GMT -8) (3 Jan 2021 12:36:47 GMT)
0.8

3.7 km
(39 km)California, 10 mi east of Onyx, Kern County, USA MoreMap
2 Jan 2021 7:00 pm (GMT -8) (3 Jan 2021 03:00:20 GMT)
1.3

4.2 km
(104 km)5.9 mi north of Keene, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Sat, 2 Jan 2021 (GMT)
2 Jan 2021 1:21 pm (GMT -8) (2 Jan 2021 21:21:11 GMT)
1.5

4.8 km
(104 km)5.7 mi north of Keene, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 (GMT)
30 Dec 2020 11:53 am (GMT -8) (30 Dec 2020 19:53:43 GMT)
1.7

6.5 km
(122 km)6 mi south of Tehachapi, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
29 Dec 2020 9:04 pm (GMT -8) (30 Dec 2020 05:04:11 GMT)
1.0

4 km
(105 km)5.4 mi north of Keene, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 (GMT)
29 Dec 2020 6:46 am (GMT -8) (29 Dec 2020 14:46:16 GMT)
1.2

10 km
(33 km)San Bernardino Comitatus County, 11 mi north of Ridgecrest, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
29 Dec 2020 6:44 am (GMT -8) (29 Dec 2020 14:44:29 GMT)
1.2

2.1 km
(73 km)California, 13 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT)
28 Dec 2020 4:40 am (GMT -8) (28 Dec 2020 12:40:01 GMT)
2.5

6.9 km
(120 km)1.8 mi north of Bear Valley Springs, Kern County, California, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
27 Dec 2020 3:05 am (GMT -8) (27 Dec 2020 11:05:10 GMT)
1.2

3.1 km
(74 km)California, 13 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
27 Dec 2020 12:35 am (GMT -8) (27 Dec 2020 08:35:12 GMT)
1.4

2 km
(74 km)California, 13 mi southeast of Bodfish, Kern County, USA MoreMap
27 Dec 2020 12:21 am (GMT -8) (27 Dec 2020 08:21:24 GMT)
1.3

2.8 km
(74 km)California, 13 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
27 Dec 2020 12:18 am (GMT -8) (27 Dec 2020 08:18:29 GMT)
0.9

3 km
(73 km)California, 13 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 8:42 pm (GMT -8) (27 Dec 2020 04:42:32 GMT)
1.1

2.4 km
(73 km)California, 13 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 8:05 pm (GMT -8) (27 Dec 2020 04:05:37 GMT)
3.5

0.1 km
(73 km)California, 14 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 (GMT)
25 Dec 2020 6:33 pm (GMT -8) (26 Dec 2020 02:33:43 GMT)
1.6

8.3 km
(33 km)San Bernardino County, 11 mi north of Ridgecrest, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT)
25 Dec 2020 12:31 pm (GMT -8) (25 Dec 2020 20:31:15 GMT)
0.9

6.1 km
(74 km)California, 18 mi north of California City, Kern County, USA MoreMap
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 (GMT)
24 Dec 2020 10:31 am (GMT -8) (24 Dec 2020 18:31:20 GMT)
1.0

6.9 km
(72 km)California, 12 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
24 Dec 2020 10:10 am (GMT -8) (24 Dec 2020 18:10:02 GMT)
0.9

9.5 km
(71 km)California, 12 mi southeast of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
23 Dec 2020 4:16 pm (GMT -8) (24 Dec 2020 00:16:53 GMT)
1.7

0.8 km
(101 km)2.8 mi northwest of Boron, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 (GMT)
23 Dec 2020 1:47 am (GMT -8) (23 Dec 2020 09:47:30 GMT)
1.7

3.3 km
(83 km)California, 8.7 mi southeast of Bodfish, Kern County, USA MoreMap
22 Dec 2020 10:43 pm (GMT -8) (23 Dec 2020 06:43:41 GMT)
1.6

13 km
(166 km)9 mi north of Pine Mountain Club, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 (GMT)
22 Dec 2020 11:51 am (GMT -8) (22 Dec 2020 19:51:08 GMT)
1.1

0.7 km
(118 km)7.6 mi southeast of Tehachapi, Kern County, California, USA MoreMap
22 Dec 2020 00:22:45 GMT
1.0

1 km
(73 km)California, 2.7 mi north of Lake Isabella, Kern County, USA MoreMap
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 (GMT)
21 Dec 2020 7:09 am (GMT -8) (21 Dec 2020 15:09:46 GMT)
1.3

6.1 km
(74 km)California, 18 mi north of California City, Kern County, USA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1010 joules (3.83 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.29 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us: