Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near West Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea, past 30 days

Updated 21 Apr 2021 20:45 GMT -
During the past 30 days, West Sepik Province was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 6 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 1 quake of magnitude 3.9, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake 99 km west of Ambunti, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea, 18 Apr 2:00 pm (GMT +10)
Most recent quake: 4.8 quake Papua, Papua New Guinea, 21 Apr 1:26 am (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (13 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tue, 20 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Apr 1:26 am (GMT +9) (20 Apr 2021 16:26:21 GMT)
4.8

58 km
(379 km)Papua, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 19 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Apr 2021 19:51:56 GMT
2.5

11 km
(479 km)71 km southwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 18 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Apr 2:00 pm (GMT +10) (18 Apr 2021 04:00:36 GMT)
5.2

97 km
(216 km)99 km west of Ambunti, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Apr 2021 1:00 pm (GMT +10) (7 Apr 2021 03:00:41 GMT)
3.9

10 km
(351 km)66 km south of Vanimo, West Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Apr 2021 3:34 am (GMT +9) (2 Apr 2021 18:34:56 GMT)
2.6

82 km
(417 km)62 km south of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Mar 2021 10:35 pm (GMT +10) (31 Mar 2021 12:35:30 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(75 km)Southern Highlands Province, 52 km west of Tari, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Mar 2021 6:31 am (GMT +10) (29 Mar 2021 20:31:53 GMT)
4.7

11 km
(197 km)74 km north of Kiunga, North Fly, Western Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
28 Mar 2021 11:34 pm (GMT +10) (28 Mar 2021 13:34:33 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(234 km)62 km northwest of Kiunga, North Fly, Western Province, Papua New Guinea 14 reportsMoreMap
28 Mar 2021 12:58 pm (GMT +10) (28 Mar 2021 02:58:49 GMT)
4.3

43 km
(88 km)Enga Province, 79 km north of Tari, Papua New Guinea 2 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 12:07 am (GMT +9) (27 Mar 2021 15:07:07 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(514 km)South Pacific Ocean, 69 km west of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Mar 2021 3:14 pm (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 06:14:32 GMT)
2.8

49 km
(417 km)86 km south of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 11:48 pm (GMT +9) (23 Mar 2021 14:48:02 GMT)
4.3

10 km
(467 km)South Pacific Ocean, 23 km northwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
23 Mar 2021 9:23 pm (GMT +9) (23 Mar 2021 12:23:30 GMT)
2.9

10 km
(436 km)54 km southwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.3 x 1012 joules (2.57 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2215 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel