Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 27, 2021 06:43 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Ōzu Machi, Kikuchi-gun, Kumamoto, Japan: August 2021

Updated Oct 27, 2021 06:43 GMT -
During Aug 2021, Ōzu Machi was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.5 quake Aso-gun, Kumamoto, 46 km southwest of Ōita, Oita, Japan, Aug 31, 2021 6:17 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 10:19 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 31, 2021 7:19 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 31, 2021 10:19 GMT)
2.5

9.3 km
9 km (5.6 mi)Aso-gun, 16 km northeast of Aso, Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Aug 31, 2021 6:17 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 31, 2021 09:17 GMT)
3.5

10.8 km
9 km (5.6 mi)Aso-gun, Kumamoto, 46 km southwest of Ōita, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Monday, August 30, 2021 02:15 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 30, 2021 11:15 am (GMT +9) (Aug 30, 2021 02:15 GMT)
3.5

9.4 km
9 km (5.6 mi)Aso-gun, Kumamoto, 45 km southwest of Ōita, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Sunday, August 22, 2021 11:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 22, 2021 8:02 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 22, 2021 11:02 GMT)
3.0

13 km
20 km (12 mi)Aso-gun, 21 km east of Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Tuesday, August 17, 2021 01:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 17, 2021 10:54 am (GMT +9) (Aug 17, 2021 01:54 GMT)
2.8

180 km
27 km (17 mi)Usa Shi, 17 km southeast of Nakatsu, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Monday, August 16, 2021 10:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 16, 2021 7:24 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 16, 2021 10:24 GMT)
3.2

11 km
29 km (18 mi)East China Sea, 11 km southwest of Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Sunday, August 15, 2021 19:23 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 16, 2021 4:23 am (GMT +9) (Aug 15, 2021 19:23 GMT)
2.6

13 km
32 km (20 mi)7.8 km southwest of Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Saturday, August 14, 2021 23:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 15, 2021 8:26 am (GMT +9) (Aug 14, 2021 23:26 GMT)
2.9

13 km
29 km (18 mi)Kamimashiki-gun, 14 km east of Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Friday, August 13, 2021 07:52 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 13, 2021 4:52 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 13, 2021 07:52 GMT)
2.7

94 km
23 km (14 mi)Bungo-ōno Shi, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Friday, August 6, 2021 09:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 6, 2021 6:22 pm (GMT +9) (Aug 6, 2021 09:22 GMT)
2.8

146 km
28 km (17 mi)Kamimashiki-gun, 48 km southeast of Kumamoto, Japan MoreMap
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 15:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 4, 2021 12:43 am (GMT +9) (Aug 3, 2021 15:43 GMT)
2.8

120 km
17 km (10.6 mi)6.1 km southwest of Takedamachi, Taketa-shi, Oita, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1010 joules (9.55 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8.22 tons of TNT) More info

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.